We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST, should be number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fontaine

La Fontaine
Ranked #84 of 1,471 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French, Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In the heart of the Old Town, among the largest cultural and tourist attractions, we offer you excellent French cuisine and very comfortable rooms and suites.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST, should be number 1”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If we hadn't have chosen to come here based on reviews, we would have walked straight past. It doesnt look like much fro the street because it is located in the cellar. With brick barrel ceilings and lovely archways, it is the perfect setting for any occasion.

The reviews on here don't do the food justice, see our pictures. The 4 tapas starter was a piece of art and the duck main course was amazing with all sorts of extras.

As previously mentioned, the prices are slightly higher than elsewhere in Krakow but still a lot cheaper than the UK, and well worth it. Complementary amuse-bouche and shots at the end were well received. Lovely staff

We tried 7 restaurants in Krakow and this was the best by miles.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    158
    57
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great atmosphere. Loved it”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This restaurant is fantastic. We went there without a reservation and got straight in. It’s downstairs, like many restaurants in Krakow, but feels like you are sitting in an outside little café, very cute.

The food was great. We had starter, main and a bottle of wine for £58 for 2 of us. Really good value for the quality of food. Service was really good, they were attentive but not too much. Was really surprised with the standard of the food as the place looks so unassuming.

Very happy we went there

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Nice cosy underground restaurant”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Food was excellent, fantastic presentation and tasted great. I had the Fillet Mignon. Very reasonably priced, two mains and two beers came to 105 Zlotys which at the time was about £20. Nice lighting not too bright and there is a little bar area where smokers can go. Didn't notice the smoke interfering with the dining area. Nice polite service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ash715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stuff.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The fact that after 3 years using Tripadvisor this is the first visit to somewhere that's made me have to leave a review says it all. Great food, champagne and friendly staff. Lovely cellar setting beneath the streets of Krakow added a wonderful atmosphere to a special occasion. Highly recommended. NB: the licensing issue referred to in a previous post has been resolved and I found the wine choice more than adequate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djmunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed the meals, service and atmosphere here. The French onion soup. wild boar and deer, the duck with mushroom crepes, and almond gateau were all delicious. The waitress was delightful. Maybe a few more vegetarian options would be good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susannah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontaine also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing