We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but not exceptional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fontaine

La Fontaine
Ranked #85 of 1,460 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French, Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In the heart of the Old Town, among the largest cultural and tourist attractions, we offer you excellent French cuisine and very comfortable rooms and suites.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate here a few days ago. Food was good but the flavours very mish-mash, which unfortunately didn't work that well. Service and atmosphere very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    156
    57
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some great, some not!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Three of us had dinner this evening at Lafontaine. We had been there twice last year while visiting and looked forward to returning. The food was excellent, very tasty, no complaints in that area. However, we were never asked if we wanted dessert and also no one came to take our payment. We therefore brought our own check to the bar area. There was only one other couple dining there and they also brought their money to the bar area. It appeared that the servers were busy talking among themselves and one other. We had hoped to return, as we are staying in Krakow for a month, but it is very doubtful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stumbled upon this little gem while wandering around looking for a nice bite to eat - was drawn in by the picture of the restaurant on the menu outside. We were lead down into the main restaurant and bar, where we were seated immediately, even though it was about 22.30, we were still given the best service and top quality food!
The food was amazing.... best meal in Krakow by far!! My partner opted for the Wild Boar and Doe as a starter..... highly recommended!!
But by far the bext bit was dessert.... 3 choices from the trolley for a small dessert.... we shared this and were not disappointed... I am going to try and copy the coconut and chocolate mousse/cheesecake type thing..... ahhhhh heaven!!

Not the cheapest place to eat, but compared to what we would pay for this back at home.... half the price!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ate here without a reservation a couple of nights ago with Husband. Shown to a table in the cellar by friendly waitress and had good service from all members of staff throughout the evening.

Had a complimentary amuse bouche to start followed by the crab starter (delish but didn't think the pink grapefruit went with it!) and husband had the tapas selection (which was actually 4 mini starters, not tapas in the traditional sense) and was also tasty.

Mains were beef fillet with the béarnaise sauce and boar with roe, beautifully presented, cooked and full of flavour. I had the crème brulee with fruit for pudding and he had the cheeseboard which I had to help him finish (which I could as the brulee portion which although delicious was on the small side). Cheese board was outstanding and the waiter was happy to bring extra bread to help me finish it although some crackers would had have been preferable!

Excellent value for money in pleasant surroundings just off the Main Square

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodpecker-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludvika, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely experience at La Fontaine. The staff were very helpful and happy to help with anything. Our starters and main courses where great, however the deserts where not to our liking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontaine also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing