We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant French style and owned restaurant”

Restaurant La Fontaine - U Pierre'a
Ranked #108 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is the perfect combination of exquisite French cuisine and Polish hospitality in the very heart of the hstorical Cracow.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
832 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,130 helpful votes
“brilliant French style and owned restaurant”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

we first ate here in 2006 and have made a point of dining here on each subsequent visit to krakow. It is located in a basement. It scores stronly for the warmth and frienliness of its wecome. On 18 may 8 had crab with avocado, followed by deer and wild boar combination. Both excellent. the outgoing maitre d' remembered us, as did the French owner. Lots of tables taken. A joy to dine there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    162
    58
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The food was excellent and very good value for money. Two, two course meals and two main meals with beer was about £50

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meneryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High aspirations, excellent and abysmal all in one.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This restaurant could have been excellent, some of the food we had was michelin star quality, but the service was truly abysmal throughout the meal. The restaurant is a little on the formal side and a little quiet, so more for a romantic couple, rather than a big group. We were sat down at 8pm, with menus and had to wait 30 minutes until someone came over to take our order, despite trying to get a waiters attention for at least 15 minutes. This set the tone for the rest of the night. We had to wait ages for everything and 30 minutes for a second bottle of wine was a joke. When they finally attended to this request, they informed us that it was no longer available and then our 2nd choice was not either.

The staff were pleasant and to be honest they did apologise at the end for the poor service, but that really was no excuse.

As for the food, it was, for the most part, excellent, intricate and fantastically presented. I wouldn't bother with the dessert trolley though, it certainly wasn't home made as claimed.

This place has potential, but they need to sort out the service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moody2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentUK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stumbled on this restuarant which is downstairs in a 'cellar' with lovely exposed stone walls. We just ordered main courses but were given a taster and bread which was delicous. Food a little slow coming but worth the wait. Our main course were very well presented in a french style. Then the desert trolley came you could have a huge slice of one or a smaller slice of 3 deserts if you couldn't make your mind up, the waiter served these with great artistry and there was french cheeses too. The wines were a little expensive the house red was very acceptable. 4 people ate and drank for just under 400 zl about £20 each.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but average service”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Beautiful space, good food, but we felt abandoned between courses.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphsophieshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Fontaine - U Pierre'a also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Restaurant La Fontaine - U Pierre'a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing