We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of Farina Restaurant

Farina Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 1,567 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Polish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Description: Fish is the base of Farina's menu as well as the flour. That is why they appear on our restaurant's logo. Both are not only healthy but also very useful for thousands of intriguing dishes. Flour, on our logo represented with a sack, symbolizes pasta, ravioli, delicate rolls prepared in our kitchen as well as traditional Polish dumplings. These fresh, natural ingredients influenced by temperamental and passionate culinary interpretation gain a unique character and inspire the cooks to try extra ordinary combinations.We are trying our best to develop the taste of Polish cuisine by adding new ingredients and culinary compositions which are unusual for it. For that reason Farina serves also seafood: oysters, shrimps, bivalves, crabs and octopus. This is precisely our own idea of cuisine in Farina Restaurant.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We didn't have a bad meal during the week we spent in Krakow, and the wonderful meal we had in this restaurant was one of the best. It's tucked away but close to the centre, and easy to find. The room we were seated in (I think there was another one as well) is the one shown in the photo above. It's elegant and spacious and, unlike some restaurants, the tables aren't packed in so that the diners feel cramped. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. Probably slightly more expensive than the average for Krakow, but well worth it (and of course, being from the UK, it seemed a bargain to us!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0anDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    179
    43
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would I just fly to Krakow from the UK just to eat in this restaurant, yes if I could afford it! it”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our first time in Poland. Krakow is lovely - whatever your outlook or age group. We were told there are more restaurants and bars per square metre in Krakow than anywhere else in the World. How are we going to get to any of them now we have tried Farina. The lady chef presents simple top class meals that impress with every mouthful. The staff are very helpful. The white table cloths are spotless ( as they should be ). The ambience is pleasing and everything is unpretentious yet special. Polish prices are much less than UK. Even the cheapest meal, dumplings ( a home made ravioli ) , at about £4, will rank highly in star ratings alongside the most expensive meals.Try the duck with pears or seafood Paella. Coconut and prawn with coriander soup is very tasty. My wife is vegetarian and one of her courses was Goats cheese in filo pastry with a very good salad and she loved it. Try the Chestnut segafredo or the fresh vanilla creme brulee to finish. We've eaten there with friends two days running so far. People of all ages dine here and you can see they enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastenderRosebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another great mussels season and so much more”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Contrary to the previous review: we are locals and on behalf of many Cracovians I can confirm Farina is one of our favourite and most visited restaurants in town. Only this month we've visited it a couple of times and were very happy to welcome the new seasonal mussels menu, as great as ever (with some variations for the "regulars" like us, to prevent us from any kind of boredom). But even if there are no usual black mussels (like Mondays usually), or you do not fancy fish, everything else is also fantastic. Yesterday we've had a variation of St. Jacque’s and I must say the last time I had equally soft and tasty must have been in Old Jaffa (!), then my favourite prawns in honey and chili sauce (it's so delicious the hardest part is to decide whether you want them for starter or for desert), followed by a vegetable green pasta (homemade) with pine nuts. Very enjoyable and delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UlaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Don't go to Krakow for Seafood”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am almost always disappointed when a hotel clerk recommends a restaurant to me. The problem is that they try to recommend a restaurant that they assume a tourist would like. That is, food like the tourist would find at home. We were tired and it was too late to make an other reservation, so we went to Farina

Farina is located on a corner just two blocks from the Main Town square. The dining room is elegant with white walls and tablecloths. We arrived at 7pm on a Saturday evening and found only a handful of diners: all tourists. We were not that hungry but ordered a couple of appetizers and a bottle of white wine. Thankfully, our frito misto ( mixed fried fish) did contain small whole bait fish along with calamari and shrimp. But you could tell at first bite that the fish was a couple of days old ( it's a long way from the Ocean, remember?) . Frankly, I don't remember our other two appetizers but our reaction was similar.

While we were preparing to leave, I talked with a fellow American tourist from Ohio who was trying to make a selection from the offering of tired and dull whole fish on display. I wished him luck. Our bill was amongst the highest during our stay in Poland

Farina may, in fact, be the best seafood restaurant in Krakow. But my advice is: stick with the traditional regional specialties.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crakow shows its value”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a delightful place to eat, conveniently close to the city centre and within walking distance of most tourist hotels in the old town. We booked in advance so had no problem getting a table. It was reasonably rather than completely full with customers who appeared to be locals rather than tourists like us. The room itself is somewhat unnecesarily 'neoclassical' with columns and fluted decoration but there's a comfortable space between diners so large parties (of which there were a couple) and more intimate groups are equally comfortable. Service was courteous and very efficient - and there were no language problems. The menu is wide-ranging enough to satisfy most tastes although fish dominates. Maybe it was a little safe - seafood platters and mussels with tomatoes are hardly ground-breaking - but our dishes were fresh, well cooked, nicely presented, very promptly delivered and very flavoursome. Mussel shells were quietly removed mid course and we were well looked after in terms of wine service. We were very pleasantly surprised by the bill even though it included dessert, wine and water. It was excellent value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britannicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farina Restaurant also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Farina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing