We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay!!!”
Review of ARS Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ARS Hostel
Ranked #206 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Stay!!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hostel is the worst accommodation I have ever seen.
We were told (after they took our money) that the private room we booked was not available so we were put in a different room.
The room was filthy, dirt on all surfaces/floor/window. The beds had no sheets, duvet or pillow covers! Just a mattress which were all stained or dirty.
Room backs on to the communal area so very noisy.
There were no storage lockers as it says in the information.
No seating in the room.
There was NO lighting on the stairs/corridors up to the room, quite unsafe.
Being a cheap hostel is no excuse for such poor levels of hygiene or safety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VW3343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
5
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My friend and I arrived at Ars hostel all excited for our trip only to be told on arrival that our booking had been cancelled and we had been sent an email telling us this. My friend checked her emails there and then and she had not received any emails. We were very unhappy. The guy could not speak much English but told us he would book us somewhere else. He booked us into a cheaper, not very nice hostel, however we felt we could not do much about it having arrived in Poland for the first time and being unable to speak the language. The man insisted that we should have been sent an email despite us telling him we had not.
When we arrived home we got sent an email from the hostel asking us to rate our experience there having stayed! Very confused and annoyed as we had clearly not been sent an email. We had to hang around in the city centre as the man took a few hours to find an alternative for us.
Not impressed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank memacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slawek444, Owner at ARS Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
thank you for your rating, bu we afraid it is not fair to rate the property when the guest did not stay there even an hour...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hostel is really well located, just a few blocks from Krakows city center. The staff was great: incredibly friendly, they even took us out on the evenings to get to know the city nightlife.
The prices were modest but we were surprised by how much this hostel had to offer... the bedrooms were huge, lots of showers, delicious breakfast, nice and confy beds... The hostel was created by travelers so they really know what is necessary for a great stay. You can't go wrong with Ars Hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatesoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went on a trip to Krakow a few weeks back and this seemed like the hostel with the best reviews. When we go there we understood why. When we arrived at the bar downstairs we had a quick and extremely cheap pint while we sorted out the keys and everything and had a chat with the very friendly hostel staff.

The hostel is upstairs through a secure door. There is a large living room with TV, computer, cards board games etc and a small kitchen with kettle, microwave etc. The whole hostel was spotless and was cleaned every day, the bedding was clean and there were secure boxes in each of the rooms and free internet throughout.

The location was good, there was a supermarket round the corner, bars and restaurants dotted around and it was about twenty mintues walk to the main square. Having said this it was not particularly loud at night and easy enough to sleep.

The staff were also very good, spoke good english and told us a few places to go. Plus when one our party came down with food poisoning, they went out to get him some stuff from the chemist and came back with a couple of beers for the rest of us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malky_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Really charming Hostel. The location is perfect (between the old town and the Jewish Area). The street is calm (so no noise eduring the night). The staff is really welcoming and helpfull (when we arrivie they spontaneously give us a map a advice about pace to visit). Godd atmosphere in the hotel. Quite clean and the bed were OK. Breafkast is simple but it is included. Good qualtiy price ratio.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melpraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed at Ars Hostel twice now and every time receive a really personal and informative experience. The hostel is kept extremely clean and is located close to all the attractions. If you are stuck for things to do in Krakow speak with the reception who will offer advice and can help you get to the further sights of Auswitz and the Salt mines. I particularly enjoyed hearing about and sampling the local cuisine with the staff and going to try the local bars.

If you are travelling through Krakow or going for a holiday stay at ARS hostel

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm room on both visits and now complaints about the quality of the beds or noise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just finished a 3 night stay here in Krakow. There was very little wrong with the hostel, clean, comfortable etc with free internet (though it was patchy and struggled when there were a few people online). It's in a great location, a five minute walk from the old town and round the corner from wawel castle and hill.

The service was decent too, exorcising l especially from the young lad in the morning.

Only downside was the inevitable snorer, but that wasn't the hostels fault.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Alef
Hotel Alef
#186 of 259 in Krakow
45 reviews
Stare Miasto
Pokoje Goscinne Dom sw. Szymona
Greg & Tom Party Hostel
#13 of 418 in Krakow
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Club-Hotel Atlantic
Club-Hotel Atlantic
#30 of 128 in Krakow
109 reviews
Stare Miasto
B Movie Hostel
B Movie Hostel
#307 of 418 in Krakow
124 reviews
Stare Miasto
Boomerang Apartments
Boomerang Apartments
#37 of 128 in Krakow
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARS Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARS Hostel

Property: ARS Hostel
Address: ul. Koletek 7, Krakow 31-069, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Stradom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — ARS Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, only 200 m to Wawel Hill, Kazimierz- former Jewish district with numbers of pubs, restaurants. Close to Main Market Square and famous discos. We organize free animation programs and free guided Krakow city tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your ARS Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing