We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central hotel”
Review of Hotel Sabala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sabala
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great central hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for nights in january. We arrived in heavy snow from Krakow airport. Check in was swift and efficient Our 2 rooms were next door to each next to the swimming pool and sauna. Lovely spacious rooms with balconies. Really nice and warm with traditional decor plenty of hanging space and large well appointed bathroom. The duvets and bedding were great after the clod nights outside Breakfast was also very good buffet with cereals cold meats cheeses and fruit yoghurts etc. Also an egg chef. Coffee various teas and juices. Its in a very central position and an easy walk to the funiclar lift and handy for bus station to get the bus to the cable car. Lots of good restaurants and bars all around the hotel. We had lunch in the hotel and it was very good. The bar area is very nice with a huge log fire. There is also a heated indoor pool and sauna which was great after a day out. Definately would stay here again

Room Tip: Request balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    68
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
66
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elterwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here, good central location. Very clean rooms all made out of wood, very traditional.... Friendly and helpful reception staff, a great base for exploring Zakopane. Not to expensive with the pound, recommended........

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank landlord34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We travelled as a group of colleagues to Zakopane to see ski jumping worldcup and Sabala was the best choice we could've had. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. On the lower floor there is a big SABALA restaurant which closes quite late, but nevertheless you cant hear the noise in the rooms above. In the restaurant they will have all the polish good stuff you might have been missing.

The location of the hotel is perfect, at the beginning of Krupowki road which starts leading you through all the old town area til the ski jumping place. The parking area of the hotel is located behind the building so it needs to be accessed from the other street on the other side of the hotel, not from Krupowki street. Krupowki street, surrounded by many boutiques and eateries, is mainly for pedestrians and tourists.

The swimming pool was refreshing but nothing special, and its pretty cold in the pool area so you cannot really relax on the resting bench when get out of water.

The rooms were always nice and clean, no bad smell, always clean sheets and linens, no negative experience from any person in our group. We were accomodated to different rooms. In one room there even was a small but nicely decorated real Christmas tree! The customer service was punctual and always ready to help, whether asking on the spot, or via e-mail prior our arrival (special thanks to Marta). We had to leave really early morning so during the checkout we were given each a lunchpack which was good starter for the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have been to Zakopane for many times and we have always wanted to stay at Hotel Sabala because of its location, brilliant food and very traditional looking building. This year we stayed in December and wanted to have a lovely White Christmas! The room we were allocated was on the top floor and there is no lift! The room is also linked to another room with only a thin interior door separating them. The sound transference from one side to the other is very high. I mentioned this to reception and was told they cannot do anything to help unless the noise from the adjacent room continued after 10pm! We were a family with a child of 5, and were often in bed at 9pm!

I also asked the reception staff to help me with an email regarding piste closure locally due to abnormal high winds and unusually low snow fall for the time of year, but they were not willing to help at all, as was the case at the local Tourist Information Centre!

Overall the location is fantastic on the main street of Zakopane, but it can get noisy on Friday and Saturday evenings, well through till the early hours. The hotel its self is beautifully traditional, and the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful, also the breakfast buffet consists of good, local produce.

In summing up, I would give this hotel another chance, but its overpriced if you compare it to some other local hotels and guest houses.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kochanieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group and would definitely visit again. The location is brilliant, right in the centre of town and the restaurant below the second part of the hotel is very cheap and the food is good. The service in the restaurant and on reception was impeccable and the rooms were pleasant. The only issue I had was that you could hear some noise from the halls which could be an issue for very light sleepers. Also, there was no wifi in the hotel rooms. Other than that (which aren't really big negatives) the hotel was great. Lovely spa and pool too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zclfy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilwern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as base for the Leger Polish Explorer tour (which is a fantastic tour to take if you get the chance!). We were in the Annexe opposite the hotel (all of two paces away!) on the first floor above the main street. The town itself is a very bustling town that seems to be open 24.7. Consequently, there is quite a lot of noise right through the night and our room, which was quite small but adequate for our needs, opened on to a shared wooden balcony (about four rooms had use of it) right over the main street. There was not any air conditioning and our only opening window was the French doors opening onto the shared balcony. It got very warm so we had to wedge the door open with a room chair to get any air flow and this let in a lot of the noise overnight so if you need peace and quiet to sleep, make sure you don't get room 414! We did ask at reception if we could hire a fan but they said they didn't have any fans. We didn't have any mosquito problems despite the door being open all night though, and the room and ensuite were spotless and every day they provided us with one bottle of still water and one bottle of fizzy water. The breakfasts are very good indeed and so was the set menu for evening meals. If you want more choice, there are restaurants a-plenty right on the main street and, indeed, the hotel has a good menu for those not on the set meal basis. The wine is quite expensive (and glasses VERY small - you need to order a double to get a UK small glass equivalent!) but otherwise the restaurant/bar ambience is very convivial. The small indoor pool/sauna area is lovely and hardly anyone seemed to use it so we had it to ourselves most of the time. The hotel location is right in the hub of the main street and we loved sitting on the balcony watching the world (quite literally!) go by. The TV was all in Polish so, even if we had wanted to watch, the only English speaking channel was CNN but there's so much going on in Zakopane that TV is the last thing on your mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillyflower58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week in Zakopane and stay at the Hotel Sabala. We were there as part of a coach tour. It is a lovely hotel, very traditional and staff were very friendly. Our room was in the Annexe opposite the hotel, we had a top room floor and stunning views of the mountains and main street. it was very quiet even with it being so close to the main street and also a folk festival being on that week. The room was very clean and spacious, plenty of wardrobe space although I find there are never enough hangers but always take my own. We had a shower which was very powerful. Towels were changed daily even though we didn't put them to be changed and water replaced as you used it. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but this didn't bother us as drinks are so cheap anyway. The breakfast was plentiful and you could have cooked eggs in anyway you wished and sausages, apart from that a good supply of bread, meats, cheeses, fruits etc. As we were part of a group we had a set evening meal each night and it was nice, even my husband who is a fussy eater managed to eat most things each night. If I was to pick one negative and this is more to do with the tour we were on, I think that they should have offered a couple of choices for the set menu as some people didn't like what was on offer, but personally we decided that if we didn't really like the food it was cheap enough to go out to get something. We didn't use the leisure facilities but one of the ladies in our group did use the pool and said it was very nice. The bar was very cheap for a hotel bar and had a good range of drinks. As I say the hotel is central to the main street and you can turn left and walk up the hill to lots of shops, bars, restaurants etc or turn right and it will lead you to the main church and market, which are well worth a visit. The intricate woodwork inside the hotel is fascinating. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: get a higher room floor just for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aries Hotel & Spa
Aries Hotel & Spa
#1 of 67 in Zakopane
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#6 of 67 in Zakopane
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 67 in Zakopane
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helios
Helios
#31 of 67 in Zakopane
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Logos Zakopane
Hotel Logos Zakopane
#17 of 67 in Zakopane
45 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redyk Ski&Relax
Redyk Ski&Relax
#3 of 67 in Zakopane
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabala

Property: Hotel Sabala
Address: ul. Krupowki 11, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zakopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabala 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sabala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabala Hotel Zakopane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing