We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Amber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber Hotel
Ranked #21 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We have been to this boutique hotel twice and have always had a perfect stay.
It was a pleasure to be back for another wonderful stay. Location is simply the best!-the center of the Old Town, but very quiet area at the same time.
Our room was beautiful, classical decorated and gave an immediate warm. It's a nice place to stay cause you have the feeling ’’like at home’’.
We have previously done the excursion to Auschwitz so now we decided to go to the Salt Mine. They were both perfectly organised!
We would like to express a big thank you to the staff, as me and my husband felt very much looked after in every way.
Finally just to say - Krakow it is a great city and Poland is a lovely country. If You decided to come We would absolutely recommend Amber to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MORGAN_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 828 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

Hotel Amber was great, 5minute walk from the main square and the staff were very helpful. We booked a trip to Auchwitz through reception with Seekrakow, the tour was fascinating, but I wouldn't recommend the tour company for a safe/comfortable journey to and from the site (although of course this isn't the hotels fault). The air conditioning in our room was very handy and operated by remote control. The breakfast was also very varied for a hotel of it's size, the quality was also good.
I would definitely consider returning to this hotel if we go back to Krakow - presuming we can get the same great deal on a room that we had this time!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandacurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Located within easy walking distance of the of the central old town. Clean hotel. Modern decor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cotton sheets. Simple, but good, inclusive breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We had a very nice time here recently. Staff friendly and polite. 10 minute walk through park to hotel from main railway station - via fast shuttle train from airport. Room and decor very pleasant and good size shower in bathroom. Old town 10 minute walk. On a side note - at Balice airport DO NOT go air-side until last possible moment on return: nothing there except small bar/cafe, tiny duty free,very limited/no internet, hard, hard seats...!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trotty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed here with my sister for a long weekend in end of may 10, and we had a lovely time. Prior to the trip i did not have much time for preparations(which is unusual for me)and on arrival we were told all the relevant tourist information and such, also i was recommended several restaurants but the reception and they were always very reasonably priced and the food was always lovely.
the room was nice, clean and very large compared to other "city hotels" that i have been to, with airconditon.
the hotel in itself was modern, clean, everything you would want for a nice city break. its location was very central walking distance to most tourist spots within the city (ca 5-10 min walk to main market square), however it is located on a quiet street without the noisy bars of the old town.
breakfast was nice, very good considering this is a 3 star hotel (honestly feelt more like a 4 star).
only thing i would like to comment on is the guided tours that they offer, they are rather expensive (we booked one going to the saltmines), and you might want to explore other options at the main tourist office in town.
but once again lovely hotel with amazing service.
wound definitely say here again if i visited Krakow

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelling1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 4, 2010

Dear Ladies,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to read such positive opinion about our rooms, location and the restaurant. We are really happy that our hotel is likable to very young people too.
Following your comments on the tour that we recommend, please let us explain what the price include. First – professionalism of company that we cooperate with. So far, they are the best in organising trips to Auschwitz, Salt Mine and so on. We can really relay on them and recommend them to anyone. The second think, is the fact, that the comfortable bus pick up the guests form the hotel’s reception. The price include the transport, english guide tour and entrance fee, so there is nothing that You have to worry about.
Once again, thank you, that you have chosen us. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Amber again.

Best regards,
Magdalena Lipiarz
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The staff was wonderful - we were given a wonderful packed breakfast/lunch for our train ride to Austria.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toby1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My wife and I along with our two friends stayed at the Hotel Amber from 10th – 14th May 2010.

We had booked the hotel 6 months ago after reviewing it on Trip Advisor. Once again Trip Advisor came up trumps…we were not disappointed.

We were met at the airport as arranged in advance with the hotel, and driven back to Krakow, a journey of approx ½ hour.

The hotel was wonderful. The rooms (2 x Double Superior Lux.) were large and comfortable and along with the en-suite bathrooms were very clean and tidy. On arrival we found a lovely decanter of cherry-vodka cordial to greet us, one in each room.

The staff at the hotel were always most friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The inclusive breakfast was very good. Replenishment of food was sometimes a little slow however this is only a minor criticism. There was always plenty to choose from, and the food was well prepared and presented.

The location of the hotel was good. It took us about 10-15 minutes to walk into the city centre, and even at night we felt safe.

After check out on our last day the hotel staff presented us with a box of biscuits as a “thank you” for our stay. This was a lovely touch.

My wife and I visit different cities on a regular basis. Out of all the hotels we have stayed at, the Hotel Amber ranks as one of the best. We all thoroughly recommend it!

Thank you to Hotel Amber for making our stay in Poland so pleasant, and thank you to all Trip Advisor members who left the reviews upon which we based our decision to stay there.

Please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards
Roger

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Amber Design
#32 of 261 in Krakow
311 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#17 of 261 in Krakow
1,246 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 261 in Krakow
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,307 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
993 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#26 of 261 in Krakow
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hotel

Address: Ul. Garbarska 8/10, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Krakow
#19 Family Hotel in Krakow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $79 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of this magical city, right next to the enchanting and picturesque Krakow old town, in a secluded street there is an unusual place, XIX century tenement house, and inside - a little, unbelievably hospitable boutique Amber Hotel with a unique atmosphere. Even though the hotel is situated in the very centre of the old town, only 500 meters from the main square, it manages to remain distant from urban noise. Elegant and functional rooms provide our guests with ideal conditions for both work and relaxation. Comfortably furnished rooms, coffee/tea making facilities, satellite TV, free and fast internet connection contribute to creating a comfortable and friendly place for every guest. The hotel is frequently visited, apart from tourists and businessmen, by renowned personalities from cultural, artistic and political circles. Extremely friendly service, always ready to help, makes it an exceptional place, full of good manners and taste, where every desire of the Guests is immediately satisfied by the professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Amber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing