We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B La Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B La Fontaine
Ranked #20 of 125 Krakow B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

What an absolute joke. Firstly we booked la fontaine ii but when we arrived it was apparently 'too cold' so was advised to stay in the spare room they had in la fontaine. The bb itself has a disgusting smell to it. We moved rooms as the room we were first given had dirty sheets and smelt of dust. In the new room we expreienced a few showers too many to be cold. Then the maids decided it would be ok for them to help themselves to make up. Thieves do not leave anything laying about. And to top it off we checked out and were asked to pay for our room. (Which we had already paid for and proved to them with emails and invoices) they then told us they would call the airport and not let us out of the country if we didn't pay them AGAIN. This left us no choice but to pay again. Staff were so angry and stuck up. Worst experience we have ever had and couldn't wait to see the back of the place!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tf143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    102
    41
    25
    28
See reviews for
63
82
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

perfect location just off the main square and a 15 minute walk to the train/bus station. Next time we go to krakow we will definitely be staying at the la fontaine. and as for people complaining that there was no lift i take a city break being up stairs as standard unless they state there is a lift not the other way round.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pre-flight-pints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nowhere on the booking agent's or the hotel's own website does it inform you that it has NO LIFT and is not suitable for disabled or older guests as you have to walk up six flights of stairs. Disgraceful. We had to find and pay for another hotel but were unable to get a refund. The reason - it's not illegal to FAIL TO MENTION SOMETHING THAT IS CRUCIAL TO YOUR DECISION.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krakow hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in this quaint hotel just off the marvellous main square in krakow. We stayed in room 3 a small attic room with, comfy bed, velux windows, TV, safe and wifi ideal for a short stay. Yes the stairs are a bit if a problem but we are both in our early fifties and not really that fit but we coped even on the odd occasion when we'd sampled too much of the local brew. We tried the breakfast and didn't really rate it. We also ate in the restaurant 1 evening and food was really good it cost £60 for 3 courses with a decent bottle of wine. The staff are friendly and polite. We would use this hotel again and have no problem in recommending it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

What the booking agency and the hotel's own website DOESN'T mention is that ALL the accommodation is on the 3rd floor and there is NO LIFT. We are seniors and could not manage the 77 steps but no refund given when we had to find another hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The reception desk is in the basement. The only hotel rooms are located on the third floor. There is no elevator. There is no warning about that in Hotel Website!
Hotel rooms are adopted attic.
Stairway is narrow and stip, so for older people going there with their suitcases is a very big challenge.

Closest parking is located about half mile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taszek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is situated at the main square so is in a brilliant location. We booked in at the hotel and then walked ten minutes through the town square to an apartment. The outside was being renovated at the time but this wasn't an issue. The apartment was an old period building and quite interesting to think what may have happened there in the past. The apartment itself was ok, two bedrooms, a kitchen/lounge. It was dark however, the lounge window overlooked a square inside the buildings.
It was clean and fairly comfortable. Nothing special but ok if you want to stay in a traditional building. Cant comment on the main hotel rooms as we didn't see them.
We assumed wrongly that breakfast was included, it wasn't very nice so I only had orange juice - they did not charge us for the breakfasts after I told them this. Other people seemed to enjoy the breakfast but I am very fussy!
Wi fi was not working in the apartment we stayed at - probably too far away.
Overall ok for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Stare Miasto
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#113 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Stare Miasto
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
The Spiski Palace by ApartmentsApart
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#39 of 407 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Stare Miasto
Apartments Rynek Glowny
Apartments Rynek Glowny
#96 of 407 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Fontaine

Property: B&B La Fontaine
Address: ul. Slawkowska 1, Krakow 31-014, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you Single/double/quadruple rooms with single or double beds, and 2-3 bedrooms apartments. Each room and apartment has a cozy lounge (equipped with a fridge and microwave oven). There is an air-conditioning, satellite TV, wifi and telephone in every room and apartment as well one or two bathrooms with a bath, hair-dryer and towels. We offer you also shared, fully-equipped kitchen is also at your disposal. The reception is open 24/24 and you try to do our best to make your trip in Cracow the best it could be! you can also organize to you transferts to the airport or to the main attractions in cracow . You also have a restaurant where you can have the breakfast between 7 and 11 o`clock and lunch/dinner all the day long ! Shared, fully-equipped kitchen is also at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your B&B La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b La Fontaine Hotel Krakow
Bed And Breakfast La Fontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing