We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Krakow Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #10 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Krakow Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel very very welcoming and staff very friendly.If asked anything to the staff they would do their best to get things sorted for you.Stayed for four nights bed and breakfast of which breakfast was their to cater for all, plenty of cereal , meats cheese , toast and even eggs and bacon etc and fresh fruit, yogurt and fruit juices.
Overall a very nice place for a stay in Krakow, decent size room bathroom etc , only thing from a personal view which was missing was a kettle for a cup of coffee or tea when you wanted one, however saying that we did ask the hotel one day for a coffee later in the day and they accommodated, but would have been a good touch to have one in the room.
Very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel was quieter as there is a main road/tramway at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Columbus Hotel for your recent stay in Cracow. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

Thank you for your opinion regarding the kettle in the room. Our room service is open 24 hours and can provide the tea or coffee anytime as you wish. Unfortunately, due to the type of furniture we are not able to offer the kettle in the room.
Still, we will consider your opinion as a good advice for us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Wishing you only good trips


Best regards
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    289
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
187
622
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just back having spent a most enjoyable time at the Hotel Columbus. From the friendly very efficient staff to the perfect location of the hotel we could not have asked for more. Great value for money we would highly recommend this hotel! The Mcgowans

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Columbus Hotel and your positive feedback. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service and enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again

Best Regards
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent five nights at the end of July at this lovely little establishment.

I don't want to merely repeat what other reviewers have said, but I really can't fault this place. The staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful. They were on hand for any queries and were all exceptionally professional.

The room was very clean, decent size, bathroom was super and had a very nice tiled floor!

It was really hot during our stay, but the room had decent air con, so that kept us cool on an evening. We did opt for a room at the back of the hotel, given the potential tram noise. I can safely say I slept like a log, as it was lovely and quiet (though my sleep may have been aided by a polish vodka or two).

Breakfast was fine, lots to choose from and the staff were very good at replenishing the food and quickly clearing tables.

The litle garden outside the back of the hotel was nice to have a drink after a busy day. Drinks at the hotel were inexpensive (including the mini bar), and were generally cheap in Krakow.

Most reviewers have mentioned the restaurant Trezo (turn right out the hotel and right again, 200yards down the road). We had two lovely meals in there, two courses, with wine, vodka and amerettos, under £40 for two of us.... There were so many nice bars and eateries in the Jewish Quarter that we didn't venture into the old town on a night, but its a 20 minute walk, left out of the hotel straight up Starwisina. Can't comment on the trams as we were happy to walk everywhere.

I also enjoyed spending some time on the large riverboats nearish to the castle as an alternative to drinking in bars in the town. Only a 10minute walk from the hotel and there was a nice breeze to cool us down on a hot day.

I was a bit concerned that 5nights was going to be too long for a city break, but this was not the case, as there is plenty to do, with so many districts in the town to explore and many museams. Auschwitz was exceptionally moving. If you do go there, better to do an organised trip and get there early as it is busy. The guide we had was both informative and exceptionally passionate about her job. The Schindler factory was also excellent, giving a real feeling of how awful life was like for people during the German occupation of the 2nd world war.

I'd have no hesitation in staying at the Hotel Columbus again, thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid tram noise, maybe best to get a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for sending such kind comments.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel
and spent a good time in Cracow.

We truly hope to host you again in the nearest future at the Columbus Hotel.

With kindest regards,

Beata Michalska
Hotel Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottishBorders
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just back from the Hotel Columbus and what a great hotel. From the first step inside the door until we left. We were met by a lovely gentleman who took out luggage and although we arrived early our room was ready. We had asked for a room at the back of the hotel as we had read other reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was lovely and we had a small balcony as well. Air con was very welcome as it was a very warm week in Krakow. The cleanliness of the hotel is first class and the breakfast is also very good with a good selection to choose from. The staff are really friendly and speak very good English. The hotel is in a great location and about 10/15 minutes from all of the major tourist attractions. Plenty of shops nearby and some wonderful restaurants especially the Trevo Restauarant, great value for money. Would certainly recommend this great hotel and will certainly stay here again when we return to Krakow.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmithsHawick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Columbus hotel and for your positive feedback.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Columbus Hotel.
Kind regards
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's hard to fault this hotel. I give it 5 stars for a combination of value, location, excellent room, and great staff. We just stayed here end of July, 2013 and the room was perfect, the staff was very helpful. The location is great. It's a 10 minute walk to the main square in Old Town (which you will want to go to), but it's right around the corner (2 minute walk) from the Jewish Quarter with great restaurants, food stalls, and places to drink vodka. You can also walk to the Jewish Ghetto and Shindler's Factory / Museum from the hotel (15 minutes). If you are looking to stay right smack dab in the middle of the touristy section of old town - then you should probably stay at a hotel a bit closer. But I found this hotel a great value, and the location perfect for seeing all there is in Krakow.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ocean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Columbus hotel and for your positive feedback.

We will be happy to welcome you back again at the Columbus hotel.

With kindest regards,
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Currently staying at the Hotel Columbus and just have to say what a wonderful experience we have had!. When we arrived after a 20 hour trip, we were shown our room, which was absolutely lovely, but a bit small for our needs. It was on the back of the hotel as we had requested. They were able to accomodate us to a larger room the same day. We are staying on the front of the building and really, after a day of touring, everyone is asleep and the noise does not seem to be an issue and the windows are bigger and brighter(if you open the window the noise is substantially louder). The breakfast is great. There is something for everyone! The entire staff has been lovely to us. They are absolutely fluent in English and if you have any questions, they are able to answer them and they will answer them honestly - they will not pretend to know something if they do not know. Location is fantastic - a five year old can walk to all locations easily. Also, the cleanliness is impecable-I have no idea how they get the shower clean without any water spots! Amazing!!!! Would definately stay here again. Have to say - what a lovely place Cracow is to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingbug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
On behalf of our team I would like to thank you so much for your positive feedback and so kind words.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and spent a good time in Cracow
It is a great pleasure when our efforts to make our guests’ stay enjoyable are fruitful.

We truly hope to host you again in the nearest future at the Columbus Hotel.


With kindest regards,
Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked through escape2poland.co.uk this hotel is great. Just ten minutes stroll from the main square & a minute from the Jewish Quarter, this hotel is perfectly situated. Across the street from tram stops, the post office is virtually opposite as are local supermarkets & the pharmacy is just down the road. Local restaurants are great too.

The room was large, spotlessly clean & the bathroom was immaculate with a great shower & nice products. The air-conditioning during a heatwave was bliss (at no extra charge). Breakfast was varied, plentiful & enjoyable.

Most importantly of all the customer service was fantastic - the receptionist Anita in particular was extremely helpful and friendly and was able to direct me to the local pharmacy, explain how the trams worked, the post office as well as print our boarding tickets for the flight home! She was so helpful and patient. The hotel also organised packed lunches for our tour to Auschwitz, good value & very nice.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzycurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusHotelKrakow, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Columbus hotel and for your positive feedback.
It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service and enjoyed your stay with us.

The whole team sends their heartily regards to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Columbus Hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Beata Michalska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#11 Family Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing