We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fond memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostalgia - CLOSED

Nostalgia
Cuisines: Polish, European, Central European, Soups, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fond memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having been brought up on Polish food courtesy of my father who was Polish it brought a lot of childhood memories flooding back. This is the best restaurant in all of Krakow and I shall certainly be returning when all my family come back to Krakow for another visit in 2013.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here. Service and food were both top-notch. Interior of restaurant was cozy and attractive. About 5-10 minute walk from the Amber Hotel on Karmelika St.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2travelgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second visit in three days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A great little find through tripadvisor. Fantastic menu which is real value for money. Try the beef loin with black pepper sauce or the duck in plum brandy sauce. The house red wine is very drinkable. Particularly enjoyed the cherry tart.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m0apc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Friendly waiter, most helpful...
Large potions of really good food (I had 2 full fillets of Sole) beautifully cooked.
House wine recommended
Good choice of Polish and other cuisine

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank janzie19st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious taste of Poland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant the first night we were in Krakow. It was a great place to go to get a taste of the authentic food. We had a three course meal. The first course was a soup which had eggs and sausage in it. I know it sounds gross but it was really good, especially with the bread and butter they had on the table. There were two types of bread and both were excellent. The second course was the main one which consisted of several different types of Polish food. I don't know what they were all called but one was perogies, a spinach and meat type. See the pictures below to better examine the food. Although I do not know what all of it was called it all tasted delicious! The final course was dessert. The dessert was cranberries on a graham cracker crust with something like sweetened condensed milk drizzled over it. It was amazing. There was also some kind of juice on the table in pitchers, the waitress said it was apple juice but it tasted more like carrots. It was an experience though. The food here was something I would recommend people try to see what authentic Polish food is like. This wonderful dinner all took place in a more formal stone room with dim lighting. It would be a perfect romantic setting or in our case the perfect place for friends to have dinner and converse.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_Barnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalgia also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing