We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Terrific Attention to Detail”
Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #14 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a stunning hotel, in a perfect location- a short stroll to the Rynek (Market Sq) and 10 minute walk to the centre of the unmissable Old Jewish Quarter- but still a little removed from the main tourist thoroughfare, so is nice and quiet.
The outside of the building is pretty non-descript and easy to miss, but the interior is stunning. Medieval-style finish melded beautifully with modern, warm and welcoming decor. Whoever designed the hotel had a terrific eye for new and old world detail- the glass doors with old iron hinges, as well as the display cases showing pieces of pottery and coins found during re-construction- all found in the breakfast room- particularly impressed me.
And the breakfast itself is fantastic; whatever you could want is provided- from smoked fish, cheeses and meats to fruit, aspic, cereals, pastries and eggs cooked fresh to your liking. There is enough good food to keep you going until a late lunch.
Each room is unique and tastefully decorated, in keeping with the rest of the hotel. And if you want to get away from it all for a while, there is a lovely rooftop terrace from where you can enjoy a cold piwo and hear the hourly trumpet call from St Mary's.
Overall, this is a beautiful, centrally located hotel that I would happily recommend. The only reason I don't give it the full five star rating is the slow service in the bar and the fact you get no additional facilities. There is no small fitness room or pool- something I like to take advantage of before breakfast in hotels. The Sauna that is available costs additional money, which I found annoying considering it is in the higher price bracket for Krakow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xaribdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 683 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is on a nondescript (though not unattractive) dead end street. However, this quiet location is just a very brief walk to the market square, cafes, and shops. The location couldn't be better. The hotel itself is charming and comfortable. Every member of the staff was very friendly and helpful with very good English. Our room was a good size and prettily decorated with furniture you don't see in modern hotels. My only quibble is that the bed had an old and not very comfortable mattress and one of the two upholstered chairs in the room was also past its prime. The included breakfast was the best of our trip which included three other hotels. Imagine, hard cooked quail eggs with caviar was just one offering. The dinner we had there was also excellent. We really appreciated the old fashioned charm of this little gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a find!! Great location, delightfully furnished rooms if a bit crowded still very comfortable. Old building renovation very creative, smart interior but blending into and celebrating the historic architectural features. Very helpful concierge staff generous with suggestions and insights. Breakfast was abundant, seasonal and delicious. EVERYTHING in the historic center within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in this small boutique hotel for 4 nights last week and it was fabulous. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts were the best I have ever experienced. We had fast free Wifi and the staff were really good. Add to this the central location on a very quiet road and you have the ideal hotel in Krakow

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunloversLincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Grodek is part of a small chain of luxury hotels in and around Krakow. The service is wonderful, the location is perfect - on a quiet street close to the Main Square. The rooftop terrace is beautiful and the breakfast buffet is absolutely incredible. We were in room 307 which was lovely and quiet. Krakow is a wonderful place. We loved being there and staying at the Grodek.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyGrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The city of Krakow is just wonderful and should be on everyone's Bucket List. This hotel has a great location and the rooms are very comfortable. The employees all have excellent English which was very important to us. I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Grodek for 4 days during the first week of June.

We arrived by train at 7:00 AM, and our room was ready. We stayed in room 305. It is a large room with a beautiful collection of wood furniture, and historic art on the walls. In fact the whole hotel is filled with beautiful art and polished wood furniture that gleams. It's really lovely. The queen sized bed in our room was comfortable, and the linens were crisp and clean.

The breakfasts were outstanding. There is a large assortment of dishes at the buffet, and eggs will be made to order. I cannot stress enough how delicious the breakfast was. If you're a big breakfast eater, you really have to stay here. The breakfast room is bright and scrupulously clean. Service is reserved, but efficient and professional.

Front desk staff speak excellent English if you don't speak Polish. If you speak terrible first-generation North American Polish (like me!) they will be patient and kind if you insist on conducting transactions in Polish.

There is a rooftop terrace which is wonderful. There are lots of geraniums (pelargoniums?) and tables with comfortable chairs, and a big canopy for shade. It is accessible by elevator or by stairs. The only thing I'd improve on the terrace is to make it smoke-free.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and there were no rooms above us, so I don't know if the floor is creaky. I did notice when we were going up and down stairs that they seemed new, and very solidly built aka silent.

Water pressure was fine and I think the water is a little on the softer side, which was very nice. Air con seems a little weak, and shuts down/takes some time to reboot if you open a window.

Gay travellers take note: we had no issues with check-in, no raised eyebrows, nothing that made us feel uncomfortable in any way. We weren't sure how the reception would be since attitudes can be a little conservative in areas. You should not have any issues at the Grodek.

If we return to Kraków we will rebook the Gródek without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor if you don't want to hear anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CowboyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Hotel Wentzl
#12 of 261 in Krakow
1,099 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 261 in Krakow
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#22 of 261 in Krakow
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $104 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing