We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Greg & Tom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greg & Tom Hostel
Ranked #3 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, in a dorm and private room. Rooms are big spacious clean, comfy beds! Free towel. Showers were hot. Good & free wifi connection. The staff are lovely! So helpful!! Free breakfast which is awesome- not just basics but extras like creeps, eggs, bacon etc amazing! Free dinners all extremely yum! Free beer each night and shots on Fridays. Is a smaller hostel which makes it easy to meat people! Had a great atmosphere and not to party. They run pub crawls but at the hostels. TV and movies available. The staff will also book you onto any tours etc so helpful. We got in at 7:00am after a overnight train and they offered us breakfast, able to use showers etc. loved staying here would definitely recommend it to anyone coming to Poland! It's in a great location close to the station and sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    75
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
80
147
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've been in Krakow for about 3 days, and we loved the city! And Greg and Tom Hostel is one of the reasons... The staff is wonderful, always helpful and kind! Our room was big and confortable, and the shared bathroom always clean. The location hardly could be better, as it was beside the train/bus station (and a big mall) and really near to the city center (no more than 10minutes to the market Sq). But the highlight for us was the living room and kitchen' environment, promoted by the staff... We had breakfast (a very good one, bythe way!) and dinner (yes, dinner was included!) as a group, sharing experiences and getting to know awsom people... And isn't that what hostels are for?! We loved Greg and Tom's, and would definitely come back when in Krakow!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TiagoVeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I haven.t perused the other reviews, but I remember before going there how many of the reviews mentioned the shower. It was nice, but you have to realize these are basically public showers where everyone shares their fungus.

I'm not a prude, and have stayed in many hostels in my day. Although nowadays I tend to concentrate my stays in Hilton properties, I was looking to save some case on my trip to Poland. This property fit the bill nicely.

I think one of the best things about staying in a hostel is the interaction you get with other guests. The camaraderie that comes with shared interest in travel is wonderful. In this hostel, however, I didn't feel it. Perhaps if we had spent more time here...

We arrived early morning after an overnight train ride in from Prague. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and offered breakfast. Thanks!

We purchased a private room for two. The accomodations were nothing special, think one step up from a barracks room. The bathroom was down the hall, as was the shower. I believe we had 3 showers in our section to choose from, and I did not have to wait ever.

Hostel life is geared towards helping people explore the area where they are staying. This hostel promoted several tours and activities in which one could partake. We did a walkking tour of Prague, the Salt Mines, and a pub crawl. I shied away from Aushwitz as I wanted to keep the depression level down while I was tryin gto enjoy my vacation.

The location was great really, 5 minute walking distance to the center and an easy walk to the train station.

Overall, I woul dhave to say I was satisfied with the property and give it 4 dots out of 5 in the Hostel category. If I get back to Krakow I might like to try the Beer hostel, though :).

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We_love_to_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can't say enough about Greg and Tom's Hostel. The staff here is truly amazing and really make you feel like part of a family. Breakfast as well as dinner is included in the price and is well worth it. I highly recommend this hostel for anyone looking to meet other travelers in a more intimate setting where you develop close friendships.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psmith5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was looking for a place on short notice and spied Greg and Tom’s Home Hostel and booked it quickly for the last bed open. When I arrived later in the day the staff members were super friendly and I was surprised that I even got a free meal with the bed. Food was decently tasty and it was great to be able to visit with other guests in the kitchen. Wifi was good on both the main and upper levels. The one downside was that there was only one shower and bathroom area per floor but it still didn’t get too crowded with waiting. G&T’s did end up getting nice and quiet which was a good break compared to some of the rowdier hostels in Krakow. Unfortunately I didn’t get much sleep because a family staying in my quad room were chronic snorers but that’s hardly the hostel’s fault. I know they can also organize tours but I didn’t take advantage of that. It’s got a great location near to the train station and I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect as I don't usually stay in shared accommodation. I was in a mixed dorm of five beds. I checked in very early having come off the night train from Vienna and was able to have breakfast, shower etc before going off on a tour. Staff are great and are helpful and happy. There is free breakfast and dinner provided every night and usually more than a few free drinks. Even though krakow is super cheap compared to other parts of Europe i always love free stuff! Also there is free wireless Internet and a few computers if you don't have a smartphone etc. even though there was one toilet and two showers between about eleven people on my floor (the reception floor) getting to use either wasn't a problem. Facilities are very clean too. This is a very social hostel and I made quite a few friends here during my four days. I'd stay here again no problem.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Was recommended Greg&Tom hostel for a short trip with (student) friends - although the rooms are basic, they are still great value for money and there was bery little we could fault. Particularly loved the way we could easily hop between hostels for the drinking sessions - staff were fantastic, alcohol was great and appreciated the fact that people were on hand to give us krakow info, tell us where/where not to go and make sure we had the best time! Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieeee-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
andel’s by Vienna House Cracow
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#25 of 259 in Krakow
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Europejski Hotel
#67 of 259 in Krakow
537 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 419 in Krakow
707 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greg & Tom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greg & Tom Hostel

Property: Greg & Tom Hostel
Address: Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contrary to some hostels, you can check in at any time and wait for your bed in our comfortably furnished common room, having cup of coffee and a chat with our staff. Check out time is at 10am but after that you can still use the common areas of the hostel.For the hungry ones: DAILY FREE BREAKFASTS & FREE DINNERS!!What else do we offer: Three fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves, cooker, toaster, fridge with free filtered water and an ice maker for your fancy drinks. Free tea, coffee, milk fruits and cereal available 24/7 Spacious dorms and double rooms, modern bathrooms with massage showers. Free Internet and Wi-Fi, CD burning and printing, 3 huge flat screen TVs with hundreds of channels (music, sport, film, fashion) and a massive collection of DVDs (over 300 movies!) to enjoy while comfortably seated on our soft sofas. Free towel, linen, padlocks and security lockers. No curfew, no lockout!Broad tourist information, free maps and guidebooks.We also provide: Multilingual, experienced and energetic staff available 24/7 to help with the craziest issues: we help to buy tickets, look for the best bus or trains connections. IMPORTANT: AGE LIMIT FOR GREG&TOM from 18 to 50 YEARS OLD. No stags, no school groups. We only accept group bookings of no more than 6 people. Anyone caught breaking this rule will be charged for the whole stay and have their reservation cancelled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Greg & Tom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing