We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but is it really a 4*?”
Review of Crocus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crocus Hotel
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but is it really a 4*?”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Zakopane is an overprieced placem- having this in mind and a 4* level in mind, this hotel is well priced for the area. The hotelis situated outside main zakopane street and is therefore a bit out if the crow but at a reasonnable walking distance.

The room are nice and clean, with a small balconey to relax.

Even if the service were friendly, I was a bt disappointed by some details:
> wifi was ot working for us and we have try it on different devices.... But technician not availble during our stay
> to seee a permanent stick "desinfected" on ur toilets dont make u think that they are...
> on the last day, there was no more coffees, we waited more than 5 min near the machine and nobody has come...

A 4 stars is not only to have a soa but also in the details of the service.

In general, a good stay, a friendly service bur just under what i would except from a 4 stars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
40
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place seemed slightly more expensive than lots of other places we were looking at, however, it was well worth it. Booked through hotels.com & it said our room comes with balcony, when we arrived then room didn't have one, so we checked at reception and were offered another room. The only available was a superior room and it was lovely-really spacious and lush bathroom. The staff were ok with the change and the bar staff were very helpful in giving us suggestions of places to visit.
The breakfast was amazing-so much selection and the staff kept refilling everything regularly. I was very impressed with the selection and quality of food.
The pool, hot tub and steam room and sauna were a well needed treat and were quiet and well maintained.
It's about 10/15 minutes walk from the Main Street, however very regular busses that stop right outside the hotel and go all over town. Not the easiest to understand, but the staff in the hotel helped out. We thought it was a great location as prefer to be out a wee bit.
I would definitely book again and strongly recommend.

Room Tip: First floor seemed to be the best rooms, might be worth paying a bit extra for an upgraded room as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I really loved this hotel!
Beautiful exterior, classy inside, great rooms and excellent service. The food at the restaurant is also outstanding.
Stay here and be happy!

Not much more to say here - stay here if you're in Zakopane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowy Sacz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

choose this hotel if you want to spend great time in lovely area as Zakopane is, the hotel is based in quite area but not that far from the main street, restaurant offers good food and overall its very positive view.

Room Tip: choose room rather in the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Good location - just far enough outside of the main tourist area yet only a 10-15 minute walk. Friendly staff expecially the evening restaurant girls. Even if you're not staying in this hotel try out the evening menu in the restaurant - superb food at incredibly cheap prices. Room was about €80 per night on the third floor with free WiFi free parking and b/fast included. Try get a rear facing room as there is a stream which runs along the back of the hotel and the noise from the stream is very peaceful. Breakfast was excellent great choice including hot buffet. Wifi free was a little weak in our room as we were directly between 2 wireless access points but it worked well enough. Pool area is very nice - nice jacuzzi & pool and 2 sauna rooms. All in all for the price you couldn't get better. I would say the hotel couldn't be more than 2/3 years old at most. I believe the owner or manager is always around the hotel keeping an eye on things which is good. He seems friendly enough anyway...One drawback - no aircon in any of the rooms :-( - they do provide fans which are a help. You can also leave you're baclony doors open at night as there is a large space between each balcony. Flies and midgets didn't come in so it worked out ok. Temperatures when we were there ranged from 25-32 C so very warm. 1 tip if youre looking for hiking boots - get them in zakopane - practically every shop sells them for half nothing. Free parking and i believe there is also an underground car park - we didnt use it as the hotel was quiet when we were there. I would stay here agin if in Zakopane

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms will hear the stream which is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in December this year. We're a young couple and wanted a relaxing break - that's exactly what we got. The hotel was particularly quiet at the time (which we loved) and we had the pool area to ourselves every morning and evening... Lush! Ok, so the breakfast wasn't fantastic (cold meets, cheeses, fruit etc), but we had no complaints. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly - we even had complimentary breakfast in bed one morning because the hotel was quiet. I noticed that other travellers complained that their double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together, however I think it's important to point out that this is quite common in Poland. I suggest maybe contacting the hotel to ask specifically for a double bed. We hope to return to Zakopane soon with friends and will be sure to stay at Hotel Crocus again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked for four nights at last moment during one of busiest weeks so expected to pay more but it was very overpriced for Zakopane at Zl 595 per night.

Our room was 405 on the fourth floor. It was the last one available. There were only two small narrow single beds rather than the double we had expected. Two small pillows. The shower was placed in under the roof attic area so you could only stand up in it if you were a gnome. No offense to gnomes. This is not acceptable in a hotel promoting itself as top range even if it was the last room available.

All staff were very friendly and service was good. Many spoke good English which was much appreciated.

Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant menu was over priced for Zakopane and clearly not popular during one of the busiest weeks in town. We arranged our last evening around an early cocktails event that started 45mins late without explanation.

The pool, spa etc were good and clean and very welcome and the attendants also very good.

The bar placed in the reception area is a disaster and a lost opportunity to provide a good social meeting point and somewhere to relax.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beijing12B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
1.1 mi away
Aries Hotel & Spa
Aries Hotel & Spa
#1 of 68 in Zakopane
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 68 in Zakopane
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#4 of 68 in Zakopane
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Nosalowy Dwor
Grand Nosalowy Dwor
#10 of 68 in Zakopane
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#6 of 68 in Zakopane
423 reviews
3.7 mi away
Redyk Ski&Relax
Redyk Ski&Relax
#3 of 68 in Zakopane
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocus Hotel

Property: Crocus Hotel
Address: ul. Tytusa Chalubinskiego 40, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Zakopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crocus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Crocus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing