We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan food at its best”
Review of Momo

Momo
Ranked #271 of 1,549 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Kazimierz
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Kazimierz
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegan food at its best”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Never tried vegan food that was as good as this one ! Friendly, open minded restaurant with outstanding food, drinks ... Try 'Masala Dosa' (east south indian kind of pancake) It blows my mind !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    42
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“To-go place for vegetarians (and those who want more veggies in their diet)”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is one of my favorite vegetarian places in Poland. It's Indian-inspired cuisine, but more like fusion. They offer a very good selection od soups, salads, sides, main courses, tea, dessert, drinks. Everything I had there was very tasty. Most recently I savored multigrain pancakes with tofu and spinach with my favorite peanut sauce. The panckaes with beets are a good choice, too. Pretty much anything you order is really good. The prices are just right. It's a good place to come with friends, or come solo. The interior could be refreshed a bit, but hey, at least I know this place has been there for a while and the walls show the passage of time. Most importantly, it's a great place for vegetarians and those trying to keep semi kosher in Krakow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BZtraveler_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing vegan food!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant/cafe is an amazing find on the edge of the Kazimierz district. The menu is chalked up on a board as some of it changes daily. There is an english version of the menu printed for the items which are static. That said the girl behind the counter was very helpful and spoke good English.
All of the main dishes on the printed menu were vegan. We had the Masala Dosa which is a south indian pancake stuffed with herbed potatoes and served with sambar soup and spicy peanut sauce. The portion size was good, it tasted fantastic and was extremely filling. With drinks the meal cost less than £5 each. If we had had more time we would definitely have returned again and thoroughly recommend this place for vegetarians and vegans.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amarretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Tibetan/Indian-inspired Food with one Caveat...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited Momo four times during this last week's stay in Krakow awaiting a visa. I'm not a vegetarian these days, but after living in Ukraine for a while I was craving veggies.

Most menu items are served from the hot bar behind the counter. Some, like momos, are made to order. Everything I tried (well, with the small exception of the veggie curry that was definitely jarred Korma - I know the stuff well!) was great. The salads, although I never tried any, look great.

One thing you need to know about the place is that the menu changes every day. The English printed menu however does not. So you look it over excitedly and then order the tofu and spinach such and such and they tell you they're out of tofu, so you try the veggie such and such and they tell you they're out of mixed vegetables, and you wonder how this is possible at a veg restaurant. It turns out the chef has picked up seitan or tempeh instead of tofu on that day and cooked up a vegan version of the classic Polish dish Bigos. You try it and love it. As long as you realize the main dishes vary, you won't be disappointed. And in fact if you're a regular, it's a big draw for the place.

Drinks are good too. I had been craving Indian caj for months and was delighted to see this on the menu, and even more delighted by the generous portion served to me. They also have an awesome home-made banana lassi with ginger and bottled birch juice. Fresh juice of the day was carrot all three days I came, so can't really comment on that.

The atmosphere is relaxed, you clear your own dishes and mess and take it to a window. Hippie types are common. The girls at the counter speak great English and vary from helpful and friendly to so friendly they forget they have work to do to stop and chat with you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjoeriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value food and experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a lovely restaurant. Very unassuming from the street, once inside it is quite "hostellish" - no frills but the food is delicious and the staff are so helpful. They have everything up on a chalk board in Polish but also have an English menu to help you out. The staff explained everything to me. The meal was very tasty and filling, I went for the "Thali" which comprised of a serving of black beans in a sauce, another of spinach and some of potatoes and vegetables in a sauce. All lovely and very healthy. My boyfriend opted for dumplings which were cooked freshly to order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeaselH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momo also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing