We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under the Angels: food, cadles, nice ...”
Review of Pod Aniolami

Pod Aniolami
Ranked #24 of 1,567 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Description: Restaurant Pod Aniolami - Under the Angels" is an extraordinary place. Some people say there are indeed angels in its Gothic cellars... The Restaurant, a laureate of many 1 st awards and distinctions, invites you to original, unforgettable and unique banquets. The place is far-famed for its marinated meats, grilled over beech hardwood fire and other old Polish dishes. The restaurant's historical 13th century interiors and brilliant cuisine based on Polish culinary traditions will make you soak up the atmosphere of the Medieval Kings' City of Cracow. At "Under the Angels" time stood still and one can still find the ambience of old Cracow here. Beautiful interiors and excellent cuisine attract renowned guests from all over the world. On the 1st floor, we invite you to The Chamber of Wawel Castle's Comptroller where during private banquets one can admire 18th century polychromes. There is also a charming year-round open garden with a mosaic fountain to which one can always drop a coin wishing to come back to this unusual place. The restaurant is located in a 13th century building at The Royal Route, leading to Wawel King's Castle. For over three hundred years the building was the residence of Cracow's goldsmiths who also had their workshops there. Today, the Skarbiec Gallery, next to the restaurant, offers artistic jewellery made by leading Polish artists.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Under the Angels: food, cadles, nice ...”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I really enjoy atmosphere in this nice traditional and romantic restaurant, you will also find very tasty traditional food and drinks. Please remember to make a prebooking for example via e-mail to assure you will have a table at the day and time you need it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nata78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    470
    118
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our choir (party of 21) pre-arranged online to have dinner in this "must see" restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The set menu was pre-agreed to include wines and prices and we were given a spectacular private room - The Burgraver's Room - with 18th century polychromy. Our table was arranged in a large square around a huge arrangement of scented lilys in the centre of the floor. Our main dish - whole roasted lamb - was 'drummed' into the room and flambéd by the chef to our delight! Everything was carved and served from an ante-room directly into our dining room so it was piping hot. We had an assortment of soups and canapés to begin and a cheesecake for dessert which the chef kindly agreed to inscribe for us with a personal message - a great surprise which was also heralded into the room by the staff - alight with sparklers! The staff were attentive and friendly and everyone was served quickly and efficiently. We had an early'sh bus to catch that night as we were performing the next day and the staff helped us settle the bill very quickly. One of our party left a favourite pashmina shawl behind her and the staff kindly agreed to send it to her in the post without hesitation. The ambience and grandeur of the room, combined with the friendliness of the service and the quality of the food and wine, made this night a truly memorable night for all of us. Treat yourself and go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcin P, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Aniolami, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and sincere words.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine food at a good value.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Eating in Krakow is on the inexpensive side. I had a very nice meal at this restaurant, consisting of several courses, plus wine, mineral water, and tip, for about $35. Hard to beat the price for the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigEasyTraveler-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Dined here with my partner and had a very enjoyable evening both starters and main courses were good and the house wine very enjoyable, I would recommend booking as this place is very popular

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victor3129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Interesting meal, not great.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is an interesting place, with many dining areas mostly in the cellars. Watch the steps in and out.
Decor is very nice and varied. Staff are very professional, and enthusiastic.
My wife's meal was very good (pork shaslik), but my wild boar for main was VERY dry - not nearly in the same category.
Wine list was OK, and well priced.
Overall, this was Ok but I had the suspicion that this is now just another restaurant with so many tourists, that the standards have dropped.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod Aniolami also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Pod Aniolami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing