We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fontaine

La Fontaine
Ranked #84 of 1,471 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French, Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In the heart of the Old Town, among the largest cultural and tourist attractions, we offer you excellent French cuisine and very comfortable rooms and suites.
Ludvika, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice staff”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely experience at La Fontaine. The staff were very helpful and happy to help with anything. Our starters and main courses where great, however the deserts where not to our liking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    158
    57
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very good but choose your table”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went in without a reservation and were shown to a table in a gloomy alcove which would have meant one of us staring at a brick wall all night, were told this was the last table available, we made to leave but suddenly another table was found in a very pleasant small cellar along with some other diners. After a poor start everything got better with good food and service and regular "gifts from the chef" so all in all a restaurant to be recommended but don't necessarily take the first table offered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in ashfield
Level Contributor
209 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Faultless!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a gem!!
Found by chance after being turned away from another restaurant due to us not booking in advance.
Must have been a omen as this is one of the best meals we've experienced in an excellent setting.
The amuse-bouche of Cauliflower & Salmon was superb.
For starters I chose mushroom soup with dumpling, simply delicious.
My wife opted for the crab, presented beautifully & tasted as good.
For main we both chose Sauted fillet of beef with potato cakes & a bernaise sauce.
I must say that this was probably the best presented & tasty fillet steak I've eaten
We'd had cakes in the day so decided against a sweet although they almost tempted us !!
Top marks to the chefs for their food & presentation & to the excellent staff who were very friendly & helpful.
This was our last night in Krakow, had we found it sooner we would have returned.
FAULTLESS!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A beautiful atmospheric restaurant in a cellar.. superb food,very good service. What more could you ask for?
No disabled access and down a lot of steps but my husband said it was worth the trouble.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big pretend”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It claims to be the fancy place, but staff speaks English very a little, I was waiting for a cappuccino for 20 minutes regardless I was totally alone in the whole place, furthermore it was almost cold and served in cracked cup, I also had a crack on the plate. I ordered a salad, I have to admit that it was delicious, but silverware was cheap and shabby. Restrooms are an another disaster. But I've been given a very nice amuse-bouche. So to sum up: it's not a bad place, but it claims to be much better and sets the prices pro tanto overcharge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamjamjamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontaine also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing