We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Secret Garden Hostel
Ranked #66 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Krakow for a long weekend so the stay in The Secret Garden was not long. Yet, I believe I can say that the hostel is really amazing - wonderfull staff, great rooms (we were actually in an apartment as we wanted some privacy) and delicious simple breakfast. The location is perfect for walking through the Jewish Quarter to the city centre. I fully recommend staying there!

Room Tip: If you prefer privacy, choose an apartment, which is next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomajzlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 427 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The Secret Garden Hostel is brilliant! The service is superb. The reception are very knowledgable about the tram system and can easily explain how to get around using the trams. However with the hostel being only 15-20min walk from the city centre and the main square you do not need to use the trams. Only to get to the main train station. The reception girls can speak great English and are available 24hrs a day. The rooms are clean and the beds are good for a hostel. You get towels which is a bonus!!! The toilets and showers a great and there is heaps of them. The breakfast has cereal, toast, with a selection of spreads, tea and coffee, orange juice, a selection of cheese and ham and a cup of yogurt. There is free WiFi available pretty much every were. They have a common room but it is a little small, there isn't a bar but there are plenty just up the street. I highly recommend staying at The Secret Garden Hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyKombiandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

First time staying in a hostel and was travelling with two other girls so was a bit nervous about what to expect.

Absolutely perfect. Rooms big and very clean. lots of bathrooms so didnt have to wait. helpfull staff.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff were very very pleasant and nothing was too.much trouble. Everything was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was included in the price although it was simple - tea coffee toast cereals hams and cheese or yogurt there was plenty.of.it and the young lady on.reception constantly replenished it.It was very close to be able to explore the centre of Krakow (which.is fabulous ) and also to visit the Jewish. Quarters. Food.in the area was cheap and plentiful. . Many different trips could be arranged by reception including a taxi . I would recommend the hostel- definitely not.over the.top but comfortable and clean .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria14Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's in Kazimierz district of Krakow, which is very conveniently located. Close to the river, only 15minute walk to the city centre, and has a buzzing night life nearby as well if that's what you're looking for. Also excellent reach for public transport. The hostel is well equipped for all your needs. Breakfast was ok. Rooms are spacious enough, with cupboards to hang your clothes in. Bathroom was shared, but clean, and working in order.

Although my booking was fine, we have booked 3 nights with my friends as well to this hostel. My friend booked it in March (for September staying). They managed to messed up our booking, and sent us to a very basic, accommodation (hall of residence) not far from the hostel. We haven't receive any e-mail that our booking is messed up. We've been told on the day we've arrived. When the staff asked how is our other accommodation, we expressed our dislikes, somehow they weren't as friendly towards us. Although we could go back for breakfast, that wasn't really making it up for the situation they've put us in. They need to communicate better with clients, and accept it when they messing up bookings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kabigabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Clean, secure, great location, great value, friendly staff, everything works as it should.
Cheaper than other hostels nearby which do not come close to this standard!
I had a private room which was better than most 3 star hotels!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark25252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you don't mind the cheerful ambience of a hostel, but value cleanliness, privacy and a quiet night's sleep, then spend your £26 (price for a twin room, decent breakfast included) here. The Secret Garden is on a quiet street, not too far from the market square and much closer to the castle, river and cosmopolitan food outlets of the Jewish quarter, including the best Sicilian pizza for 8 zlotis you'll ever eat!
Shared washrooms might bother some, but wasn't a problem for us. Separate toilets and shower room would improve access and earn 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxMassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Ibis Budget Krakow Stare Miasto
Hostel Faust
#199 of 261 in Krakow
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#15 of 261 in Krakow
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Hostel

Address: ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow 31-066, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#18 Family Hotel in Krakow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $32 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Secret Garden Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Secret Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Krakow
Secret Garden Hostel Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing