We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Krakow main square”
Review of Da Pietro

Da Pietro
Ranked #272 of 1,921 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Description: Da Pietro is one of the first privately-owned restaurants in Krakow that successfully functions to this day. In the course of twenty-five years of existence, we have been visited by several millions of Guests, many of whom stayed with us for long years. Although in January 2016 we had to close down our restaurant at 17 Main Square, it took us only two months to open a new location a few metres further in the “Pod Obrazem” building at 19 Main Square. You will find us in the bright and spacious basements below “Słodki Wentzl” cafe and “Wentzl” restaurant. The same cooks and majority of the “old” staff still invite you to taste our delicious Italian dishes and seasonal delicacies.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited Krakow for a week and ate at Da
Pietro twice during our stay, was served by Marcin on both occasions. He was a fantastic waiter always checking we were okay, knowledgable about the dishes and friendly! The food and drink was amazing ( Especially the mulled wine and pizzas!) and very reasonably priced, rounded off with a delicious baileys coffee! We sat in the covered area outside with heaters and looked out over the Christmas market and the square, it was really cosy with a great atmosphere. Highly recommend if you’re in Krakow.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Philippa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Małgorzata L, Kierownik at Da Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Dear Philippa Y,
Thank you for your lovely review :)

Hope to see you again.


Best regards
Małgorzata Latosińska
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2018 via mobile

We visited here late one evening for a meal. Although there is plenty of seating outside we opted to sit inside and we weren't disappointed. The seating was underground, a really cosy setting but tables are spread away from each other so you don't feel cramped. It was a much more relaxing atmosphere than outside. The food was brilliant, we both 3 courses and couldn't fault any dish. The fillet steak was excellent! The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. When the bill arrived we were pleasantly surprised as it was alot cheaper than we thought it would be more.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank KevinTrowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Małgorzata L, Kierownik at Da Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Dear KevinTrowell,
Thank you for your lovely review :)

Hope to see you again.


Best regards
Małgorzata Latosińska
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful inside - underground cave like restaurant. Service was brilliant - Staff helpful in picking a good wine. We got given complimentary bread with an olive tapenade to begin with. For starters we ordered the bruschetta then for mains the steak and mushroom risotto. Dessert was the best part of the meal - pumpkin cheesecake. One of the most delicious deserts I have ever had! All this food plus 2 large glasses of wine and a bottle of water came to around £45 - very cheap for us as we are used to London prices. Krakow is a very cheap city - if you want to go for a very cheap dinner best to eat around the Jewish quarter, however I would recommend this restaurant for sure if you want a special authentic Italian meal with a lovely ambience.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RSS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Małgorzata L, Kierownik at Da Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2018

Dear RSS94,
Thank you for your lovely review :)

Hope to see you again.


Best regards
Małgorzata Latosińska
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018 via mobile

We were seated at a table outside overlooking the square. Our waiter was excellent and offered us advice on both the menu and Good places to go in Krakow. We ordered a main course each and a pizza to share. All 3 were fantastic.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 883seamusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Małgorzata L, Kierownik at Da Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear 883seamusc,
Thank you for your lovely review :)

Hope to see you again.


Best regards
Małgorzata Latosińska
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018 via mobile

Lovely setting in the vaulted basement, nicely decorated.

Food was well presented but not as hot as ought to have been and vegetables were well on the hard side of al dente.

Good selection of local food though

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GrahamR997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Małgorzata L, Kierownik at Da Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear GrahamR997,
Thank you for your review :)

Hope to see you again.


Best regards
Małgorzata Latosińska
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Pietro also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Da Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing