We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not worth money...”
Review of Hotel Rubinstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rubinstein
Ranked #76 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Me and my girlfriend have decided to visit Kraków during the first weekend of May. We had an opportunity to stay at Rubinstein Hotel for a special price, so we decided to give it a try.

The hotel is located in Kazimierz - the old Jewish district of Kraków at Szeroka street which means wide street - it is really wide :-) It looks like a little square. It is lovely place! Lots of restaurants, gardens, hotels and tourists. There is even a police station. Hotel's building has been completely renovated what you can see at hotel's website. They did a really good work. It looks great! Double room rate is over $210 USD which is very expensive. That's almost the same as in five star Sheraton.

We got room number 105 at the first floor. It was very small. Not at all in comparison with official pictures from the website. Hopefully the room had air condition, comfortable double bed, little desk with a chair, little LCD TV with a few poor quality channels, fridge with extremely expensive alcohol miniatures (I really can't understand why most of hotels don't want guests to use mini bar?) , slippers, sewing kit. No restaurant menu, no welcome fruits or wine. The bathroom was also very small, but designed very nice! Especially automatic fancy floor light :-) There were some free cosmetics in the bathroom. Shampoo, bar of soap, body balm, but no shower get at all which was disappointing. This room had a view to Starowiślana street. It is rather noisy street as there is a tram track, so you hear passing trams all the time since the very morning...

A the top on the building (the 5th floor) there is jacuzzi, little GYM, sauna and a nice terrace. We had a chance to have the jacuzzi only for both of us :-)

The breakfast is served near the lobby bar. I must say that we were VERY VERY disappointed with it. Usually breakfast in a hotel is one of the best things. Especially in four stars hotel. There is a cold buffet with some meats, cheese and vegetables. Tea and coffee booth (NO lemon and NO sweetener!). Milk, some fruit juices. Hot items were on a'la carte basis. Mainly eggs (scrambled, hard boiled etc.) and some sausages and frankfurters. I have ordered my favorite scrambled eggs with beacon and chive. i got some chopped ham almost with no eggs, PLENTY of black pepper and a large piece of fresh chive. Not tasty at all! I also ordered frankfurters - they tasted like the lowest quality ones. Really awful! Unfortunately there were also no fresh newspapers everyday (maybe because of weekend). We haven't tried the restaurant.

The service was fine. The staff very gentle and friendly, so I can't complain.

It is really nice and good quality hotel, but they need to improve some things to be the best. If you had an opportunity to stay there for half price - it's worth a try! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alojzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rubinstein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 415 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2009

Just stayed at the Rubinstein for a weekend with husband and 14 year old daughter. Our room was ready on arrival and was a front facing room overlooking the square. It was huge and made a great change from squeezing around a 3rd bed. The bathroom was well equipped with lovely fixtures and the funky lighting was a highlight for my teenager!
We walked up to the Main Square in about 15 leisurely minutes at various times of day and it was pleasant. Also visited Galleria Kazimierz which is a large shopping mall about 5-10 minutes walk the other way from the hotel.
The first night we ate at the hotel and the restaurant was SUPERB. The meal was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious - this chef is good. The breakfasts were fresh and tasy - both the cold selection and the hot eggs orders too.
The 2nd night we ate across the square at another restaurant, as we felt the ambiance in the Jewish Quarter was so convivial and safe, rather than heading back to the main Square where no doubt it would have been lively with more stag weekenders (as it had seemed to be lively at mid-day).
We sat out on the Saturday evening after dinner at the hotel tables in the square and enjoyed the atmosphere. The hotel is currently offering 10% off meal bills if you are a resident. Service was excellent throughout from the reception to the restaurant + bar staff.
The hotel had so much character and has been wonderfully restored. It was so nice not to feel like you were in a "chain" style hotel.
We are not Jewish, however I wish we had done a Jewish tour of the area on the Friday as obviously Saturdays are not possible and we were leaving for the airport on Sunday morning.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireWildthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We had a great weekend at The Rubinstein Hotel - the rooms are very nice, bathrooms superb and so clean. Our only "complain" was the noise from the trams right outside our room. Started at 0430 am. So ask for a room at the frontside. Breakfast is delicious - they are making omelets etc. at your request. Also all types of coffee and tea, fruit, yourhurt and so on.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. There are a lot of restaurants at the front square and just a short walk (10 min) to the old town. We loved it, and hope to go back. Krakow city is very beatiful, the Salt mines and the Maria Churh is a must. We used taxi - remeber to ask for price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrammenDrammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I have just returned with my daughter from a 4 night stay at the Rubinstein Hotel. What a wonderful hotel - fantastic service, beautiful food (plenty of it), good sized bedrooms with a beautiful bathroom, great location and all located in a lovely city. There are lovely restaurants close by and you are only about 10-15 minutes walk to the centre of the town. There are a lot of roadworks just now in and around this area but do not let that put you off. Krakow off is a wonderful city to visit and the Hotel Rubinstein is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Wonderful hotel right in the Old Jewish Quarter. The room (for 3 of us) was huge with three very comfortable single beds. The bathroom was lovely and everything was spotless. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us maps and tour leaflets when we checked in.

The breakfast was really good with a cold buffet and also a selection of hot dishes all included in the price.

There are quite a few restaurants and a couple of nice bars very close to the hotel and the main square is around a 15 - 20 minute stroll.

Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeenaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Rubinstein. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Our room was spacious and well equipped with huge shower, wooden panelled ceiling, flat screen TV etc. We made use of the jacuzzi on the top floor and the staff were so helpful. The breakfast choice was huge- we didn't eat lunch at all! Also I noticed there were fresh flowers all around the hotel on a daily basis which was a nice touch.

The location is in a lovely square and there are a dozen restaurants nearby. You could easily walk to the castle and we used the trams a few times to get to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank uglybettyCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Kazimierz where the Hotel Rubinstein is situated is the heart of the Jewish quarter of Krakow, about half a mile from Wawel castle and just under a mile from the main market square. It is on a wide cobbled street, with no through traffic, so is fairly quiet athough there are lots of bars, restaurants and cafes nearby. We certainly found no noise from the nightclub, even though we were in room 303 directly overlooking the front of the hotel. It was a huge room with large comfortable double bed and the bathroom had a bath with a shower overhead.

We were amazed at how luxurious it all felt, as we paid only 128 Euros per night for 2 people including breakfast and free internet access. This is outstanding value for money.

The staff all spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. For breakfast you could have omelettes or pancakes as well as the usual fruits, cheeses and cooked meats, also delicious pastries. We had dinner one night - the standard of the cooking was exceptional, far superior to that of the other nearby restaurants we also sampled. The vodka menu is extensive!
Make sure you ask for your dinner to be put on your room bill, as there is a discount for residents.

We though the Jewish quarter had a really "villagey" feel about it, a nice friendly area to stay, although some people might prefer to be a bit nearer the market square.

We find it difficult to believe that there is a hotel in Krakow which could be better value for money than the Rubinstein.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 60yearsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,300 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,625 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#27 of 261 in Krakow
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 261 in Krakow
1,836 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubinstein

Address: ul. Szeroka 12, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#42 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#53 Business Hotel in Krakow
#60 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $65 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubinstein 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubinstein is a place with many faces. It combines functions of a restaurant, accommodation, as well as a conference and artistic center. Hotel Rubinstein offers its guest 28 comfortably appointed rooms: 4 single rooms, 10 standard double rooms, 9 deluxe double rooms and 5 exclusive suite apartments. All the interiors characterize a typical for Hotel Rubinstein boutique character and rich furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rubinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubinstein Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing