We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Hotel Rubinstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rubinstein
Ranked #66 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you want a nice quiet hotel in the Jewish quarter then stay here. It's a small hotel which oozes character. The staff are friendly, the food good and the rooms are nice. It might seem a little cramped in places but that's just part of the lovely "feel" of the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dode k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 427 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Travelled with friends over the Easter period. Initial impression not too good - friends asked for alternative accommodation after being shown to a 4th floor room which had a very small bathroom and an unpleasant odour. Their request was granted immediately and they were relocated to a 1st floor room adjoining ours. After that, everything went smoothly and we enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Good sized bedrooms, comfortable beds, virtually no traffic noise apart from the occasional older tram, great breakfasts, and a restaurant which served quality food. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful regarding excursions, sights etc. The Rubenstein is located in the Jewish Quarter, meaning either a 10 minute walk or a short tram ride into the centre of town, or an even shorter walk to a wide variety of bars and restaurants nearby. We would definitely use this hotel again but probably avoid the Easter period, as most of Krakow virtually closes down for a couple of days.

Room Tip: It may be that our friends were just unlucky but it might be as well to avoid the 4th floor. We can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myfanwy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked our trip to coincide with the Easter weekend, which in hindsight was not that great an idea - nothing to do with the hotel of course but many attractions are closed on Easter Sunday and Monday - doh!
The hotel is very good and in a fantastic position really being in the Jewish quarter or Kazimierz area of Krakow. We popped out to many of the restaurants and bars of the Jewish quarter (see other reviews), which were only minutes away.
The Wavel castle was a 10 minute walk in one direction and the Old Town was a 15-20 minute walk in a slightly different one, so all is accessible from here. Plus trams and taxis are also available and relatively cheap.
The hotel was clean and well decorated throughout, the staff were extremely helpful beforehand with help with the booking, airport transfer and a trip we wanted to take. But equally they were really nice and helpful during our stay. Our room was nice, good even but not quite the same as some of those featured on the website with wooden ceilings or tiled flooring. It was quite large and had all that we needed including heated underfloor heating in the bathroom!
There is a sauna and spa bath / jacuzzi in the hotel but this was not that great as they had to turn the sauna on before use and when I went to use it the temperature was not that hot at all. I would therefore suggest asking the staff to put the sauna on at least an hour before you would like to use it. It is a shame as I was looking forward to a relaxing sauna having spent the day walking around the Old town.
One particular highlight of our stay was breakfast - the food was very fresh and varied each day, although you could have some eggs or sausages cooked to accompany the buffet breakfast the buffet in itself was very generous and tasty.
There one or two very small things that we had to ask for such as bath robes for the sauna, some extra pillows and an extra toilet roll as we only had one with no spare! However, the staff attended to all of our issues very quickly indeed and were very attentive and helpful at all times.
Pluses: location, staff & breakfast
Minuses: room was nice but could have been even better, sauna temperature

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with exposed wooden ceilings as they are very attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garforth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubinstein R, General Manager at Hotel Rubinstein, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank You for your kind review. We all the time try to make your stay the best.
I hope to see you again in Rubinstein Residence :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel Rubinstein manages to mix the best of old Jewish Krakow with wonderful ambiance, service, and amenities. The hotel was constructed from various ancient buildings, retaining their original character, and yet providing rooms that are large, comfortable, spacious, clean and well furnished. Each room has its own very real character, allowing the beauty of the Jewish quarter to seep into the room and hotel experience. The staff were all warm and friendly, providing service with a personal touch. There is no better location possible for those who want to see the historic sights and connect to the authentic memories that are just out the front door of the hotel. If you are planning a visit to Krakow, stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikeBikeSkiGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubinstein R, General Manager at Hotel Rubinstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your kind review.
We hope to see you soon at our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubinstein Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel in the Jewish quarter known as Kazimierz. Arrived back home on the 24th February after a 3 night visit. The hotel was everything that we could have asked for. Rooms very spacious, clean and warm. The staff were all very friendly and very accommodating and spoke very good English. The hotel had a sauna and Jacuzzi but we never used it, with all the things to do we simply did not have enough time. We were booked in for bed and hot breakfast but we only had the continental breakfast as the food was so nice. We visited all the main historical attraction, Schindlers factory, 15 minute walk from the hotel, the Cloth Market and underground museum, which are situated in the main square again 15 minutes from the hotel. We would highly recommend a visit to both. Wawel castle is a must see, look out for the dragon breathing real fire. There are plenty of restaurants and cafe bars. One we would highly recommend is the Pod Wawelem, 26-29 Gertrudy. Outside looks like an old tram but inside the atmosphere is electric and the food is out of this world. Order the chicken on a skewer and see if you can finish it all. We had one between the two of us washed down with one litre glasses of beer. To finish we had coffees, wine and ice cream. The bill came to PLN 83, about £17. We left at midnight and people were still coming in to order food. We found a small restaurant / cafe bar called the Chajim Kohan, Once Upon A Time In Kazimierz. just opposite the hotel. We had drinks in there every evening before heading into the town. This used to be 4 workshops many years ago and is now a fantastic cafe bar with a great local Jewish atmosphere. Try the nut vodka, very nice,
We visited Auschwitz & Birkenau,camps on the Friday. We did the DIY trip and spent only PLN 98, Approx £20 on taxis and trains. The admission to both camps were free. We were glad that we visited the camps but some sites can be disturbing so be prepared.
All in all the 3 nights was not enough to see all that Krakow has to offer and we are already planning a return visit for later this year to the same hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 406 on the top floor (4th) and was great with a view out over the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely hotel in Krakows Jewish quarter. We stayed here after there was a mix up with our original hotel and we were relocated, which was nice because this place was 100% better.
We ended up in a suite which was huge and included 19 chairs and a dining table !
Bathroom was lovely and decorated to high standard
Lovely food in courtyard restaurant and hotel is surrounded by nice bars
10 minute walk to square - lovely place, recommended especially if you get the suite !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 262 in Krakow
1,680 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 262 in Krakow
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#94 of 262 in Krakow
468 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 262 in Krakow
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubinstein

Address: ul. Szeroka 12, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#42 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#53 Business Hotel in Krakow
#60 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubinstein 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubinstein is a place with many faces. It combines functions of a restaurant, accommodation, as well as a conference and artistic center. Hotel Rubinstein offers its guest 28 comfortably appointed rooms: 4 single rooms, 10 standard double rooms, 9 deluxe double rooms and 5 exclusive suite apartments. All the interiors characterize a typical for Hotel Rubinstein boutique character and rich furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rubinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubinstein Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing