We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, in a brilliant location!”
Review of Spatz Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spatz Aparthotel
Ranked #40 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2009

First off, this hotel is located in the best area of Krakow, Kazimierz. It has everything you need. Amazing restuarants and lots of places to indulge in the local beer and vodka! Th rest of Krakow is in general walking distance.
The Aparthotel Spatz is run by friendly staff who give you all the help and info you need. The rooms are very clean and modern....if a little small. The bathroom facilities and shower were excellent, much better standard for this star of hotel! The room we had was a little nosy from the music in the bar below, but that doesn't go on too long - maybe as it was midweek stay. We didn't eat a meal at the MExican downstairs (just ran out of time), but it looked very good. We did have some cocktails at the bar and they went down very nicely.
Step out of the hotel and there are restuarants and bars aplenty. On average it costs about £10-15 per person for a two course meal and drink. This is more than enough with Polish food portions! Avocado across the road did some excellent food, as did the Rubenstein (very fancy) and Starka. But to be honest the general level of quality of the restuarants in the Jewish Quarter is excellent and you'll not be short on choice!
We only had enough time for one days excursion to Autshwitz, and we booked it from the hotel via a company called MCit. Cost around £24 each, and was throroughly worth the cost. You get picked up directly from the hotel in a mini bus and has an english speaking guide. The whole excursion lasted 6 hours and that was more than enought time to take in the atrocities of history. I recommend that everyone makes the trip and it is very humbling!
Travelling to and from the airport is very easy, via the train service. This costs £1.50 per single and only takes 15mins. Its extremely easy, safe and convenient.
Overall, Krakow was a brilliant place to visit. VEry friendly and kind people, with excellent restauarants and places to drink. The cosy and warm lit places at night make it a very romantic city to visit. Definatly worth another vist!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LiKingWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 908 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

Aparthotel Spatz is a small hotel on the edge of the Jewish district of Kazimierz, only a ten minute walk from Krakows Main Square. The rooms were a good size, comfortable and very clean, the bathroom was compact but clean and had a good shower.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant attached, the bar is excellent with a great choice of drinks at a reasonable price, we only ate breakfast at the restaurant which was a buffet of cold meats, cheese and bread, with a full English cooked breakfast available on request at no extra charge.

The location was very good, a five minute walk from Wawel Hill, Ul. Szeroka and Plac Nowy and a ten minute walk to the Rynek Glowny (Main Square). We loved Plac Nowy area for bars as these were frequented by locals rather than tourists and seemed not to have the stag/hen groups of the bars up in the main area of town. Ul. Szeroka was good for food, our favourite being Szara Kazimierz.

I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

The hotel was in a great location for the Jewish quarter and only about 5 -10 mins from the main square. The staff were very friendly and recommended tours and other things to do. The rooms were a nice size with a tv and coffee & tea. The room was a bit noisy on the Saturday night but fine on Sunday night. The breakfast was ok. They offered omlettes and any type of eggs, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal and other bits and bobs. We didn't eat in the Mexican restaurant but the menu looked great. Altogether a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The Spatz is modern, clean and located in the Jewish area of Krakow. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Cloth Hall in the centre of the old town.

The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and a compact but adequate bathroom.

The staff were helpful and very polite and were happy to give recommendations about what to do and where to eat..

The breakfast (included in the cost) was better than expected with eggs cooked to your requirements with toast, bacon, tomatoes and sausages. Plus cereal, ham, cheese etc to choose from.

At night the restaurant (Manzana) is mexican themed and the food is outstanding, very inexpensive and popular with locals. The bar serves cocktails etc, again all at very good prices.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My only issue would be that it is not suitable for the disabled as there are lots of stairs with no lift.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Hotel Spatz is situated on the edge of the Jewish quarter of Krakow, plenty of bars and good standard of restaurants within easy walking distance from hotel, which is well apprecitated after a long day sight seeing.
The hotel was very clean and modern interiors, with an excellent bar area. The rooms were on the small side however well presented and comfortable beds.Breakfast was ample and the staff were very obliging and friendly.
Given the price of this hotel and the situation, I would recommed and return to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Lovely hotel ,location perfect for getting around the city,very helpful and friendly staff.
BUT...There is NO lift and we were on the third floor but was quiet, as the ground floor Mexican themed bar and restaurant can get noisy,there was also no Safety Box amenity and Reception was small but always manned.No air conditioning and the main hotel and rooms were very warm,room service was only available on request and no Residents lounge area,which would have been perfect.
It was a pleasant stay but the above recommendations would have enhanced it no end,not my idea of a 3* more like a 2*!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

my husband and I visited Krakow, Poland for a three day trip, we had never been before so didn't know what to expect. We were surprised how beautiful and historic the place was, the people are so respectful and helpfuland the food was fantastic. The hotel had an amazing bar and restaurant attached to it and the price of food very reasonable. I would definately go back again but next time stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#13 of 261 in Krakow
483 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 261 in Krakow
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 261 in Krakow
1,002 reviews
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#57 of 261 in Krakow
524 reviews
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#67 of 261 in Krakow
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spatz Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spatz Aparthotel

Address: ul. Miodowa 11, Krakow 31-055, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Krakow
#39 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $49 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spatz Aparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spatz is a real jewel of Kazimierz district. It is situated in the historic centre of Cracow in cultural, shopping and business area, surrounded by climatic houses. This is an unforgettable journey to the past. Spatz is a perfect starting point for trips to Oscar Shindler's Factory, former ghetto and old Jewish synagogues. Spatz is one of three boutique hotels in Poland that are part of a world prestigious hotels' chain- Epoque Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spatz Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Spatz Krakow
Aparthotel Spatz Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing