We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and traditional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 130 Krakow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel seems a little dodgy when you walk in but the rooms are clean, self contained and you have the option of tango music playing in the background using a switch on the wall!

Staff were friendly and helpful however are only available between 8am and 10pm otherwise you need an out of hours phone number.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBs_gone_wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Tango House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. First impression when we walked in was probably a little bit different to when we got to our room. The entrance way off the street looks a bit dingy.

We arrived early so couldn't check in straight away but the girl there was happy for us to leave our bags. When we did check in the rooms were good with your own toilet and kitchenette. There were no lifts and we were up two levels but luckily they had taken up our bags by the time we came back to check in. Stairs are quite narrow and dark though so it may present a problem for someone who has mobility issues.

Breakfast was quite simple...some cereal, yoghurt and bread rolls with ham, cheese, tomato. Dining room is extremely small but fine just for eating breakfast.

Service was ok. Only one girl is on at any one time and they lock up at 10pm so no one is on site.

Location was probably the best bit with the hotel being located very central to the main square. A pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbbenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Within easy walking distance of the main train station and in the Old Town, this B&B features softly piped tango music and posters of tango performances. Our double room (#1) was a little cramped, but the bed was comfortable. Old frescoes on the stairwell walls and the brightly decorated underside of the staircase added to the mood of this old building. Breakfast was a lovely assortment of cheeses, vegetables, yogurts, hams, and fresh breads. Our narrow room faced the street, and we heard the hourly bugler. But we also heard the drunks much of the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A superb location just a few steps from the Big Square in old Krakow. Friendly staff who served you and helped out with anything needed; from tours to aspirin...! Nice and clean with a great, cool atmosphere. Breakfast with all you can ask for at a B&B. Most recommended. Patrik with a party of five persons from Sweden, dbl room at no 6, triple at no 3.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I think our problem can be summed up in two words ROOM 5. Please read review of the people from South Carolina who really said it all although we did not experience water or curtain problems. We were in eAstern Europe during blistering heat approaching 100 every day. Room 5 is interior on the top floor. There is no air conditioning and no breath of air given that it is interior. We pleaded for a fan which they went out and bought. The room is not big enough for a person and a suitcase let alone two people. We had no place to put anything.

The breakfast room is quite small but I found the breakfast adequate. The staff helpful and kind. Stairs and four entry keys a royal pain. Location on main square fantastic.

I highly recommend that when you book you ask them to send the picture of the actual room you will get as well as its location because it is unclear from their description which room you are booking. It's place is not meant for hot summer travel!

Room Tip: Make sure you see pics of the room before booking and know there is no air conditioning
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TangoHouseKrakow, Owner at Tango House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you haven't fully enjoyed your stay with us! Indeed, we had several days of extremely hot and humid (which is unusual for this part of Europe) weather and I can appreciate your discomfort as a result. We did try to alleviate this by purchasing a fan for you which we did promptly and thank you for mentioning this in your review. As for the room number 5, everywhere we sell it, we clearly indicate that this is our "economy room" and it is also reflected in the price (lowest available). You can also choose from our "standard" and "superior" rooms, which are respectively larger. I will think of ways of additionally marking the room as we obviously do not intend to mislead anyone yet to provide a budgetary choice. I hope that despite these nuisances, you had enjoyed your stay in Krakow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is exceptionally well located for touring all Krakow's attractions, especially Old Town and its famous Market Square -- at best a three-minute walk away. Some rooms are tight but my room, #7, was quite spacious and extremely comfortable (although it was was up one more flight of stairs on on the second -- what North Americans would call the third -- floor). This room has a kitchenette (fridge, one-burner heating plate, sink, and cooking utensils/flatware & plates) should you wish to cook in. Bathroom fixtures were very new, clean, and the shower had excellent water pressure.

The staff is friendly and accommodating, helping with airport transfers and booking guided tours and the like. The breakfast offerings are extensive: cold cereals, tomatoes, cucumbers, cream cheese as well as the usual freshly-baked rolls, yogurts, ham, sliced cheeses, and other condiments.

Only potential shortcoming for some might be the stairs; Reception is on the ground floor but all the rooms are up a fairly narrow, steep stairway. I'm in my late 50s and found it no trouble, although I did have to take it slowly to get my bag up to my second-foor room.

They offer a cash discount, which makes it an even better value. That, plus the excellent location, made for a wonderful, comfortable stay in Krakow.

Room Tip: Room #7 is a spacious double with a kitchenette
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful place with excellent staff(Natalia), European breakfast, unbeatable location. Our room (#5) is very small for two people but nicely decorated. Larger rooms exist but we didn't know when we booked. I.e. #4 is very spacious.
Bldg is 16th century but facilities are modern. A great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOWARDSWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 261 in Krakow
942 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,089 reviews
Stare Miasto
Stradonia Serviced Apartments
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#13 of 261 in Krakow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Szpitalna 4 Street, Krakow 31-024, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range: $55 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tango House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a 16-century townhouse (Kraków's first public bathhouse), we are just around the corner from the famous Main Market Square. Our dedicated staff will work hard to make your stay truly enjoyable - we look forward to seeing you at Tango House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tango House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango House Bed And Breakfast
Tango House Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing