We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option in Krakow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #38 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Good budget option in Krakow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in the Ascot Hotel. We found it very comfortable and well situated for everything we wanted to see. The rooms are small (although we had two rooms and one was bigger and better laid out than the other – so I guess that’s the luck of the draw) the bed was very comfortable, but only one pillow each and no way to get a second on our first night as housekeeping had gone home. The room is clean, but the budget touches are apparent, the curtains are very thin and not big enough to cover the whole window so light bleeds in, there are no tea and coffee making facilities which we would have appreciated coming in on a cold evening, there are no bedside tables, only a shelf over the bed which can be awkward to reach when you are lying down. I would say the biggest gripe with the room was the paper thin walls, lucky we had considerate neighbours and it didn’t disturb us, but when the TV was put on next door, it sounded like it was in the room with us.

The bathroom was a good size and the shower was powerful with lots of hot water, but again, money saving touches apparent, there was no body lotion or conditioner (normally wouldn’t be an issue as I would bring my own, but as we were travelling with hand luggage only, it would have been nice to have these included.) The towels were very hard, it was like drying with sandpaper. The toilet filled continuously when flushed and you had to jab the flush button sharply to get it to stop.

The breakfast in the hotel was good with plenty of choice, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, lots of cheese, ham, bread and also hot options of sausage, bacon and egg. It was a great start to a day of sightseeing on a cold day.

The location of the hotel was excellent, about 7 minutes walk to the main square and less than 5 minutes to the train station. I was glad to be a little away from the main square as I imagine it can get pretty rowdy. Our rooms faced the front and there was road works going on, but the sound proofing on the windows was good, so it didn’t really bother us.

The staff in the hotel are pleasant, they where helpful in booking a taxi for our last day and holding on to our luggage after we checked out. The housekeeping was a bit hit and miss though, she didn’t replenish our toilet roll on either morning – even when the roll on the dispenser was empty!

Overall though, we enjoyed our stay. The location, comfortable beds, good breakfast, strong wifi and friendly staff outweighed any little niggles we had. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good budget option in the city.
Krakow is a stunning city, the Christmas market was beautiful and it’s a perfect place for a short break. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    332
    62
    6
    4
See reviews for
158
304
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for three days to go and see the Christmas markets and found it to be a perfect location. A clean modern hotel tastefully decorated,where you can easily walk to the new and old districts.Polite staff and good choice for breakfast.Only slight criticism, is they have got only one, two slice toaster so had to wait. Wouldn't cost much to get a quicker, catering revolving one.There is no kettle in the rooms but this seams the norm in some city hotels.Our room was at the back of the hotel and as others have mentioned you can here the trams through the night.It is a city after all and its definitely not enough to upset your stay. Would stay again and reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamaCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Krakow is a great place to come for a short break, we were here for five days, I would say that would be the minimum you consider, there is so much to see.
The hotel is very centrally situated, very near the train station from the Airport. You don't need really to get a taxi from the airport when the train is every half hour or so from very early to late. Cost is 12 plz about £2.50 each as against 77 plz for a taxi.
The rooms are not huge, but spotlessly clean. I picked up on what other reviewers have said, walls being a bit thin.
Hotel is very near to the Old Town, and you could walk it to the Basilica or the Market Square in 5 mins.
Next to the railway station is a huge shopping centre which would cater for most western needs. It.s like the Trafford Centre with 220 shops, international brands etc. but I hated it because if I wanted to shop in there then I could have stayed at home.
There is a big Carrefour in there though, for essentials. Decent prices on beer and spirits (e.g. a litre of whisky about £10, vodka cheaper. Wine is relatively expensive, similar to Tesco's at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueknightterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break. Very central, main square less than 10 minute walk. Huge shopping mall just up the road, and the Christmas tree there was absolutely amazing! The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. We overlooked the tram line but it didn't disturb us at all. The only thing I found lacking was bedside tables, although there is a shelf above the bed, so let's face it, not exactly a major complaint! Breakfast was plentiful if you like continental, cheeses, hams, etc, but the bacon was slightly underdone and the eggs and sausages were cold. All the staff were helpful, friendly and polite. Would highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness, friendliness and being in such a central location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_j_7062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just returned from a break to take in the Christmas market.The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and smart. There is a very small bar in the foyer for a night cap which we made use of. It is well stocked for such a small bar. However there is only seating for about 10 people ! All the staff were pleasant friendly and helpful.

We were in a room on the third floor overlooking the road and could not hear the trains. The major roadworks on the front are still on going and work commenced about 7.30. This did not disturb us as we were already awake.

Our biggest problem was noise from adjoining rooms. Not that people were being unreasonable but the walls are obviously very thin as you could hear people talking, coughing and laughing etc.

The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

The hotel was very good value for money and in a good location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned to UK after a 4 night stay at the Ascot Hotel. It is perfectly situated for sight seeing and just a short walk from Krakow railway station. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean with maid service in rooms every day. There is a small bar in the foyer for that night cap which we made use of. All the staff were pleasant friendly and helpful.
There is currently major road works going on outside the Hotel but that had absolutely no impact on our stay. We were in a room on the third floor overlooking the road and slept soundly without disruption on every night, though It is possible that our evening visits to the "Wodka" bar a 5 minute walk away may have helped. We stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis and found plenty of choice to suit all tastes for breakfast.
I wouldn't hesitate returning to this Hotel. It represents excellent value and a perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel was good quality, very clean and modern, good value for money, pleasant staff and breakfast was good. It was a pity that the road outside the hotel was being dug up but the staff kept access to the hotel clear and the foyer clean! It was located just outside the historical centre and we would used this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Hotel Batory
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Stare Miasto
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
#88 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: ul. Radziwillowska 3, Krakow 31-026, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Krakow
#37 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Krakow
Hotel Ascot Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing