We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and cheap place to stay”
Review of Tara Hostel Krakow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Hostel Krakow
Ranked #77 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed April 17, 2013

i stayed in this hostel in April with my friend for three nights. Ad i got to say we loved it. very good location with a 10 minutes walk to market square and all the bars and restaurants in Kazimierz on the other side of the street. room was clean with the towels. and even breakfast included at the morning. very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjloop85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 69 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hostel is very nice. I didn't read those bad comments about this hostel and I'm glad becouse it has really great location, rooms are very colorful and big, there is WiFi, TV and even breakfast is included in price so there were all that I needed to stay in Krakow and have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Firstly, this is NOT a hotel... It is just a converted block of flats. We arrived to find the main door not even locked. We had to climb to the 3rd floor to get to the "reception", where the staff were more interested in payment than welcoming us.

The rooms themselves are dirty and only a few rooms at the back can see a side wall of the castle. All this we could get over, because the rooms were cheap - so we weren't expecting The Ritz.

But my main reason for putting up a bad review (which i have never done before on any of my many travels), was that our room was burgled while we slept; when someone just walked in the front door, which as i said doesn't lock, just walked straight up to our rooms while we slept (we think maybe we were followed home). They snuck into the room and robbed our phones and wallets.

Overall Kracow was a nice city, with a relaxed atmosphere - but just DON'T stay here if you want to feel safe

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarahostel, Owner at Tara Hostel Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

We are very sorry to read such a bad review.
Still, we would like to make some comments.
First of all, we have never claimed to be a hotel. What we offer are guest rooms.
Secondly, the front door were unfortunately broken that day - now they are locked.
What is more, to increase safety level in our hostel we also installed a new monitoring system with many cameras.
Thirdly, we always provide our guests with keys to their room and we do not take responsibility for burglary if they don't lock their rooms for a whole night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

First time at Dizzy Daisy and probably the last. Although they are a very helpful and frienly bunch the run down dorm rooms we had were just not really up to spec. Sheets were nicely laundered but the pillow cases don't fit properly and neither do teh sheets or duvets covers. Think of your bedding after being at uni for 3 -4 years and you'll know what I mean about well used.

Next time would take a look at Nathans as this appears to get better reveiws.

On the plus side though this place is really well located for the city centre. 5-10 mins and you are sipping a 60p beer on the market square.

Probably not the worst hostel you will find but below my normal expected comfort levels.

Also the key to open the main door to the dorm area seems to jam and therefore quite a few people were hammering on the door at 4 - 5 am in the morning after being out on an all night bender and trying to get back in.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustinBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarahostel, Owner at Tara Hostel Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

This opinion is not about our hostel. In 2005 we did not run a hostel - it used to be Dizzy Daisy that days on 7 Krakowska street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dobra_Turystyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ukaniu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X8383NIkatarzynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarahostel, Front Office Manager at Tara Hostel Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#31 of 449 in Krakow
274 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 261 in Krakow
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
ibis Krakow Centrum
#63 of 261 in Krakow
642 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#46 of 261 in Krakow
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hostel Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hostel Krakow

Address: Krakowska 7, Krakow 31-062, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $33 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tara Hostel Krakow 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small hostel located in the heart of Kazimierz, the old Jewish district of Krakow. Modern Kazimierz is the centre of Krakow's culture - many pubs and bars make it a unique place that everybody should visit. Because we have a chain of hostels we know exactly what our guests need and have spent time perfecting each place for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Hostel Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing