We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag Party - Sorted/Job done”
Review of Hostel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Giraffe
Ranked #276 of 425 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
1 review
“Stag Party - Sorted/Job done”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What can yoy say. Cheap and Clean. Bar open all night and morning ;) Stones throw from main boozing part. Also highly recommend Crazy Stag to organise your pranks. Biggy day hummer and kidnapping were quality. Stag a broken man.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
15
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is nice! The staff are helpful and it's in a convenient location in a superb city! The hostel is cheap and cheerful for what it is, don't expect luxury but you won't be horrified. The giraffe theme is carried out throughout the place which is a nice touch

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AislingSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double room in Hostel Giraffe for one night on an Interrailing trip in August 2013. We arrived from a night train just after 7am and, although we obviously couldn't have our room, it wasn't a problem to let us repack and wash quickly before locking our bags in the luggage room and heading out to explore the city.
We had planned to return to mid-afternoon but didn't end up properly checking in until about 10pm. Our welcome was very friendly indeed, and we were given a hilarious and very funky map of the city, with a few key things pointed out. Our double room was a nicely done Ikea room, essentially, but we liked the privacy after other hostel stays on our trip.
The bed was very comfy, but using a single duvet and one blanket on a double bed did seem a bit strange. The giraffe theme is pretty cool though!
It was quite noisy at night but we were too tired to notice!
The showers weren't always 100% clean, but they were very nice for hostel showers in my experience!
Breakfast was free cereal, muesli and bread, which I thought was a very nice addition, and milk/coffee/sugar was even provided too, which was appreciated on our budget. On the whole, Hostel Giraffe was pretty much as we were expecting, with the added bonus of a very close location to the centre of town!
Highly recommended for budget travellers :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a private room with a double bed. Unfortunately there was only a single bed cover there... The staff wasn't very helpful, saying they didn't know if they could provide us with another one.
No towels in private room...
Also, there were some problems with cleanliness. And I mean not only with fungi on the walls in bathrooms, but also filth in the kitchen and our room.
If you don't mind staying up till 3-4 in the morning because of guests playing games in the hall (staff don't react at all) and a club with loud music outside - this is a place for you. Good luck with hygiene!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinKash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been to four hostels till now and this was the only one that had breakfast included even though I paid only 10€. The downside is the amount of people in the same room, but this is what hostels are :)

Lovely staff, always nice and helpful. The kitchen is very clean and the beds are already prepared for you :D has a bar with pool table and fuseball, as well as other games and ia close to the center. 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjbsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good and bad
This hostel is very basic, cheap, and well located. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The really cool thing about this place is that they offer to wash your clothes for about 5$. This was a blessing because after 2 weeks of traveling, I really needed it.

Overall, the facilities are clean. However, I got in late at night. Therefore, I tiptoed my way to the bed. When I slipped myself into the coverts, I felt a wet spot. I opened the lights that in addition to the “wet spot”, there was chewing Tabaco around my bed… Anyways, I hope you will be luckier that I. Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The services are all awesome! We had really good times here with easigoing peoplr in the center of krakow! Was really nice and it's a good way to start experience this incredible city! The rooms is clean and all staff are very comprehensive! Its the best place for students to know eachother! Im from brazil and just loved here! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hostel Faust
#190 of 259 in Krakow
59 reviews
Deco Hostel
#55 of 425 in Krakow
161 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hostel Yellow
Hostel Yellow
#312 of 425 in Krakow
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pillows Party Hostel
#118 of 425 in Krakow
49 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#31 of 425 in Krakow
261 reviews
Stare Miasto
Good Bye Lenin Revolution Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Giraffe

Property: Hostel Giraffe
Address: ul. Krowoderska 31, Krakow 31-141, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 425 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Giraffe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Hostel & Bar - best place to stay in Krakow. Our hostel is located in the city center - in walking distance from the Main Square, Wawel castle, Barbican and the main train/bus station.We offer you cheap and comfortable accommodation in dorms and private rooms. Our price includes:- all-you-can-eat breakfast- free use of computer, internet and WiFi- free welcoming shot in our bar- free use of pool table, Playstation, football table, TV and collection of DVD movies- free use of clean sheets and blankets- towels in private rooms- free safe and luggage room- free map- wide range of tour tickets available at the reception- free tourist info- and last but not least - extremely good atmosphere which our amazing staff will provide!We will make your stay in Krakow unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing