We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nordic House Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nordic House Apartments
Ranked #145 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break (couples) and can highly recommend it.
The service was great and they were more than willing to help with any problems or advice needed on where to go etc.
Upon arrival we were unsure as to what to expect. As other reviews have mentioned, you walk into a dark dingy hallway followed by a few flights of warped concrete stairs! As soon as we had booked in and seen our room though our opinions changed.
The rooms really are huge and kitted out with plenty of furniture. (beds were ok)
En suite bathroom was also a good size and well kitted out.
We did not eat at the apartments as we were out pretty late each night and didn't get up early enough!!

As for the location, well if your after a central location practically in the heart of all things Krakow, then this is the place for you!
Walk around the corner and your in the main square. The square is surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants! Some of the best bars are the ones beneath street level so not easy to find, don't be put off by the dark medieval looking entrances!

All in all, a great place to stay which has a central location, good clean rooms and a fair & reasonable price!
Eating & drinking in Krakow is still reallllly cheap so go now before the prices get hiked up!

Room Tip: Probably not best if your disabled as all of the rooms are on the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
51
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Got back from Krakow today after staying in the Nordic house apartments for 4 nights. Had been recommended this place by family so knew it would be good but was really pleased when arrived, literally just off the main square. Couldn't ask for a better location. The stairway is quite dark and dingy but the apartments are huge, very open and bright. The rooms were clean and modern, cleaner was in everyday making the bed. Only went for breakfast once as was at trips early the other days but was nice, chap was very friendly and asked if we wanted any information on the area.

Couldn't check in till 2pm which was bit of a pain aside arrived at 10am but just sat in cafe round the corner. Overall was very impressed, terms of price, location and space I'd give it 5/5. Hope to return some day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved our apartment on the 3rd floor. High ceilings, very spacious and the location is unbeatable next to the main square. The guy who manages was very friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was good, simple with ham, cheese, egg and coffee,juice.

We picked up our keys in the Sushi restaurant next door which felt strange in front of diners but the staff were friendly.

Read previous reviews about the flight of stairs. Well as an unfit 40 yr old, we were on the very top and yes it did test my fitness but in a good way...although if you have heavy luggage this could be testing...although you would only do this once! You can request the hotel to have a first or 2nd floor room if you wish.

Definitely recommend these apartments

Room Tip: There are 3 floors so if you are unfit to climb the stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me first say that the rooms are massive and clean. Thankfully the windows all open so you can get decent air flow through the room as there is no AC. We were on the third floor and sadly, the thing I will always remember about Nordic House, is the 87 steps from the ground floor to our rooms. Now with small bags that is fine but each of us has been away for a while and averaged a 21kg bag each plus carry on bags. Suffice to say, we struggled with our bags and minimised trips to our rooms. They also provided breakfast which was basic but fine and included coffee. There was also a minor debacle getting the keys from the Sushi shop when we arrived. They were less than helpful and car parking in non existent.

Room Tip: Pick a hotel with a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and location is perfect - a side street off the main square with good restaurants next door. The room although large could do with updating but was fine. It had large windows so room was light and airy. Our room was on the top floor so many many stairs to climb - no lift. Breakfast excellent and down stairs in cellar - juice, coffee, bread rolls, cheese, ham and boiled egg which was terrific. Staff were lovely and so willing to help - can also arrange tours. We walked from the train station - allow 15-20 minutes if you don't get distracted by all of the beautiful architecture. Free WI-FI. Yes, we would stay again.

Room Tip: No lift so be aware of stairs. Balcony's on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The central location was excellent! The room it self was very basic old office room. Very good choice when you want a simple and cheap accommodation in central location and don´t mind dull interior (the old building it self is beautiful!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hekivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This property was our hands-down absolute favorite place (out of 7, if you were wondering) we stayed on a recent 17 day trip around Poland. It could also be Top 5 of all time so far.

The pros: the room was huge (#23, I believe), had incredibly tall ceilings, wood floors, fun artwork on the walls, and great big windows that overlooked a courtyard. We never heard another sound when in the room, it was super quiet. The bed was large (like 2 twins pushed together) with individual duvets so we didn't have to fight over them. It looked like most of the furniture was from Ikea, including two Poäng chairs that are mighty comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean, clean, clean.

The bathroom was likewise very large, with tasteful and subtle tile work, nice lighting, a towel warmer, and a full-sized hairdryer (!), not one of those half-powered travel ones most hotels have.

Location was excellent, just a block or so from the Main Market Square but far enough away that the room was very quiet. Breakfast was decent, kind of the usual fare (deli meat, bread, soft-boiled egg, coffee, juice, etc). And to top it all off, it was a tremendous value for Krakow lodging.

If we had to note any potential cons, it would be that our room was two flights of stairs up and we didn't notice a lift. I only mention this because if there isn't a lift, it might be difficult to navigate for mobility-challenged guests. There was also no shower soap provided (but hand soap and shampoo were), which is really a non-issue because there is a Rossmans store just a block away where you could easily rectify the situation if you didn't already have your own.

Without a doubt in our minds, we would wholeheartedly recommend Nordic House to anyone we know. And we really did want to move in - between Krakow itself and the Nordic House, we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieRoll09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#107 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#72 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Floryan
Hotel Floryan
#122 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#92 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hostel Faust
#203 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#27 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic House Apartments

Property: Nordic House Apartments
Address: ul. Sw. Anny 5 | Old Town, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordic House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Nordic House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic House Apartments Hotel Krakow
Nordic Hotel Krakow
Nordic Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing