We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated ancient bldg in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 128 Krakow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California, USA
2 reviews
“Updated ancient bldg in great location”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful place with excellent staff(Natalia), European breakfast, unbeatable location. Our room (#5) is very small for two people but nicely decorated. Larger rooms exist but we didn't know when we booked. I.e. #4 is very spacious.
Bldg is 16th century but facilities are modern. A great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOWARDSWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    116
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
229
56
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Tango House having been there in 2012 and again their service was unbeatable. The staff arranged everything for us from airport transfer, dinner reservations and excursions. Nothing is too much trouble. Location is perfect for visiting all of Krakow. Rooms are quaint and we requested an inner court superior room to not have any noise (advisable) and were not disappointed. We will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conkers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This little hotel was a great place to spend the night. It's not badly priced (300zl a night) for the location (right next to the cathedral). You can hear the trumpeter if you leave the window open. If you are new to Krakow, you can walk to pretty much all the sights from this location.

The decor is wonderful (16th century frescoes surround a wooden staircase that takes you up to
the room).

Rooms have WiFi and also come with a coffee maker. The street can be noisy with the windows open (drunken British stag parties) but the room is quiet if they are closed.

Other reviewers are correct that the staff is overworked but they are also super friendly and helpful. They arranged a cab for me twice AND arranged for me to get out to my very early flight on time. I wish I had stayed longer so I could hang out in the little cafe on the ground floor.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough! The location makes it a PERFECT hotel for anyone travelling to Krakow. It's close to the station and literally 2 doors away from the Main Square.
The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and you can listen to some Tango rhythms in the rooms! A delightfully stylish place, offering the best value for money, location and hospitality.
But the best bit: my boyfriend left his phone charger behind a little table in the room. I phoned them the next day (from another city) and asked if it would be ok to post the charger. Not only it wasn't a problem, they posted it to London, immediately and free of charge! I am very impressed and will definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The best part about this charming B&B is the location, you are literally around the corner from the main market square and can walk to anywhere within the old town (Wawel castle is just 20min walk) you really cannot put a price on that convenience especially when on a short city break (we were there for only 3 days)

The stay did not get off to a great start though, we had booked a car from the airport through Tango House but after waiting for 15 mins once through arrivals we realized it was not going to show and took a taxi from outside the terminal. We did mention it on arrival

Check-in was quick and we got to a room (Room 3), we paid a little extra for the superior room so had lots of nice space in the twin room overlooking the street. It is true that the street below, although small and what some would consider a side street is actually pretty rowdy and people could be heard outside well up to 4am, neither of us are soft sleepers so it was not a big deal but others may not enjoy it

My main issue was the noise from the toilet, i appreciate it is an old building but the pump connected to the water system was absolutely awful, after flushing you are treated to 10 mins of loud rumbling and humming, annoying in the daytime but during the night it is a sure fire way to wake up whoever you're staying with! We did mention it after the first night and the handyman came up the next day but it did not really make much of a difference

The girls at the B&B were friendly, if we had questions they were happy to answer

The room itself was nice (bathroom noise aside) and it was nice to stay in a building with character so close to the action, again the location for me justifies the price

When in Krakow make sure you take up the Freewalkingtour.com tour that leaves from outside St Mary's cathedral, the guides are great and it really is time well spent

My other tip would be to visit the House of Beer just round the corner from Tango House, 150 beers on site, i had a delicious polish honey beer yum!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I agree with others here on TA that you are really paying for location. The rooms are clean and the building very interesting with the history. The girls that work the reception are awesome very attentive, but they seem to do everything which at times is impossible even though they are really trying. In one of our rooms (we had two) the water was not working upon arrival, the maintanence man came soon after and fixed it and we were given a package of cookies for the trouble. It was a nice gesture. My room was at the front of the building so it was very loud every night due to the night club across the way. That was not an issue in our other room as it was an interiour room. The rooms were clean and basic, which suited us fine, but there were no smoke detectors which is a real hazard in a building of this age made of wood. Also the keys were crazy, four keys to get into your room and sometimes they did not really want to work. Again, a hazard if you needed to get out quickly because you have to use these keys coming and going. The location was awesome and I would highly recommend a little place on the square for drinks. They have outdoor seating on the north side of the square. It is called Kurant. It is really an art gallery that sells music and books too, but they have a little bar. The waitress was the sweetest person in Krakow (blond curly hair). Get the grasvodka with apple juice!

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakkinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Tango Hotel is a gem hidden behind the walls of old Town of Krakow. The room we had was large with modern amenities but the passage leading to the room was steeped in history. Fresco paintings on the curving staircase revealed some of the former glory of the 15th century building. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, even offering to make us a snack to take on our way to the airport, as we would miss breakfast on our last day. Ideal location close to the Market Square. Walking distance to excellent cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: courtyard facing rooms may be quitter than the street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
908 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#11 of 259 in Krakow
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 259 in Krakow
967 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
659 reviews
Bracka 6
#1 of 418 in Krakow
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szpitalna 4 Street, Krakow 31-024, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tango House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a 16-century townhouse (Kraków's first public bathhouse), we are just around the corner from the famous Main Market Square. Our dedicated staff will work hard to make your stay truly enjoyable - we look forward to seeing you at Tango House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tango House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango House Bed And Breakfast
Tango House Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing