We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #13 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Columbus is a great place to stay in Cracow. Not far away from main tourist sights and train station, but still in a quiet area. Definitely a better place to stay than loud and crowdy hotels in the old city. The staff was very helpful in arranging our transport to a village outside Cracow. Rooms are spotless with nice furniture and modern bathrooms. Free internet access in room. Nice buffet breakfast. Very good price-service ratio.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    313
    34
    7
    1
See reviews for
203
670
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Excellent hotel, all of the staff were friendly & helpful. Clean & comfortable, good value for money. Located in Jewish quarter which suited us fine. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, only minor grumble for us is that we'd like a kettle in the room but that's it. You can order tea/coffee to your room, approx cost £1.20 per cup. Really make you feel like they care - and they probably do. Very refreshing!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I spent months researching Tripadvisor for hotels going through reviews and this hotel had rave reviews so booked it and was not disappointed. Exceptional discreet staff, good quality fittings, comfortable bed and lots of hot water in shower with good pressure. The mini bar has a good range of drinks/snack bars and reasonably priced.THIS HOTEL IS SO CLEAN. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip with plenty of seating. The hotel arranged for our pickup from the airport and the driver was waiting for us on arrival, straight to the hotel which is in the centre of Krakow and a few metres from the Jewish quarter which has some fabulous restaurants. Great value for money and I simply cannot fault this hotel. If you are visiting the concentration camps read my review as we met a driver who takes tourists to the camps, will wait and will save you heaps...we got lucky!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sooz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed with friends, a group of eight, for four nights. We found the location was just right, close to the Jewish quarter yet only ten fifteen pleasant minutes walk to the centre.

The rooms were excellent with a large comfortable bed, solid wooden furniture, none of this woodchip stuff, and as we had asked for rooms at the back, very quiet.

The bathroom was immaculate with modern facilities and lashings of hot water in the shower. There was even a telephone there.

Breakfast was very good, any amount of good fresh coffee, variety of cereals, yogurt, different types of bread and tea, bacon and sausages and some of the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted, the hot food constantly kept resupplied so that it was always fresh.

Across the road was an ATM for cash at a very good exchange rate.

Just around the corner was the Jewish quarter, incredibly interesting and with at least two great restaurants. The Czara (also in town) gave eight of us a great meal including drinks for 500 zlotys, about £100. Also brilliant service.

I saved the best until last. We could not have asked for more from the hotel staff. They were invariably helpful and courteous and went out of their way to be of assistance. They were just what you hope staff will be like and some times aren't.

And all at a price that didn't break the bank. Staying in Krakow? You needn't look any further

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boslandew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Stayed in this hotel fo 3 nights and I would definitely stay there again if I re-visited Kracow. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and spoke very good English. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, with good bathroom facilities. It was very convenient, with good restaurants within walking distance and a tram stop out side the front door. Breakfast was excellent, and catered for all tastes - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheese, cake, olives, bacon, sausage, eggs, bagels, roll, toast......

The only down side was that the room at the front of the hotel was rather noisy with traffic from the main road, so if I returned I would request a room at the front. If you are a heavy sleeper this may not be a problem.

This hotel is excellent value for money. Room service was efficient and affordable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed at the Columbus when in Krakow. The rooms are lovely, breakfast great and very centrally located. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The very best thing about this hotel is the staff! From the minute we arrived they delivered drinks to our room, booked trips and helped us and every other guest get home after the volcano! As we were unable to get home the hotel staff phoned, e-mailed, booked trains, buses, taxis and other forms of transport for every guest in the hotel. They worked non-stop and were even up at 2 in the morning trying to book buses for people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Krakow. What a gem!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindaSPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Thank you so much for making my stay so pleasant.The taxi pick up at the airport,the
booking of my trip to Aushwitz,the knowledge of your staff and their excellent english was
a great help.The rooms are spacious clen and the beds so comfortable.The breakfast
was ok and the hotel is in an excellent position to all sights and as the weather was mild you could walk everywhere. Definately would stay again Well Done.
Sue
Manchester UK

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
987 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 260 in Krakow
1,777 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#15 of 260 in Krakow
1,216 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#35 of 260 in Krakow
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing