We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Krakow”
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #106 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed March 11, 2014

For the price we paid you couldn't argue with the great value for money. It was exceptionally central, clean, good breakfast and staff who couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were fairly basic but absolutely adequate and being on the first floor didn't need to use the lift which appeared to be slow or not working at points.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel but had a bar toastie at night which was very good. If you are looking for an unpretentious hotel which has a great location just minutes from the old town then you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 737 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Basically you have 2 choices when you walk out the front door of this hotel. Turn left and you have about an 8 minute walk to the main square in Krakow. Turn right and go around the corner to a massive shopping mall. The hotel was clean and tidy, room was ok, breakfast was good. If we go to Krakow again this is the hotel I would stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Matejko for 5 nights in March 2014. All the reviews on TA said it was Central, but I didn’t realise how close this was. We walked left out the hotel for 100’ish meters and in through the gates of the old city under the portcullis and surrounded by its high walls now used as a gallery by local artists selling their artworks.
The hotel is clean and efficiently run, thank to a lot of your advice here which said get a low floor, we unfortunately forgot of course holiday excitement won over. But we were lucky enough to end up on the first floor in an idealic corner room 105. With its gigantic balcony and suite like appearance including a separate sleeping chamber, I think it may have been one of the biggest rooms in the hotel.
The reason I said luckily we ended up on a low floor was because the lift was abysmally slow, I had read your reviews and we used it once on arrival and not again, sometimes life is just not worth wasting with its model T like speeds. The rooms were basic but clean, no safe and the TV had one English speaking channel, BBC world, but you don’t go away to watch tv. The shower was powerful and had a spa-like setup with multiple heads and lots of hot water and the bed was comfortable although it could have used more pillows. I think this is a winner and Yes, I am easy to please sometimes when it hits My 3 C’s criteria.
The Food, Breakfast was the typical European fare, including eggs, Boiled and scrambled, for some reason chopped hot-dogs, cheese, meats, cereals and lots of bread. The bread in Poland is something not to miss, although the breakfast bread is a basic example of this I would strongly advise you not to miss out on buying the bread from the cart vendors on the street, it costs 1.5Zt (Around .25cents) these became our staple snacks while exploring. Don’t go down to breakfast too late, they don’t restock the boiled eggs and some other products, also the coffee machine is probably one of the most infuriating items in the hotel, please Hotel Matejko put in a coffee pot, make it easier for us all.
We didn’t eat in the Hotel Matejko for dinner, there were too many options around, but it seems fairly priced and offers basic polish Fare to try, I don’t know if the hotel have them, but make sure the try the potato cakes while in Poland, well worth a try.
Finally, Location, there is one more gem just a few doors down from the hotel, a tour groups office, these are left out the door and a few doors down on the left. We actually used this company to go to auschwitz and birkenau and the salt mines, the great thing for people staying in the Hotel Matejko as pick up and drop off are at the office, so nice for the 9am pickups.
Other than that, we will go back and we will be staying in the Hotel Matejko again, hopefully in room 105.
Enjoy Poland and Krakow, the bread, the market, the Amazing Beer, the sweets, and everything else.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the corner, we had 105, although 205, 305 etc all have huge balcony'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel couldn't be better located for the Main square, train station and shopping centre. Rooms are clean, beds comfy, shower decent and an ok breakfast (it's actually a very good breakfast just gets very boring after 3 days) but can't grumble at that for the price - fantastic value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The main reasons I have stayed in this hotel for the second time are:
Pros:
-location ( 5 min walking to the Central train station and ''Brama Florianska'': main gate to the Old Town), and in the same time relatively quiet location ( not in the center of nightlife)
-excellent value for the centrally located hotel ( paid less than 30€ per night)
-good choice open buffet breakfast included ( although not the top quality)
-friendly staff at the reception

Cons
-outdated and low quality furniture
-very slow and loud lift
-quality of the breakfast was not the best ( especially processed juices)

Considering location and room prices, I would recommend this hotel to anybody on business or vacations

Room Tip: For the best views ( although they won't be spectacular ) choose the top floor far from the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is our second year at this hotel with a large group of us. They are very accommodating. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable for price range. Very clean with nice bathrooms with counter space.

Great coffee and buffet in the morning.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank chickefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Positive
Close near old square, perfect breakfast, clean room.
Negative
Wi-fi for a fee, no hair dryer, no working TV (good bye Olympic translations), bad communication online.

Generally, it's a nice place for one night standing, but there are a lot of snug hotels and hostels around with friendly stuff who take care about guests.

Room Tip: It was bus station under our room. So it can be a problem in summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9krolikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#25 of 261 in Krakow
543 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#92 of 261 in Krakow
489 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#47 of 261 in Krakow
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#69 of 261 in Krakow
482 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $51 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing