We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved Raspberry Grandma”
Review of U Babci Maliny

U Babci Maliny
Ranked #120 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“loved Raspberry Grandma”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we were recommended to eat here by our Auschwitz tour guide and he dropped us off at the door. It's close to the main square but half the price and has great food.
The decor is interesting and the interior spotless.
the top level appears to be for quick meals but we headed downstairs to a delightful eating area, just like grandmas with knickknacks everywhere. The meals arrived quickly and were delicious.
my only complaint was the drink service. It was a quiet night but once we received our meal and first drink it took some time, and a visit to get the waitress, to order more.
But certainly try this restaurant if you would like something different and very Polish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    411
    137
    60
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

After nearly two weeks in Krakow we thought we had exhausted all the little traditional cooking, good value restaurants. Thankfully we found this in the nick of time before heading home. It's tucked away, hidden from sight so you need to know where to look for it.

Once inside, yes it could be said that it's a bit gimmicky, but it all adds to the experience I think. Grab a menu, order at the bar then weight for your number to be called. The food is really delicious. I would advice to try the 'recommended' meals from then menu, superb. But the pierogi and apple pancakes are equally delicious.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatBarnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty inexpensive fare!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My hotel's staff recommended this one. A small modest inexpensive restaurant. I had a stuffed cabbage with ample "hunter" sauce (the former what you'd expect, the latter delicious and meaty) and an enormous serving of mashed potato, plus a half liter of beer, all for just under $6. Wow, what a value! My meal was enhanced by joining a table of friendly international students in Krakow for the summer to study Polish. Altogether a most pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigEasyTraveler-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“lovely lunch :)”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

went here based on family recommendation and tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.
restaurant is lovely and I guess looks like babcias house (grandmas house) with crochet tableclothes and nick nacks around.
we werent too hungry and already had 3 days of plentiful Polish food so we just had soup. one of us had mushroom soup and the other ziurek (rye soup) - both served in a round loaf of bread - both were delicious.
service was fine and we would definitely go again to try some other dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wishIcouldretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in ethnic interiour - do not miss!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Whenever I visit Krakow (at least once a year) this is one of the places I always stop by. The food is very authentic, absolutely delicious and fantastic value for money.
You'll be very hard pressed to find a better place to eat the old town of Krakow, it's near the Train and Bus stations.
If you have any space left after your meal here (or elsewhere :) do try their nalesniki (Polish crepes) - they are divine!! Even if I've eaten my main meal elsewhere I will always come here to at least have the dessert.
If you're coming to Krakow do not miss a visit "At Grandma Malina's"!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TigressLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Babci Maliny also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to U Babci Maliny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing