We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kracking Krakow Accommodation”
Review of Flamingo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Hostel
Ranked #81 of 451 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Left to your own devices, treat the place as your own, free coffee, clean, tidy and friendly. Wouldn't hesitate going back. Downside was the couple staying and arguing all the time but don't think that was the hostel's fault ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 371 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

Loved everything about this hostel. Location is excellent and right off the main square and within walking distance of the train station and Wawel Castle. There's a free breakfast that isn't too bad given the low bed rates. What made this hostel such a unique and great experience was the social atmosphere. Has a large common room where you can meet other travelers over a few great Polish beers. When I stayed there Ed, an Aussie, was in charge of taking everyone out at night. It was great to have someone show us around who knew the nightlife and also was an opportunity to meet everyone staying in the hostel. Without a doubt the best social atmosphere I have experienced at a hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wohlgejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I have literally today returned from a fantastic trip to krakow, Poland. My two frinds and I stayed in the Flamingo Hostel (doubles), which was very good. We elected to stay in the 'doubles' which are private rooms in a building about 5 minute walk from the hostel it self. They are on the top floor of a traditional polish appartment building and up 4 flights of stairs. The rooms are all ensuite, with tvs and very comfortable. There was a small seperate kitchen and free wifi. Our stay included breakfast in the hostel and was excellent value at about £17.50 per night, per person. I wouldn't recommend this place for a romantic weekend away unless you are used to hostels, but for good basic accomodation, it was very good. The staff in the hostel were very helpful, especially Andy, who gave us very good tips of where to head for and also where to avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saints1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 nights in one of there apartment rooms located on Podwale Street. The room was supposed to be double but for some reason there was only one chair. We were told later that there wasn't enough room for two chairs. Girl at the reception (which is in the hostel building) had no idea where the apartments were, she told us she had never been there. We had to find them ourselves. There was no TV in the room as it had been stolen by one of the previous "guests". No one cleaned the bathroom. Knowing the very good reputation of the hostel I really expected more. The only big advantage of that hostel is it's great location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firedancer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

The Flamingo Hostel in Krakow really was the best hostel we stayed in throughout our time travelling Europe. It had a great location, a really friendly community between travellers, the staff were friendly, they put on free pasta nights and organised nights out and other events etc, the rooms were safe and it was extremely good value for money! Would definately stay here again and would definatelty recommend to younger travellers alone or with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Normally the sight of a party hostel is a really bad sign for us. We stay in private rooms around the world at hostels because prices can be kept low and service is great. But a party hostel is usually dirty and unwelcoming.

This place is amazing. The facilities are spotless. Bathrooms and kitchen are brand new. The bed is comfortable and the sheets are really high quality. The pillows are also brand new. I saw everyday staff members replace older pillows with brand new ones from packaging. This was a nice surprise. The have wifi and free internet.

The breakfast is cheese, ham, jam, breads, eggs, cereal, etc. There is also offer a different special each day (fruit, perogies, etc). There are activities planned for each night. Everyone is having a great time at this hostel... and despite the large amount of partying, people are respectful and the hostel is clean. The staff is very helpful and bookings for tours can be made through the front desk.

We also stayed at the Flamingo in Zakopane and were equally happy with our stay.

The location in Krakow is awesome.. seconds from the main square and on the street with a number of really cheap bars. Recommendation.. check out the castle, but don't spend extra to see any of the 'apartments' not really worth it. The Aushwitz visit was amazing and is a must visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Doubles are tiny rooms with bathroom (shower) and a kitchen across the hall. The rooms are very modern. It is 80 steps up the stairs and the location is on the outside of the ring road around the Old Town - still close to the action but not conducive to dropping in and out of during the day's outings. The check in, services and staff are at the Flamingo Hostel location closer to the Rynek. We made use of its common room as a meeting place and as a lounge to wait out the rains. The Hostel organises breakfasts and nightly outings to bars and clubs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#69 of 262 in Krakow
442 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#43 of 451 in Krakow
169 reviews
Stare Miasto
Mundo Hostel
Mundo Hostel
#14 of 451 in Krakow
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Hostel
#109 of 451 in Krakow
102 reviews
Pink Panther's Hostel
#36 of 451 in Krakow
350 reviews
Stare Miasto
Let's Rock Hostel
Let's Rock Hostel
#59 of 451 in Krakow
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hostel

Address: ul. Szewska 4, Krakow 31-009, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 451 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $20 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing