We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
192
408
142
34
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
408
142
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationold towngreat locationshopping centrechurch bellsthe main squarebasic hotelbreakfast selectionthree stargood sizeshort breakminute walkno air conour room was spaciouscoffee machinepublic transportcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 790 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Quiet, nice, low profile hotel perfect for tourists arriving to Krakow by train. It takes 5 minutes walk to get here from arrival platform. To get to Florianska Gate and to enter famous Old Town takes another 5 minutes. Guests have easy access to trams and busses hub located near Central Railway Station. Rooms are clean, neat and quite spacious and they serve tasty, filling breakfast. A large shopping mall- Galeria Krakowska- is just around the corner near the train station. But I strongly recommend to walk in the opposite direction, to market place called Stary Kleparz. It is open daily, with stands selling traditional, fresh, quality food. Among them bundz and oscypek- the famous cheeses from Zakopane/Tatras region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoczmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Rooms not available on first night but problem resolved without fuss and upgraded to best rooms. Great location for station and square. Warm, comfortable and friendly. Would have no hesitation in rebooking at the Matejko.

Room Tip: Go for the appartment rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked this hotel for our last night in Kirakow, mainly because of is location, so that we could get to the bus station by walk since we had an early morning flight.

The hotel is pretty huge and it seems a pretty old building. It is located just outside the old city, in a central but still quiet area. The interiors seems like a bit old, kind of soviet style thing, the bathroom especially. Breakfast is pretty awesome, a proper continental breakfast in every aspect, so if that's crucial to you this might be the right choice.

Anyway, it is a great choice if you need to get fast to the bus station. I wouldnt stay for a longer holiday period, it seemed pretty bleak and lacking the small things that make you feel like home when you come back after a whole day walking around in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bum_around2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is the location. Just around the corner from the train station, shopping mall, and about ten minutes walk from the old city and main square. Be aware that the rooms are not aircon. During my stay the temperature reached 37C, and although I was given a large fan, it was still hot. Breakfast very good, although other hotel meals were nothing spectacular. Web site says laundry available, not so. I also purchased a Krakow Card for my stay, but it was not honoured by 2 services, including the bus to salt mines. Repeated emails to provider were ignored.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is situated withing 2 minutes walk of the Krakow galleria and a 5 minute walk of the main market square.
At certain times of the day the bells of church opposite play pieces of music - like an over sized music box .
It was clean, comfortable and quiet (unless you opened your windows - but hey! you're staying in the city what do you expect?
Staff were pleasant and efficient and breakfast was as good as breakfast that we have had at any hotel (including hotels that charge much more)
The bar is open until 10pm but in truth, I didn't want to drink in the hotel while I was visiting such a beautiful and facinating city!

I would highly recommend the Matejko for anyone who wants to spend time in the city rather than the hotel.

Warning ....be careful how you pronounce the word Matejko ... I tried speaking it on my phone app and ended up asking "Where is the hotel of your testicles" it's put me off trying to speak Polish for life :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in 106 which had a beautiful view of the church!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews