We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed excellence”
Review of Kawaleria

Kawaleria
Ranked #146 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed excellence”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were delighted to be able to make a late booking for a sizeable group and to be able to eat in the delightful courtyard/garden for a late lunch on a lovely afternoon before flying home. The service was absolutely perfect - attentive, without being intrusive; helpful without being pushy; prompt without being rushed (a complaint of ours elsewhere in Poland). The atmosphere was exactly what we wanted - totally relaxed; out of reach of the crowd noise in the Rynek, but just a few steps away in an nearby street. The food was commended by all ten of us with particular support for the sorrel soup and the duck. If I lived in Krakow, I would want to be a regular diner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aderynglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    87
    22
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mantsala, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - garden”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice backyard I haven't seen for a long time. Flowers, few tables and silence - feel relaxed. Food is excellent and not pricy, what was the biggest surprice for us. I recommend buckwheat- spinach pancakes, really worth to try. Professional service, good atmosphere and interesting menu with 'Polish food with fantasy'. Will surely come back when next time in Cracow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at Good Prices”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the best place we ate at in Krakow, gorgeous vines grow around the courtyard, very good cheap house wine and excellent quality food befitting a restaurant in the Michelin Guide. Cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoSpud78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pleasant outdoor garden”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate outside in the garden on a very hot night, but it was cool and pleasant at Kawaleria. It was our first night in Poland so we were anxious to try local specialties. Kawaleria did not disappoint. The ambiance was quiet, the food was excellent and the service was wonderful. Located not far from the central square. Don't miss!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

food is amazing,, i mean.. i have been eating in many places in Krakow and that is one of them i will keep coming back.. service.. very good.. nice people, helpful people. its a beautiful place in heart of the Krakow where you can just chill..perfect place for the weddings- charming place, and any other occasions. i am one of the hundreds happy customer- highly recommended. go and try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica-Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawaleria also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Kawaleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing