We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and quite”
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #104 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It is in walking distance to the old town and the train station. The room is pretty big with a nice view outside the window. In the night the room is quiet as well.
The bed sheets and towels are clean. The facilities are a little old. Especially for the shower, you can smell the sewer, which is not very pleasant.
The breakfast is average. The wireless internet is not included in the room price. However it is not expensive. In general, we thought it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hzlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 747 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights
The room was ok but nothing special and furniture old already. Unfortunately we got a room facing the street. Even I’m sleeping soundly, it was hard to sleep due to the noise of the cars - and it was always very warm in the room. The breakfast was ok.
Good thing: The place is close to old town as well as the train/ bus station

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We should have read all the reviews more carefully. No air conditioning in the bedroom and it was hot, hot, hot on our visit. I barely slept for the five nights we were there. As other reviewers have said, opening the window to get some air results in the noisiest street we have encountered since we were in New York. The breakfast was OK but the male staff members went out of their way to avoid any interaction with you. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFoodyinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is a nice, up-to-date 3-star property. The rooms are large and comfortable with wired internet and LCD TV (small, but adequate), and lots of hot water. The double pane windows keep out street noise. Breakfast is not fancy - all the normal selections and they do have scrambled eggs. Be aware the double beds are 2 beds pushed together. That's not uncommon for Europe. There's no mini-bar and the wifi is paid, but it is not expensive. The hotel is located just outside the walls of the old city, so you are right up close to most of the activities to do inside Krakow. If you stay somewhere inside the walls, you will have to drag your suitcase over cobblestones. It is about a 10 minute walk from the bus and train stations, though navigating that is a bit convoluted. You have to go under or around a shopping mall. While in Krakow, definitely go to the Wieliczka salt mine. It is 700 years old and a huge attraction, containing chapels, scultpures, a restaurant, a banquet hall and more. All carved out of the salt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel late March 2012 for my 21st birthday with my girlfriend and two friends. Hotel is in a great location. The rooms were very well kept. Breakfast wasnt brilliant but the main square is a five minute walk away with loads of cafes to choose from !

Krakow is a lovely place and would definitely come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1991Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

brilliant location near main square and train/bus station, great breakfast and helpful staff the only one thing that lets them down is no air conditioning and when u opened the window was noisy all night long! so was either very hot or very noisy! overall very good value for money! more like 4 stars with all the toiletries, cleanliness and comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmajewska77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

For a third visit to Krakow, with the family, I chose the Matejko for location and the very reasonable price. The location is superb - a less than 10 minute walk to the central Plaz of the Old City, and a short walk to the Train and Bus stations - useful if you are travelling out of Krakow, and also for travel to and from the airport. The hotel itself is very comfortable - with spacious, clean rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, and a very comprehensive breakfast is provided. The only 'downside' is the considerable noise from the street throughout the night from the front of the hotel. Because there was no airconditioning and the weather was very hot, we had to have windows open at night, but the noise from the street did wake us in the night. I wouldn't not come to this hotel because of this. Infact highly commend it and would stay again. But if you are a light sleeper, be aware of this and perhaps ask for a room away from the street. Otherwise, an excellent base from which to explore Krakow.

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper, choose a room that doesn't look onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#77 of 262 in Krakow
484 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#27 of 262 in Krakow
552 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#45 of 262 in Krakow
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#91 of 262 in Krakow
1,490 reviews
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel by Artery Hotels
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#48 of 262 in Krakow
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $42 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing