We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb self catering restaurant "a hidden gem"”
Review of U Babci Maliny

U Babci Maliny
Ranked #138 of 1,567 Restaurants in Krakow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“superb self catering restaurant "a hidden gem"”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

this place is well and truly hidden but very very nice if you can find it, a sign was outside at 17 slawkowska just off the main square,but you then think this can't be right as there is no sign of a restaurant, but just opne the door of the building walk into past the concierge and out the back into a court yard, there will then be another little sign so follow that one go down the stairs and then you are there, a truly kitsch and wonderfully unique polish self catering restaurant with wooden benches and tables, all nationalites eat here, the woman speaks good english and the food is great excellent value for money. some people know this place as granny raspberrys,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank molly1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    431
    144
    61
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little bit of home polish”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited here after going to its sister restaurant on a previous visit krakow. This may not be everybody's cup often but this is polish food at its bare bones. This is traditional simple home cooked food, cheap and I am told well known in the polish community but not as much by tourists, although we saw a few. This one and the sister restaurant are both off the beaten track so make sure you have the address before you go.
This is a milk bar, so keep an open mind! It is very much like a home cooked McDonald's, self service and cheap. You order through a little hatch and provided a ticket with a number, when the number is called or shown on the screen then you go and collect from the same hatch and take a seat on the communal benched tables. The interior is quaint and quirky with a grandma house feel, and since the name is after grandma this is no surprise. If you do visit be kind and pop your used dishes in the cleaning hatch.
The dishes are not these spectacular fancy dishes but delicious simple home cooked food and dirt cheap prices and dish size is huge as well. This is an ideal place for a quirky bit of traditional polish culture and a novelty experience. Apparently many of these dotted in krakow however I saw very few but if its anything like this one they are very tucked away which makes them keep their traditional appeal and less tourist attraction.

Helpful?
Thank CatAdsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money and a lot of variety”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

U Babci Maligny is a self-service restaurant. In order to get there, you must cross the courtyard and go down the stairs. You will have indications of itinerary when you will be at 17 Ulica Slawkowska. Once you arrive at this restaurant, the first impression you have in your mind is " Kitschy... but charming at the same time." All the decorations brings you in another world.

If you want to order your food, you must go to the bar counter. You will have menus in English or in Polish. If you don't speak in Polish, don't worry : you can point on the English menu what you want. You pay your meal and get a number for your order. They will call you when it's ready or will show the number of your order via a board. You go to the counter to get your meal.

Tonight, for the dinner, my boyfriend ordered a stuffed pork with mashed potatos and carrots, and a coke. I ordered a pork gulash and potatoes, and a coke. It cost in total 51,50 zloties (12 euros). It's a good value for money and you have a huge meal. You can a lot of variety for the sides, Personnaly, I can't finish it. My boyfriend ate the rest of my meal at the end.

If you travel with a tigh budget and you want to eat Polish food, you should go to this restaurant. Enjoy !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbly_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the most amazing restaurant we have ever been to. Incredible PIEROGI, amazing steak, fabulous man playing piano music. The waitresses were very happy to recommed all specialities on the menu.

We havent spent a lot taking consideration that the restaurant is in the Old Town of Krakow.Amazing experience for couples for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdO352QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing traditional polish food”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

There are two restaurant of this owner in Krakow,one on Slawkowska street which is self service place where you order at the counter,pay and when you finish you return plates to other window,no table service. Other place on Szpitalna street is devided by same self service on ground and first floor and proper restaurant downstair. It is same food,downstairs a bit more expensive cause you have table service. Downstairs restaurant decor is a bit pretentious and clutter for me,personally i prefer to eat in self service area,all in all i go there for food not for service or decor,of course when you want romantic dinner downstairs would be my choice. Over year i've been eating there many times,there was never problem witth food,everything is served perfect and delicious, personal favourite-beetroot soup,pierogi(ravioli) with meat and placki hungarian style(which is kind of potatoe rosti served with pork goulash,hmmm,amazing). My favourite place in Krakow.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLuuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Babci Maliny also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to U Babci Maliny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing