We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Choice”
Review of Amber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amber Hotel
Ranked #21 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Choice”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is a very short walk to the main square so the location was great.
The reception staff were excellent, friendly and informative.
Breakfast was good.
All in all the quality of the hotel, location and staff was outstanding.
We went with 4 other couples and we all had the same views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    213
    35
    3
    8
See reviews for
122
354
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location was perfect, 1 1/2 block from one of the plazas, is a safe walk back. Tram the same distance opposite direction. Breakfast, super good. The front desk ladies really speak English and they are wonderful giving you directions. YOU control the temperature of you AC. The companies they have tours with are in mini buses and they pick you up, no extra charge. The internet is free for more that one electronic and do NOT need a code daily. Do not expect an impressive facade, very simple. Bakery with sandwiches 1/2 block away. I hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Don't get the ones close to stairs or elevators, you will get the party goes coming back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rommy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

v.nice hotel and good location, pity there isn't a restaurant or bar food breakfast food could be improved slightly also. Very good service overall, staff helpful and friendly also. Staff were very obliging and accommodating. Would recommend this hotel for people looking for a central location and visiting krakow centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A cheerful welcome to a smartly decorated hotel. The rooms looked lovely and were generously sized. The road outside at the front was a bit noisy at times but there was a double glazed window to close with air con to compensate if the noise became too bad, we didnt need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Oattips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelamber10, Kierownik at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for revewing your recent stay at Amber Hotel and many thanks for your kind words.

I am glad that all went well and you had a good time.

I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of my team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Magdalena Wesolowska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed three nights in the Amber Hotel, which is a short walk to the Old City. The room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was huge, internet service quick, and the staff quite helpful in recommending restaurants, arranging airport transfers and in having plenty of umbrellas. My only further recommendation is that the curtains could be darker for blocking the light. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelamber10, Kierownik at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and also our location in the City. Thank you for your superb recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind Regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel Amber provides a very unique style and atmosphere unlike the major chain hotels. The staff people were extremely nice and helpful with directions and tour arrangements. And they all spoke English quite well. The hotel room was very nice, comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast and internet service were also both very good. The Old Town is just a short walk away as are nice restaurants, markets and other types of shopping. I feel as if I received excellent value for my money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelamber10, Kierownik at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you liked the location, friendliness and attentiveness of staff and that the luxury elements were perfect.

I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Wesolowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were upgraded to the Amber desing (in the same building) for free. The Amber is 3 stars, the Amber desing is 4 stars. Is not easy know in where you are. Staff friendly, quick check inn, they can arrange transfers from and to airport. The room is big, clean and modern. With kettle but not minibar. 2 Small water free. The shower was great. The breakfast was fine, lots of options, somethings tipical polish food, lots of western europe standarts, all that we tried was tasty. Some hot options. Fruits and several kinds of cheese. The only drawback was the orange juice, not great. The breakfast is the same for both hotels and I think that the orange juice is less that 3 stars probably. The apple one was better. The location is great, less than 10 minutes on foot from the market square. Probably 20 minutes to wawel hill, is flat way and you have to cross the city center, then great walk. Restaurants near.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parejaconbotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelamber10, Kierownik at Amber Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the opportunity to share your review of your recent stay at the Amber Design Hotel.

I am pleased to note that you found my team to be exceptionally warm and informative and that you enjoyed our location.

We appreciate your comment regarding breakfast. We will address these points.

Once again thank you for your kind words which I will share with the rest of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Magdalena Wesolowska
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 259 in Krakow
967 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
908 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,193 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#11 of 259 in Krakow
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hotel

Property: Amber Hotel
Address: Ul. Garbarska 8/10, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Krakow
#19 Family Hotel in Krakow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of this magical city, right next to the enchanting and picturesque Krakow old town, in a secluded street there is an unusual place, XIX century tenement house, and inside - a little, unbelievably hospitable boutique Amber Hotel with a unique atmosphere. Even though the hotel is situated in the very centre of the old town, only 500 meters from the main square, it manages to remain distant from urban noise. Elegant and functional rooms provide our guests with ideal conditions for both work and relaxation. Comfortably furnished rooms, coffee/tea making facilities, satellite TV, free and fast internet connection contribute to creating a comfortable and friendly place for every guest. The hotel is frequently visited, apart from tourists and businessmen, by renowned personalities from cultural, artistic and political circles. Extremely friendly service, always ready to help, makes it an exceptional place, full of good manners and taste, where every desire of the Guests is immediately satisfied by the professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Amber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing