We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of B&B La Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B La Fontaine
Ranked #23 of 131 Krakow B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The reception desk is in the basement. The only hotel rooms are located on the third floor. There is no elevator. There is no warning about that in Hotel Website!
Hotel rooms are adopted attic.
Stairway is narrow and stip, so for older people going there with their suitcases is a very big challenge.

Closest parking is located about half mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taszek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is situated at the main square so is in a brilliant location. We booked in at the hotel and then walked ten minutes through the town square to an apartment. The outside was being renovated at the time but this wasn't an issue. The apartment was an old period building and quite interesting to think what may have happened there in the past. The apartment itself was ok, two bedrooms, a kitchen/lounge. It was dark however, the lounge window overlooked a square inside the buildings.
It was clean and fairly comfortable. Nothing special but ok if you want to stay in a traditional building. Cant comment on the main hotel rooms as we didn't see them.
We assumed wrongly that breakfast was included, it wasn't very nice so I only had orange juice - they did not charge us for the breakfasts after I told them this. Other people seemed to enjoy the breakfast but I am very fussy!
Wi fi was not working in the apartment we stayed at - probably too far away.
Overall ok for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room with double bed. Our experience with the hotel was very good, the staff wanted to help us any way they could and it was always clean. I was also allowed to use their washing machine to wash our clothes which I thought was really nice :)
Breakfast buffet could have been better so its better to get some at the main square. We didn't mind the stairs bit if you are not fit it might be a real climb.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niseja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierreG1, reception at B&B La Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your comment , we hope to see you again in our hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is centrally located - just off the marvellous Krakow city square, but with three flights of stairs to climb, a windowless room, hard bed with inadequate bed covers, its more suited to those who really just need a place to crash at night.

On the plus side, we enjoyed a pleasant breakfast at the hotel, and being located so close to the city square was utterly enchanting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a number of family members stating in various rooms. The rooms are basic, in my room I could just fit under the shower ( 5"11), the wi-fi connection is great, the little sitting area which each room has outside is a great area to sit and relax. There is a fridge and microwave with cutlery for each room, a small kitchen at the end of the corridor with oven, washing machine etc.
The air con worked fine, we kept ours on all night and worked great once I had adjusted the settings. The staff are friendly and will carry you bags up the stairs if required. The 5 flights of stairs(70 odd steps) are a challenge. They do own a very nice apt across the road which does have a lift.The location is fantastic being just off the main square, but you must specify if you require a lift. The breakfast was extremely good, we went for breakfast at various times and always found plenty of food, catering for all tastes, the scrambled eggs are the best. Good value for money with a City Centre location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am a Hotel manager in the UK and I can advise all of you reading this to look for another place to stay and there is plenty to choose from in the same location for the same price.

My friends and I rented a 2 bedroom apartment. The welcome was nice but when we got to our room there was a very bad smell we didn't bother to ask why and we went out to see the city. We did figure out what was the problem very fast. At night we woke up to the roof leaking above our beds and the living room too. It was raining that night. The bad smell was Mould. In the morning the carpet in the whole room was wet and nasty. Thank god we only stayed for one night. At check out we mentioned the issue to the receptionist and she was so not helpful and just made excuses and I heard them all in my 13 year hotel carrier. She said this was odd and never happened before. I wonder why the room stank of mould if that was the first time. She said the building is owned by the catholic church and they ware asked to fix the roof but it has been taking a month now. I informed her that I would never rent a room in this state to any of my guests and if I knew there was a problem I would send the guest to another hotel and pay for their stay or at least warn them in advance.. Don't they know that mould can be deadly.

Do yourself a favour and find another place to stay...

5 Star for location only. Rest is 1 star = terrible

Room Tip: Find a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calipolkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and i and 2 other couples booked in here because of its price and location. Everything was as we expected, very clean, well ran and ideal for everything krakow had to offer. The only downside was the 77 steps up to the rooms but we were aware of this so we cant really complain. downstairs bar is slightly pricey but its what you would expect for such a fine place. Very helpful staff, down to earth and eager to help and impress( which they did !!!).Well worth the stairs (puff- pant ), we were all well chuffed with La fontaine.

Room Tip: they were all good and served the purpose perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#18 of 262 in Krakow
967 reviews
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#116 of 262 in Krakow
121 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 262 in Krakow
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orlowska Townhouse
#1 of 131 in Krakow
369 reviews
Stare Miasto
Globtroter Guest House
Globtroter Guest House
#4 of 131 in Krakow
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Fontaine

Address: ul. Slawkowska 1, Krakow 31-014, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range: $30 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B La Fontaine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you Single/double/quadruple rooms with single or double beds, and 2-3 bedrooms apartments. Each room and apartment has a cozy lounge (equipped with a fridge and microwave oven). There is an air-conditioning, satellite TV, wifi and telephone in every room and apartment as well one or two bathrooms with a bath, hair-dryer and towels. We offer you also shared, fully-equipped kitchen is also at your disposal. The reception is open 24/24 and you try to do our best to make your trip in Cracow the best it could be! you can also organize to you transferts to the airport or to the main attractions in cracow . You also have a restaurant where you can have the breakfast between 7 and 11 o`clock and lunch/dinner all the day long ! Shared, fully-equipped kitchen is also at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Fontaine
b&b La Fontaine Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing