We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately worth a visit”

Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny)
Ranked #39 of 297 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Krakow Zoo’s 17 hectares (42 acres) accommodate more than 1,400 animals. Its most prized residents include herds of pygmy hippopotamus and Przewalski horses, Somali wild ass, Pere David's deer, barasingha, South American tapir, white camel, South American sea lions, several species of wild cats and rare antelopes such as addax, eastern bongo and waterbuck.
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It's slightly outside town but definately worth visiting. I'm not really a zoo person but really enjoyed it. The grounds are well laid out, the animals seem well cared for and there was quite a lot to see. There is a walk that you can do from the Zoo to Cracs Mound which is through a wood. When you walk up the Mound you get fantatic views of the city and surrounding countryside. A great day out.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank rupertbear62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    116
    36
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great zoo!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Really nice place with lots of animals, a lot to see. Highly recommended. I think the animals looked healthy and lively. This was much much bigger place than I thought and the fee for entry was really small. The easiest and cheapest way to get there is to take bus number 134 which leaves next to Hotel Cracovia on Kaluzy street and gets you to the zoo's gates. It is the last stop, so you don't have to wonder when to leave the bus. Tickets to the bus can be bought inside the bus from a ticket machine, I think it was 3,40 PLN, so it is cheap. The machine was easy to use and there was instructions at least in english and polish, and it took almost all coins and even gave change. The bus ride didn't take long, propably something like 20 minutes and the bus was really comfortable. The buses leave often, I think it was normally every 30 minutes and on holidays every 15 minutes or something. Of course you can get back to Kaluzy street by the same bus which leaves from the same gate of the zoo.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank misukkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“VILE!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

horrific, animals look unwell, especially the lions and the monkeys. Alot of the cages were empty, more than likely because the animals had died. Poorly treated, not enough shade and hiding places for them, and they looked miserable. Small cages and no where near a match to their natural habbitat. Terrible zoo, and really got me against captivity seeing how miserable these animals were!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank michscrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What a find.....”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Went to this zoo in Summer by bus. Only the one bus and picks up at the cracovia football ground. Drops you at the door of the zoo. Be prepared as it is a long walk around all the facilties. It is no H&S mad like the UK and if you want to lose a hand you could touch the animals in places (not recommended). The range and quality is wonderful and I would def recommend a visit. Hpowever take a pack lunch as the queues for food and drink can get stupid. There is lots of picnic areas with kids play grounds. The Tigers are amazing along with Alexander Mercat!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Krakow Zoo”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This really is a super zoo and well worth the effort to get there. The zoo is located around 20km or so to the west of the city hidden in the hills. We took a hotel taxi from Podgorze and I think it cost us around 40zloty or £8. We learned when we got to the zoo there is a regular bus which goes from Krakow to the zoo and it cost around £0.75 per person. The zoo itself is set within a wooded environment but is open and gave us a very relaxed feeling. In fact we basically had the zoo to ourselves which although great it is a real shame as this is a terrific half day trip particularly if you have children.
There is a cafe and restroom facilities on site. I think entry was around £3.80 pp for an adult ticket so very reasonable with all of the main animal attractions you would expect to see at a zoo.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vaughan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny) also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Krakow Zoo (Ogrod Zoologiczny)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing