We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Zakopane Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sabala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sabala
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Zakopane Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Hotel Sabala is in a superb location on Krupowski street. The restaurants offer great Polish food in a very traditional Goral style setting. The staff is very pleasant and greats the guests very politely.

The bed wasn't the most comfortable but that is to be expected from some older properties. But it wasn't bad. The room itself was charming with lots of hand carved wooden furniture.

There is wireless internet access downstairs in the lobby and main restaurant but I could only use the wired internet access in my room on the first floor of the main building. The internet access was complimentary and provided excellent speed in comparision to many hotels I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkarpiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
61
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights during our 10 day holiday to Poland. We requested a quiet room, away from the bottom floor and we recieved a room on the top floor. Excellent! Our room had amazing views of the surrounding area and mountains, a lovely bed and big bathroom.

The staff were great. They were quick to answer questions about Zakopane and were always friendly, helpful and professional.

The facilities which they provide, the swimming pool and sauna, are high class.

The breakfast was delicious! A large buffet with a very good range of meats, cheeses, breads and cereal. They also have a chef on standby to cook you fresh eggs anyway you want it.

We also went for dinner at the restaurant downstairs on our first night and, in our opinion, it was the best meal that we had in our stay in Zakopane.

I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone thinking on visiting Zakopane. For sure that we'll be back one day to stay again!

Room Tip: We recommend 302. Far from the noise of the street with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolkawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved our stay in hotel sabala it's location is perfect in the middle of Main Street krupowki. Has some good breakfast , very clean rooms , the only downside is a bit if noise from the restaurant but it goes away about midnight. So if u are out till then you will be fine.Overall very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evedee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Sabala for three nights in January 2013 (as part of a package deal with Sunshine World). The rooms were cute and well presented. The location is perfect as you really are on the main street with numerous options for dinner.

However, the service is really poor. We were really disappointed on the first night when our room had clearly been smoked in and smelt terrible. We weren't too worried but thought we would check if another room was available. There wasn't but they offered to spray it. Unfortunately, they just sprayed the room with a cleaner and went way over the top. I felt terrible to complain as the man was nice but it really was a poor solution- we had to leave as it was overpowering. When I said to the receptionist what had happened, she told me the spray was just in a cleaning bottle and wasn't actually a cleaning product- this was not believable and I didn't want to have an argument about it as there was nothing I could do. This was such a shame as the hotel is so cute and really put a bit of a down on our first night.

To the hotel's credit, they did offer us another room the following day. However, the room was closer to the restaurant and as other reviews have said, the hotel has very poor soundproofing.

Overall, don't expect any service and you won't be disappointed, the room is cute and location great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Its right on the main walking street...its a great location. There was also easy parking onsite. The breakfast (included) was also very nice. The rooms were onlyt average. The walls were paper thin and you could hear everything from the neighboring rooms and the busy street. The twin beds were pretty typical for Eastern Europe and the linens and towels and such were a little tired.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BPinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hi,

We stayed in Sabala on two separate occasions.

The positives: great location, just at the bottom of famous Krupowki Street. Close to Gubalowka and market. Very nice decor, traditional with regional feel to it. Quality of rooms vary but overall nice. Nice restaurant too, with interesting floor arrangements. Very good selection of food for breakfast.

Negatives: tiled corridors and stairs, which as you can imagine causes quite a lot of noise. When it raining or snowing tiles get wet and slippery. No safe in the room. Apart from toiletries and hairdryer no bath robes, iron, mini fridge. Service in the restaurant not very attentive, i.e. there was always something missing, once no water, anotehr time no butter etc.
But the biggest negative is the price. This is a 3 star hotel, but prices are comparable with 5 star hotel up the road (Hotel Belvedere).

What you pay for is a regional decor and a location and as long as you do not expect more for the money you will be pleased.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (windows facing Krupowki Streer) have a great view on the Tatra mountains. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mszubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel awarded to Leger's Polish Holiday. What a beautiful area to stay, it was the perfect base for trips in Poland. Trips included Auschwitz (terribly moving, and hard to believe such evilness existed and still exists today), Krakow, a fantastic city with so much to offer a tourist. Morskie Okie, a great lake which can only be reached by horse and cart and walking the last mile, the scenery was absolutely breathtaking.
Back to the hotel, wonderfully comfortable, with breathtaking views from the room. The food was fantastic and traditional, the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breckland2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aries Hotel & Spa
Aries Hotel & Spa
#1 of 67 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 67 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Litwor Hotel
Litwor Hotel
#8 of 67 in Zakopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#4 of 67 in Zakopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tatra Chalet
Tatra Chalet
#6 of 67 in Zakopane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helios
Helios
#29 of 67 in Zakopane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabala

Property: Hotel Sabala
Address: ul. Krupowki 11, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zakopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabala 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sabala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabala Hotel Zakopane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing