We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time out in Krakow”
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #105 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I recently stayed in Hotel Matejko in Krakow. I was a lone traveller and found this hotel to be just perfect, very near the main tourist area, Stare Miaste and also the bus/train station. It was clean and comfortable with good food and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 747 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Very good 3 star hotel. Excellent location as only few minutes from stations and main square . Rooms big, breakfast filling and front staff very Helpful.
Had to leave early to catch plane after my visit and they made me a take away breakfast. Super. Thank you really enjoyed my stay in krakow

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my husband, our room was big and warm with a comfy bed. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. It's location is ideal not far from train station or the main square. I think we a good choice staying at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hendygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to Cracow many times, but this is the first time that I have stayed at Hotel Matejko. I didn't know what to expect, but I quickly discovered that I made the right choice. I really did enjoy my stay at Hotel Matejko. If arriving by train, save yourself some money and just walk to the place from the train station, plus you'll go by a nice galleria mall and get a chance to grab something that you may need before you check into the hotel. Checking in is a breeze, lovely front desk staff, and you will feel at ease and at home as soon as you walk into the place. My room was very clean and I had a nice view of a church and beautiful mature trees. What I love about these smaller hotels in central Cracow, and in Poland in general, is that you can open the windows and get some fresh morning air. The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic, and you can walk to all the main attractions. The breakfast was included and I enjoyed it very much. I also had dinner once at the hotel restaurant. It was very good and both the waitress and the chef were very accommodating with respect to some changes and additions to what I have ordered that evening. The hotel has a little courtyard and I took my breakfast over there, plus would drop by there for a drink or coffee. It's a very small outdoor space, but cozy. There is a tour guide business on the same street, so you can have breakfast and then just take any tour that it offers. I went to Wieliczka, the famous salt mine, which is a must to see when visiting Cracow and the area. Great location, excellent value, very clean, safe, and pleasant staff. I will be returning to Cracow and I do plan to stay at Hotel Matejko for the second time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location 150 yds From the station. Clean and good value. Buffet breakfast not bad and served 7-10. Nice warm rooms and again clean. TV and a phone book, thats it, no coffee making facilities, hair dryer, pen and paper, maps, guide books etc. although I'm sure most of these things would have been avaliable from reception. BIG gripe - they charge for wi-fi. come on this is 2013 !! Still at least they do have it. I paid £25 a night early Feb. Have stayed before and will use again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice book lower floors. Lift is not super quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Very central. Decor is a little dated but the hotel is clean and warm. Staff friendly.Slept very well. Very good breakfast buffet. Small bar with decent enough hot food menu. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed there only one night but i chose it because reasonable price and very good location - close to the Main Square in Krakow. The breakfast was included in price and very tasty. The room not so big but enought to spend time comfortable (it was not real double bed but joined two single beds). Soon I'm going to Krakow again by business trip and I'm sure i will stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dybek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#76 of 262 in Krakow
484 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 262 in Krakow
554 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#44 of 262 in Krakow
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#90 of 262 in Krakow
1,491 reviews
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel by Artery Hotels
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#48 of 262 in Krakow
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $42 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing