We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done again Columbus!”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #13 of 264 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed again at the Columbus Hotel again, absolutely no complaints! Good breakfast and as before staff were all very pleasant and helpful! Don't want to praise too much in case it's overbooked when we decide to go again!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Columbus and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the Main Square. In close proximity to the hotel are lots of lovely restaurants. The tram stops right outside the hotel and gets you everywhere in a matter of minutes.

Rooms are spacious and clean. We stayed at the back of the hotel and it was quiet. Breakfast is really nice.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Krakow!

On a seperate note don't do what we did and get the train to Aushwitz. It takes about 2 1/2 hours. Instead get the minibus which is on the lower floor of the bus station. It is much quicker.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete-Rhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, I found it via Trip Advisor and was not disapointed. Very helpful staff, good sized clean room, nice selection for the continental breakfast. I stayed at at the front of the hotel (overlooking the main road & tram lines) and although there was the noise of the trams it didn't cause me too much of a problem. Good location for the Old Town (about ten to fifteen min walk - just over 1km) and to Shindlers Musuem (about 1.3km) or use the trams which stop just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicka1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the City Center and about a 1 minute walk to the Jewish Ghetto. If I was going again I would plan getting to and from the airport better. We took a bus, a street car a train and a taxi going back and forth. I would say its worth the extra money to get a shuttle.

The hotel was clean and our double room had plenty of space. The bathroom was fine but the shower was sort of small. The bed was comfortable and it was actually a queen size bed not two twins put together which was nice.

The breakfast was ok. Plenty to go around but I would recommend saving you appetite for some of the restaurants just outside the hotel in the Jewish neighborhood.

The wifi worked very well and it is nice to have that included so we could plan out activities after getting the lay of the land.

Every staff member we encountered was very pleasant and helpful. Everyone spoke at least some English and most spoke it very well so that's a plus when asking questions or looking for recommendations.

The hotel had some tours available through a company with information at the front desk. We found the tour prices they offered to be much higher than we were able to find on-line so we didn't use their company.

This was a great hotel, in a super location and it is very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend it to people who don't mind walking a little. We enjoy walking around and exploring so it worked well for us

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is one not to be missed.The staff were just the best. I would recommend the breakfast to anyone for choice and quality. The hotel is set on the edge of the Jewish quarter and just a ten minute walk from Kracow's main square and all its attractions. Public transport is nearby and taxis can be called by the reception and are very cheap. Kracow is a university town therefore there are many young people which give it a liveliness with it being rowdy, in fact it is a very peaceful town.

Room Tip: any room will do, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a four day break at the Columbus Hotel and wish we could have stayed longer. The room we had was at the back and was spotless, the bed was so comfortable we had a fantastic sleep. The breakfast was plentiful and offered hot and cold selection with a great variety and you could have breakfast anytime between 7.30 and 10.30 which was lovely as after all you are on holiday to relax. The staff were very helpful and we booked a trip to Auschwitz with the hotel and could not fault their choice of provider as our guide,s throughout the trip were very informative. I note the previous persons comments about the area but I can honestly say that I did not feel threatened in any way. We are already planning our return to Krakow and the hotel Columbus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitten05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and couldn't recommend it highly enough! Staff were helpful, attentive and informative. Rooms were spacious and clean ( we had a room at the front and the tram noise is a problem) and breakfast was varied and served at a reasonable time.
Fantastic value for money in a good ,safe area!
Recommended ++

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 264 in Krakow
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Legend Hotel
#10 of 264 in Krakow
282 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#35 of 264 in Krakow
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: ul. Starowislna 57, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#33 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $56 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Columbus in Cracow welcomes you in style. Whether visiting from very close, or far away, you will appreciate the personalized attention, warmth and sophistication of our boutique Columbus. The building which was built in the 1930`s, was transformed into this luxurious 24 room boutique hotel in 2007. Lastly a complete renovation was finished in December 2013. Hotel is arranged in a colonial style with wooden exotic furniture and warm colours. All of our comfortably renovated rooms are equipped with: mini bars, complimentary mineral water, individually controlled air-conditioning and comfy beds. Complimentary Internet access is provided in all rooms. If you wish to forget about the hustle and bustle of city life we invite you to our courtyard. In this cosy and peaceful place, located at the back of the hotel, you can take a rest after the whole day of exploring the city. Our staff will make every effort to ensure an unforgettable stay in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing