We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic VFM for budget travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stara Polana Hostel
Ranked #24 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

2nd time there and just as good as last year. Staff really helpful, clean, warm, breakfast included, kitchen facility if E15 for a massive meal with beers and starter seems too much from the local pubs! Quite unbeleivable value, even for Poland!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenmikeBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Stara Polana Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

I spent 3 days in Zakopane that is very cheap but overcrowded ski resort. I wouldn't come here again for skiing but speaking of this hostel I had pleasant stay here. It was cosy and warm and stuff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina_MNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Nice looking from the outside. In need of repairs. Unfriendly or helpful staff. Small kitchen with only a hot plate. Only toast for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Denise and I stayed in the one en-suite room, right by the front door. I'll try to only put in stuff you won't find elsewhere!
There is a lock up for skis. Parking is ample as most of guests are back-pack types in the spacious bunk rooms upstairs. Noise was not a problem. Breakfast is cheap and cheerful, make it yourself in the communal kitchen and then wash up. This is kept clean but the fridge is a bit disorderly with loads of old stuff in that people have not binned when they left, but not marked for general consumption either!
Beds were a bit lumpy, no sheets, just throws. TV in our room, plus communal and what seemed to be communal internet although we didn't try it. Staff speak good English and most helpful with finding ski info. BTW, we found having a car a massive boon for getting round the ski slopes - Kotelnica is brilliant and about 7 miles away.
The reception area is a bit gloomy but that's just what comes with an old traditional house I think. It was always warm inside and the heating could be turned up in our room to dry out the ski gear while out for a meal. We ate out every night - 10 mins walk to high street where there are loads of good cheap restaurant/pubs, just long enough to get a hunger up! If there is a snowstorm then there is a restaurant just down the road. Watch out for the one opposite the church - they are not allowed to sell beer! Room was clean, tidy and functional with a really good hot shower. Overall it was superb value for almost no money! We will be going back next year, it was ideal for us. For ski hire go out and right and there is a good cheap place just after the roundabout.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenmikeBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed here back in Jan of 09' for a week. Although you have to run around the cold stairway to get around, since there are only so many rooms per floor, it has an elegant interior. Great size dorm rooms, and very helpful staff made this place worth the while - not to forget to mention they have private rooms with your own bathroom.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
Thank MichaelP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We had reservations when we got there but reception could not find them. When they finally did, we went to town and upon our return there were people occuying our beds and closet. Hostel was full, without enough food for breakfast and few bathing water. We were bitten by insects the only night we stayed there. The town is fantastic and it deserved better hostels. We travelled in summer. Maybe in winter they give more attention to customers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdtboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Walking into Stara Polana is like walking into a wonderful, cosy little bit of Narnia! Low lights, the smell of wood-smoke, and everything rustic and wooden. We shared an 8-bed dorm, which is never great, but we paid £6.50 each a night, the beds were lovely and clean (and ready made) there was a big locker, wi-fi and a computer, TV and a piano! But the best bit was that breakfast is included in that price, as well as free use of a washing machine and tumble dryer! Easy 10 minute walk into the town as well, which was great.
Only two negative points: reception was often left unmanned, which could be a pain if you needed help. And the showers..... They could well win awards for worst showers in the world. A warm trickle from a hand-held shower head over a bath. We opted to go smelly most of the time....! Also, when the hostel is busy, make sure you get down to breakfast early or it will all be gone! However there is a shop just across the road, so its not the end of the world.
All over a really really lovely place, and would be really magical and Christmasy in the snow :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
1.3 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#5 of 67 in Zakopane
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helios
Helios
#31 of 67 in Zakopane
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
Redyk Ski&Relax
Redyk Ski&Relax
#3 of 67 in Zakopane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Karolowka Hotel
Karolowka Hotel
#20 of 67 in Zakopane
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Top Hostel
Top Hostel
#61 of 354 in Zakopane
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Good Bye Lenin Hostel Zakopane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stara Polana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stara Polana Hostel

Address: ul. Nowotarska 59, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Zakopane
Price Range: $19 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stara Polana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Stara Polana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing