We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #9 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Really excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The staff at this hotel are really excellent. Its is such a chance to get such good service. I can give two examples: 1) the pick-up from the hotel was late, and we had to call to hotel to find out what was going on - the resulting taxi ride was provided free of charge; 2) I stupidly left my wallet and keys in the room safe and only discovered this when I got back to the UK - both items were sent to me unmolested. I could also add that the staff were very friendly when we were there, happily walking with us to direct us to a restaurant.

My room was good, as was the bed; the room faced the road and so caught some noise, but it was no big deal. The style was modern. The internet worked (I used a network cable). Breakfast was a buffet, with cereal, cheeses, breads and hot eggs and sausages; there was juice and (below par) coffee.

I stay in a fair number of hotels, and while the hotel Columbus is not the absolute ultimate in luxury, the helpful attitude of the staff (who speak excellent English) transformed our stay. I am very happy to fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    281
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
180
607
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Well, we have just got back from Krakow tonight, and felt compelled to add some comments here.....The Hotel Columbus staff from the moment we walked through the door made us feel welcome, special and made a nice break, a fantastic one. A particularly nice touch when I mentioned my girl friend was vegetarian they immediately went onto the internet and gave us three restaurants to choose from ! Then on the second day the conceirge, "Bodnam" walked us to the guide pick up point to Auschwitz, which was really helpful. We forgot to pay for the tour for two days but the staff never mentioned this. The room was great, the staff, were excellent and we cannot find a fault with the Hotel, some have said the location is not great, but in all honesty do you wish to be right in the centre ? A 10 min walk does us all good !! Plus, there is a tram stop right outside so go and book this hotel !! It is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

I'll agree with all the other reviews!!!!
Sorry if I repeat anything that they say
My sister and I went to Krakow on a short break.
We made our own way to the hotel - on the bus from the airport and then caught a tram (the number 50 from the tunnel drops you right outside) - we weren't sure which tram at the time but a really nice man showed us where to get on and off. The trams and buses are so cheap - just make sure have a ticket and that it's validated on the machines. We got a 3 day ticket for about £5 each, more for convienence really, it probably would have been cheaper to buy singles but we wanted the security of knowing we had a ticket and not needed to keep change to hand.
Check in at the hotel was easy, we were shown to our room, and told how the safe worked. The room was standard size. It was at the back of the hotel and you couldn't hear a thing, and to be fair I wouldn't have minded being at the front as I like the sound of trams and sleep through most things. The showers were amazing, realy powerful, and great for waking up and soothing those muscles after all the walking we did.
Staff were not intrusive. They were very polite and were eager to help with anything.
Really close by there was a square full of nice restaurants, there was one that did amazing dumplings - a must!!. A little further on there is another square, mainly with bars, which is great if you want a bit of nightlife.
The main square is about 10 minutes away and is really pretty.
There is a computer in the lounge to connect to the internet with no charge.
Breakfast was good
I'm struggling to find anything bad to say about this hotel ....... ok, the carpets dont match the rooms......but seriously that is how picky I would have to be!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blushing-bride-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

Lovely location right next to the jewish quarter. Room was a nice size, very clean and nicely furnished with a great shower! Staff were always happy to help and assist and when I got to the airport and realised my passport/keys were still in my room safe they came through, sending a member of staff to the airport who refused any money for the trouble. All very lovely

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonMcKellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

Having read other reviews we decided to stay at the Hotel Columbus for our 25th wedding anniversary, whilst visiting Krakow. Right from the off, we knew we had made an excellent decision. On arrival and after settling into our comfortable, clean and well appointed room (the bed was huge), we asked if we could be directed to a cafe/bar for a drink. Rather than just give directions, the concierge insisted on walking us to an excellent bar (cafe magma) in a nearby square. It became our favourite afternoon or evening stopover, whilst contemplating where to go for dinner or visit next.
The hotel staff were all friendly and spoke good English. Located just a 10 min walk from the Old town Square, this was a perfect location for just about everything. My only tip would be to try to secure a room at the back as they are a little quieter than the front where streetside trams run until late evening. We would certainly come back to this hotel and heartedly recommend it. Book, and I am sure you would too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boundary10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

Just home after four days in Krakow, and I can honestly say that all the good things we had read about Hotel Columbus on TripAdvisor were accurate. The hotel is in a good location; the rooms are large and very comfortable, as well as being spotlessly clean; the buffet breakfast is excellent; and all the members of staff we met were friendly and seemed keen to do what they could to help make our stay as pleasant as possible, whether answering our questions about the city or booking tours and taxis. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was quiet - we were aware of trams passing the front of the hotel if the window or balcony door was open but otherwise all was peaceful. The en-suite bathroom had a shower only, but I gather from previous reviews that some rooms have a bath too. Also was very glad that the hairdryer, although located in the bathroom, was perfectly usable, and not one that: a) requires coins; b) requires constant pressure on the 'on' switch or c) is basically the end of a tube attached to a motor which heats up to about the temperature of the sun in a matter of seconds, all of which I have encountered where a hairdryer has been advertised. Again, not of importance to all, but it saves filling valuable bag space with your own. Mineral water in the rooms is provided gratis, and is replaced each day if you have used it. Free internet access is provided at a PC in the lounge on the ground floor.

Hotel Columbus is an easy 15-minute stroll from the main square in the old town, and is right on the edge of Kazimierz and the Jewish area. A number of tram routes pass the hotel, with stops in either direction very nearby. We flew to the airport at Balice and took a train into the main railway station, from where we got a taxi to the hotel. The train station for the airport is actually outside the main airport grounds - turn right out of the terminal and walk for a couple of hundred metres up a roadway; it's not very well signposted! The train takes 10 or 15 minutes to reach the main station. The taxi ride from the station to the hotel took about 15 or 20 minutes and cost about 20 PLN. For our return journey we asked the hotel to book us a taxi - 80 PLN booking through them, which is probably a little dearer than arranging it yourself but at least is a fixed fare and takes you straight to the airport.

Krakow itself is a lovely city - friendly and easy-going. The old town is very picturesque and is suited to strolling and taking coffee and beer breaks! A trip to the castle and cathedral on Wavel Hill is really a must, for those attractions but also for the view they afford of the city. Being there for only three full days, we didn't get a chance to explore as much as we would have liked in the city itself. We booked two tours via reception at the Columbus: one to the salt mines at Wielickza and another to Auschwitz and Birkenau. Each cost 120PLN per person and we felt that this was good value: pick-up points were nearby; the bus transfers ran smoothly and on time; the guides and reps were informative and friendly; and the local guide on the Auschwitz/Birkenau tour was excellent.

We ate extremely well; we had been lucky enough to get a list from a Polish friend of some of her recommendations for restaurants and cafes in Krakow, and they didn't disappoint; many of her suggestions also appeared in our guidebooks and descriptions given seemed to match the reality.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Krakow, and were really delighted by Hotel Columbus. Its atmosphere and location were really the icing on a lovely Polish cake and we hope that our first visit will not be our last!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeraldAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillelagh Co Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

The Columbus is such a find, and lives up to all the compliments heaped on it by reviewers. My especial memories will be the bed and pillows, the great showers and shower products, the yummy breakfasts, the friendly and helpful staff and the handiness to the Jewish Quarter and the Main Square. Krakow is a lovely city, and I felt very safe wandering around on my own. Look out for the early evening concerts - they last one hour and are a lovely occasion before dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#7 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Hotel Galaxy
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing