We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”
Review of Hostel Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Centrum
Ranked #331 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
SG/WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. The reception area is small and have to go through a wooden side door to walk to the back in order to get to the hostel. Have to be careful as there are many steps. Of all things after paying for the upgrade to have private bathrooms we ended up having our room on the top floor. There is no elevator and the staircase is narrow. We have to struggle to drag our luggage up. The room is not very clean and so is the bathroom. Breakfast is just bread and jam and butter and tea or coffee with UHT milk. No juice. It is more like a canteen where one have to clear the table and wash the utensils after one has finished. One of the kitchen sink taps is not working properly and you cannot regulate the temperature for the wash and one can get scalded easily. One day we requested to have breakfast half an hour earlier as we have to leave to join a tour but were told it cannot be done. And worst still, when we finally got to go down for breakfast at the stipulated time, the lady in charge of the "canteen" treated us shabbily. Unless you use the hostel's computers in the lobby, internet connection is terrible. Have to sit at the courtyard or on the steps to get connected.

Worst place I have stayed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLY_EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    13
    24
See reviews for
4
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The location of the hostel is great as it's central to Krakow's fabulous sights. However, we chose an upgraded room, which was on the top floor, & without lifts it was extremely difficult lugging our backpacks up the rickety stairs. The room, in comparison to the other upgraded rooms, was tiny & had very little ventilation. Our wonderful guide was able to get us a better room on the bottom floor. It was spacious & had an external bathroom outside it. Unfortunately, the hot water didn't work throughout the entire hostel so we had cold to luke-warm showers.

Breakfast was bread, cheese, basic cereal & more bread.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly_Louise_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krakow hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of a tour group. The location is very good, just a few mins to the old town and near the Jewish quarter but that was the only good thing about the place.

Our room was up 4 narrow flights of stairs. We had a private room but had to share one toilet and one shower with a room of 8 people. The room had a militant feel to it, very sparse and not at all comfortable or welcoming. There were 2 uncomfortable beds with stained bedding that did not fit, one table, a chair and 2 school lockers. There was no curtain over the window, just a transparent bit of fabric so we had to block the street and early morning light out with blankets and our packs. The building is old and very noisy.

The room wasn't cleaned very well as there was an empty condom wrapper under the bed. I was appalled on our last day as we were packing our things up that the cleaning ladies kept opening our door without knocking and coming in without a word to us. This was before 9am so is not on!

Breakfast was served in the basement. Warm UHT milk, bread rolls and cheese spread. There was free WiFi in the courtyard area.

Needless to say we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was there in July 2011. The hostel is very good located, between the old jewish quarter "Kazimierz" and the center "Rynek". I had a room under the roof , it was to hot to stay in this room at day time. The room was very clean but to small for two beds. The breakfast was very poore and basic. There was no atmosphere in this hous, if you need only a place for Sleeping is o.k., but the price of 110 zloty is definitly to high for this accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

we stayed in this hostel while on tour with a large tour group. it was an average hostel. the rooms were FREEZING!! it took 2 days for the room to become warm enough to sleep comfortably, some people didnt even have heaters in their room and it was winter! the breakfast was below standard a breadroll and jam.. but at least we got something, right..? and the trams were pretty load at night
but on a plus side the staff we're nice and helpful and the location was pretty good. all in all an ok stay... just take winter pajamas!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieW0rldExpl0rers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed at the Hostel Centrum Krakow in late September 2008 as part of an Eastern Trekker tour. I think they use this place because of the location only.
I've stayed in lots of hostels, and this one was pretty average. Maybe I have high expectations now because of the great ones I have stayed in previously.
The room we had at Hostel Centrum was up 3 flights of stairs (fine) but when we opened the door, reeked of cigarette smoke. Clearly marked everywhere was "no smoking". I couldn't wait to get out of the room.
The bathrooms were fairly new and ok. The linen on the beds was not really clean and didn't actually fit the bed - you could also see stains on all the pillows and blankets. They have a locker for each bed and the bunk beds are clearly numbered. Breakfast in the morning was served in individual breakfast rooms on each floor. The kitchen was pretty clean but had a seedy feel to it. In the morning lined up on the table with military precision were the plates with breakfast. On the wall was a big sign saying "Your breakfast consists of the following items" and listed each with a picture next to it. Clearly stolen breakfasts must be a problem. Not that you'd want to steal it - breakfast was a roll, meat spread, a chocolate bar and warm UHT milk.
The best part was the free internet access. The female staff member at the desk was also very helpful.

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Legend Hotel
#52 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hostel Rynek 7
Hostel Rynek 7
#120 of 412 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premium Hostel
#36 of 412 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#30 of 412 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Centrum

Property: Hostel Centrum
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 10, Krakow 31-046, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Centrum 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Centrum Hostel with over 200 beds, is Krakows largest tourist hostel located in the centre and cater for all travellers, from student groups to backpackers. Located in St. Gertrudy street 10, a few minutes walk from the Market Place and cafes, nightlife, restaurants and close to the Main Train Station. Friendly atmosphere and staff, free internet access and very clean and comfortable rooms with linen provided. We offer 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12-bedded rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing