We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Greg & Tom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greg & Tom Hostel
Ranked #4 of 444 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013.

The location is good as it is less than a 5 minute walk to the main station and Berlin metro and 10 minutes walk to the old town where there are a number of cheap restaurants around and a few supermarkets to buy food from.

The hostel has a living area with a number of sofas and full entertainment systems including a Wii, Playstation, movies and computers etc.

The kitchen area is fully equipped but I didn't use it as dinner was provided for free every night. This changed every night and was delicious. This made a social hostel as everyone gathered around at dinner time.

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm there were no bunk beds which was a plus. Price included bedding and a towel. Each bed ha a locker big enough to fit your bag in, a reading light and plug sockets. The only downside is the bedding isn't a great fit as the sheet kept coming off the bed which felt a bit unhygienic.

The rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day.

The wi-fi was excellent and could access it from the rooms.

There was one toilet between 6 people which probably would have been fine except we were on the ground floor which meant everyone in the lounge/kitchen etc also used it so there was always a queue.

There were two showers. The showers were very nice they were proper showers which were nice hot and powerful. They were separated by curtains allowing a private area to get changed into. In the shower room there was also the only sink. This was a bit of a problem as there was always someone wanting to use it.

The staff were very friendly and suggested places we could go.

Overall definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incognito4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Greg & Tom Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 485 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very conveniently located near the train station and about 5-8mins walk to the Old Town. Great value for money especially when breakfast AND dinner are provided! Free shots after dinner as well! Staff are really friendly and helpful and they're such great people.
The hostel also provides tours to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines for 90 and 100pln respectively if you're a student.
There's also pub crawls every night where you can join the other 2 Greg&Tom branches for a party night out. But if you don't want to party, this place is a great place to crash.

One thing that could be improved, please have more toilets and shower facilities per floor! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aoife_Malfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at Greg&Tom hostel twice. Once it was great and it excceeded all my expectations. They offered very good service for a very fair price. Hostel is very well located, close to the main train station and city center. Rooms are clean and hostel staff is very helpful and eager to show you opportunities to avoid expensive organised trips and try on your own. My second stay was less great but still good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights in May, during a long travel in Eastern Europe, during which I mixed hostels & hotels. I rate this hostel 5 points mostly because my expectations were exceeded at all levels. The staff was very friendly, and really helpful with tips & tricks on the travel in Krakau and beyond. The hostel offers fast Internet, pc's, gaming, television, and simple, but delicious dinners are included, breakfast as well. The bathrooms were clean and up to date. The kitchen was well equipped. Hostels can be a hit and miss, this is definitely a hit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed at Greg & Tom's twice, in October 2009 and then again in March 2012. It is formed of 3 apartments in a block opposite the Galeria shopping mall. There is no lift.

The first time, we booked out a 4 bed dorm for 3 of us in the 3rd floor apartment. The beds were comfortable (athough the sheets didn't fit and wouldn't stay put - grr!), and the queue for the bathroom was a nuisance with only 1 bath and shower shared between 3 bedrooms (12 beds?). However, the location is great and the breakfast good, so I was happy to book again when I returned to Krakow.

This time we had a double room on the 1st floor. The apartment has 2 other double rooms and 1 shared bathroom with 2 shower cubicles and a separate toilet. There is also a shared kitchen, well equipped with a seating area and TV, and a PC in the hall for unlimited internet access. The double room is spacious with plenty of storage, a sofa and coffee table and a TV and DVD player. The furniture is decent (Ikea?) and the bed has a memory foam mattress. Very comfortable.

At less than 30 euros for the room, this is far above the standard most people expect of a hostel. A good buffet breakfast is available in the kitchen of the 2nd floor apartment (where Reception is), with some hot food and plenty of bread, cheese, meat, salad, etc. We even had pancakes one day.

Also, amazingly, they provide free food in the evenings. We were lucky enough to have the budget to go out to restaurants but to travellers on a low budget, free pizza, burgers, chips, etc must be very welcome. Not to mention homemade cakes and even vodka!

This Greg & Tom's is the original hostel and is quieter than Greg & Tom's II, which is the party hostel from which the staff lead the way to Krakow's clubs and bars.

If you are travelling as a couple on a budget, and are happy to share a bathroom and forego a hotel pool, gym, etc, you would be hard-pushed to find better accomodation in Krakow.

If you are travelling on a tighter budget, the dorm rooms are decent, but the food and overall value for money make this one of the best hostels in the world.

The staff are knowledgeable and helpful, the hostel is clean and comfortable and the location is excellent. From the airport, you take a shuttle train into the Old Town Railway Station. The Railway Station is accessed from the Galeria shopping mall, and you only have to cross the road from the mall to the hostel. From there, you can walk into the Main Square of the Old Town in 5 minutes. There are trams outside from where you can get all over the city and the bus station is only 5 minutes away too.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building get some traffic noise from the main road outside.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHoneyBee-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

staff were really friendly, there are 3 greg and toms hostels in krakow and there is the chance to join in the fun a other hostels too, and free dinner OMG! would recomend to everyone. only negatives we could find were: there was only one shower+toliet on our floor for 12 guests. there is also no lift so carrying my 20kg suitcase 4 floors was hard!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the sister hostel across from the train station, we preferred this actually as was quieter! Amazing hostel, staff soooooooo friendly, free hot and cold breakfast and FREE DINNER!!! How great! We joined the main party hostel for the party night and pub crawl and was fun and friendly night! Only negative point was the one shower and toilet between lots of dorms but a small negative amongst such amazing positives!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Vienna House Andel's Cracow
Kleparz
PURO Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 261 in Krakow
538 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 444 in Krakow
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greg & Tom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greg & Tom Hostel

Address: Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 444 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contrary to some hostels, you can check in at any time and wait for your bed in our comfortably furnished common room, having cup of coffee and a chat with our staff. Check out time is at 10am but after that you can still use the common areas of the hostel.For the hungry ones: DAILY FREE BREAKFASTS & FREE DINNERS!!What else do we offer: Three fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves, cooker, toaster, fridge with free filtered water and an ice maker for your fancy drinks. Free tea, coffee, milk fruits and cereal available 24/7 Spacious dorms and double rooms, modern bathrooms with massage showers. Free Internet and Wi-Fi, CD burning and printing, 3 huge flat screen TVs with hundreds of channels (music, sport, film, fashion) and a massive collection of DVDs (over 300 movies!) to enjoy while comfortably seated on our soft sofas. Free towel, linen, padlocks and security lockers. No curfew, no lockout!Broad tourist information, free maps and guidebooks.We also provide: Multilingual, experienced and energetic staff available 24/7 to help with the craziest issues: we help to buy tickets, look for the best bus or trains connections. IMPORTANT: AGE LIMIT FOR GREG&TOM from 18 to 50 YEARS OLD. No stags, no school groups. We only accept group bookings of no more than 6 people. Anyone caught breaking this rule will be charged for the whole stay and have their reservation cancelled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Greg & Tom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing