We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact and bijou!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pugetow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pugetow
Ranked #72 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Compact and bijou!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Luckily we decided against booking a hotel on the main square and picked the Hotel Pugetow – a quiet little oasis only 5 minutes’ walk from the old town and main touristy bits.
It’s small and elegant and a refreshing change from the major hotel chains. The unassuming entrance makes it feel like your entering someone’s house instead of a hotel.
Staff are all very welcoming, helpful and on hand to give useful tips on where to visit and eat.
Breakfast selection is fresh and plenty of it and the ever smiling waitress is on hand to provide freshly made scrambled eggs and coffee.
We stayed in Room 2 which is actually a small apartment with ensuite bedroom and sitting room. It was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. Bear in mind it’s on the ground floor looking onto the car park but as it’s double glazed we never heard a thing. Central heating and air conditioning are controllable locally and Wi-Fi is available in all rooms.
The perfect choice for those who want to be close to the main attractions but not kept awake all night by them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    41
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
113
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

A charming little hotel with beautifully furnished, well-equipped rooms. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Don't be put off by its inauspicious position between a car-park and main road - the rooms are quiet and there is no disturbance by traffic. Excellent position just outside the walls of the Old Town. Fresh, generous and beautifully presented breakfast in the cosy cellar.
In the winter you can almost toast your toes on the bathroom floor thanks to the underfloor heating! True joy ...

Room Tip: Room 2 offers loads of space in two beautifully furnished rooms + fantastic bathroom. Mini bar + t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobCul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
236 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is an absolutely delightful small boutique hotel run by a team of lovely people. The gorgeous buffet breakfast (with cooked eggs if you want) is in a pretty cellar streaming - in our case - with sunlight.
Our bedroom, number 6, on the top floor (this could be a problem for you if your legs are not up to it) was delightful, clean, cosy yet spacious and very airy and light with a really nice bathroom which was underfloor heated. Only criticism, is that the bed was not brilliant, in that it was slightly small, soft mattress and the bed linen especially the cover could have been a mite larger. Heating in fact was to your choice but very efficient and offered air conditioning for the summer months. We had a spare bedroom so if you came with a child or third person the space was more than ample. At £50 a night, including that lovely breakfast, it must have been by far the best deal in Krakow.
Its position is also ideal, being just 5 minutes pleasant stroll from the central square.
Krakow is beautiful and offers a lot for a long weekend. We spent a much time in cafes and most of that in our clear favourite, the wonderfully atmospheric Cafe Camelot, where you can eat the most delicious cakes (huge portions) and appreciate the huge selection of unusual drinks, hot and cold: we loved the hot mead infused with herbs, spices and honey. The museums and churches are very interesting, though the former are out of the dark ages and staffed by horrendously fierce and unfriendly security staff who stare at you and dog your footsteps - almost a fascination in itself. Poland needs to attend to this anomaly where museum staff are, without exception, grossly unhelpful and officious, steeped in an authorative attitude that has clearly been passed on from Communist times. The museums and galleries are also all unnecessarily very dark and dingy and disabled access is non existant. Generally though, the Polish people are particularly friendly and willing to help and service in restaurants and cafes is always very cheerful.
By the way, don't be put off by the bad press Polish food gets. Generally Polish restaurants and cafes, in Krakow anyway, are not just cheap but very good, once you have got past the huge portions of very boring beetroot dishes. We twice ate in the absolutely superb Miod Malina (Honey and Raspberry) restaurant, Grodska 40, where the venison is so tender and the herring starter an absolute treat. Not one usually for soup but try the chicken broth here - absolutely delicious. Desserts also tremendous and including a brilliant Chilean house wine, all for well under £50 for two. Conversely, avoid the Chimera restaurant which seems to attract British people with really bad, apalling taste in food. Huge portions of awful meat cooked to death in a thick sickly sauce that made us feel ill and an awful starter - quite the most horrible place we have been to in years - an absolute tourist rip off. The service was patronising and uncaring. Avoid at all cost! Looked like something that badly needed a re-fit.
Auschwitz was inevitably intensely moving and you must do that day trip. However, more than enough elsewhere to keep you busy pottering around the city centre, drinking hot chocolate and trying out the delicious home made choccies.
All in all, a great long weekend and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 if you are infirm or disabled. The steps are quite difficult to navigate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This boutique hotel, a short walk from the old town, offered wonderful hospitality, a welcome change from the big hotel chains. It was minus 15 outside but very cosy inside. Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated with original oil paintings. Breakfast was freshly prepared with plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We booked an apartment, so we had an entrance hall and a sitting room as well as a bedroom/bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

As experienced travellers we can honestly say that this is one of the most charming and welcoming hotels we have stayed in throughout the world. The staff were superb as was the breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and they even gave us a free upgrade to a beautifully decored suite. I would book quick, as its location close enough to the town centre with a 10 minute walk coupled with elegance comfort at a bargain price will ensure you will enjoy the break.We visited Auschwitz which is about 50 miles away and Schindlers Factory ( a short taxi ride away). We hired a cab for the day for £70 - a bargain.
Go before it gets too busy as this place is a gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeleppard4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton on sea, essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel arranged a taxi for us at a charge of approx £16, which was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport, and saved us time and hassle. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were impressed by the warmth and personal customer service that we experienced. We arrived early morning and were offered breakfast on arrival. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, rolls, pastries, yogurts, etc, etc, very good quality and variety. By the time we had breakfast our rooms were ready, It was my sisters sixtieth birthday and she had been upgraded to a suite. My husband and I had the room number 5, which had the beautiful round window, the hotel was well heated and very warm and cozy. I think that all the rooms would be lovely. The position is perfect for a weekend as 5 mins walk to old town, which is the main area to visit, and arrange tours from. The hotel staff can book tours for you and provide tourist information, they also reccomended a most enjoyable restuarent, which I would also reccomend called the Miod MalIIina(Honey Raspberry). If I went to Krakow again, I would not want to stay anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

What a gem. A small but very individual hotel. Location was great, within easy walking distance of everything. The hotel was warm and cosy. The staff were very polite and helpful and could`nt do enough for you. The rooms were decorated on individual themes and were very clean and comfortable. The dining room was in a converted basement with a roaring log burner...very cosy and quirky. All in all a lovely hotel, very reasonably priced and conveniently located.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family4cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
649 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
1,162 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Maltanski Hotel
Maltanski Hotel
#87 of 256 in Krakow
204 reviews
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#23 of 256 in Krakow
674 reviews
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#56 of 256 in Krakow
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pugetow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pugetow

Property: Hotel Pugetow
Address: ul. Starowislna 15a, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#31 Family Hotel in Krakow
#51 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pugetow 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pugetow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pugetow Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing