We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #107 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location , 2 Mins walk from the Main Railway station & 3 Mins walk to Old Town Square.
Decent Breakfasts, and very helpful staff.
Staff arranged our Salt Mine trip and Auschwitz trip. All went very smoothly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_131Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 736 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

By chance we booked Hotel Matejko and stayed there in March. We were not expecting much as the price seem so good but were willing to chance it in order to visit Krakow. But then it proceeded to exceed all our expectations. Clean, friendly, well-run, quiet location, 5 minutes walk from the heart of Krakow, close to the railway station and a very classy shopping centre. Our last trip gave us absolutely no cause to complain. So, as a treat, we decided to book for another short stay in October. Was the hotel as good as before? Absolutely. For us a perfect place to stay when visiting the wonderful city of Krakow. The only thing to be aware of is that the rooms do not have air conditioning so might be rather warm in the summer. However avoid visiting between June and September and you will be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

22 lads on tour in Krakow and the lowest common denominator sets the limit for the accommodation. All for one and all that.This is a fine hotel with excellent staff. Do not expect a Michelin star though. You will not be wining and dining in here. A fantastic location. It's a five minute walk to the main square and the centre of Krakow old town. Rooms are functional and clean; cleaned every day too. Shower is a power job. There is a flat screen TV but why would you be watching TV on holiday?

All in all, I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwwlsnr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel for a short break. Breakfast was nice, they even have a restaurant for evening meals, quality and choice is good.
We stayed in an economy double, it was a lovely and comfortable room.
You are five mins walk from the old town Centre and also a massive shopping mall, that is right next to the train station.
So if you arrive at the airport, just jump on the train for a couple of Zloty, or pay roughly £30 for a taxi. The bus station is only a 10 min walk for visiting Auschwitz, this is a MUST do trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianluvschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

located a 5 min brisk walk from the main square this hotel was very good. We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. Breakfast was standard fare (continental) however food was regularly replenished and the bread was especially nice. Rooms were basic but kept clean and we were surprised to find out we had a sauna in the room! Only downside to the room is we were next to the cleaners room and in the morning the cleaners would talk with the door open. Will def be coming back next year though.

Room Tip: avoid a room next to the cleaners store room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was just the job. We arrived to be greeted by a sweet and helpful young receptionist and departed the same way. No problems. Breakfast choices were good, covering many tastes, hotel was very clean, room was basic but no more than we needed. We were on fourth floor and looking out of our window we could see the the church just across the road - but didn't hear the bells at all.
Location is good, about 10 mins to heart of the main square, five to the gateway. If you come out of the hotel and turn left, the coffee shop furthest along the road was excellent. If you turn right and right again, 150 yards brings you to the huge shopping centre.
Krakow is awash with restaurants and bars, and many are so cheap I cringed. You pay more on the main square but still less than my local. Negotiate the electric cart around the city tour, worth while. Try the one hour 'gondola' sail along the river from close by the castle, less than a fiver each.
We hired krakow@bobtaxi.com.pl to take us to Auschwitz. Nice guy, totally reliable and friendly and he looked after us.
Happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christheblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for two night on a short tip to Krakow and Auschwitz. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk (4mins) and your in the centre square. The hotel is pretty dated and doesn't have any feel personality to it but for a few nights it was perfectly adequate. Our room (412) was quite a large room but I was disappointed that out view backed onto the back of another building, it would have been nice to have a room that have a street view. The bathroom was very large however due to it being a disabled room the shower was directly over a disabled seat making it very awkward to shower. The shower curtain didn't fit the rail properly and subsequently we have a small river in the bathroom running into the bedroom. There was also a large stain on the floor which didn't look very nice. The bed however was very large and comfy! No hairdryer in the room and you also only get one bottle of water for your entire stay. Breakfast was average for me. There was a selection of meats, cheeses, yoghurts, tinned fruit in a bowl, teas and coffees etc! We had breakfast the first morning but decided that it was worth getting up the next morning for it :( All in all an ok hotel for the price (£50 per night) and the location makes up for its downfalls! Could be a great little hotel with some work and modifications!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#25 of 261 in Krakow
542 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#93 of 261 in Krakow
486 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#46 of 261 in Krakow
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#70 of 261 in Krakow
482 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $51 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing