We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #9 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here recently and enjoyed it but the experience was greatly lessened by the room which was really only suitable as a single. With only one small case each we had difficulty moving about. Pity, as the hotel is quaint, well located, nice staff, and a reasonable breakfast.
We had a better experience elsewhere in Krakow

Room Tip: Double standard may be too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    117
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
354
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Grodek in June 2013 for 7 nights as part of a tour group in a nicely decorated and comfortable room. Although I usually walked to my room on the third floor, there was an elevator available. There were two bottles of water included with the room (one "with gas" and one without). The bathroom was bright and clean. The room temperature was not always consistent, but for the most part it was comfortably cool. We had a breakfast buffet every morning which included everything from omelets cooked to order to breads, cheeses, meats and fruit. The staff was friendly, courteous and attentive, both in the restaurant and at the front desk. One of the best features of the hotel is that it is a short walk from Krakow's main Market Square and a bit longer walk from several notable churches and the Wawel Castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My sister and I originally booked a room in the Grodek’s sister hotel, the Pugetow. When we learned that the Pugetow could not easily accommodate certain of my sister’s health issues, Pugetow management worked with the management of the Grodek and found us a suitable room. The service commitment in the Donimirski chain is simply superb and very deeply appreciated.
The Grodek is in a beautiful, classy building a few steps off the Planty, and an easy stroll from the Mariacka cathedral and the Rynek. It’s in a charming, cozy neighbourhood, with some very lovely shopping and restaurants. It has an elevator that takes you to a peaceful rooftop garden from which you can see the Mariacka and other rooftops. If you prefer, the staircases are easy to find and very charming, with artwork and curios and gorgeous ironwork.
Our room had two single beds and faced across a tiny courtyard to a large wall covered in green climbing vines. Every morning there was a verdant glow from that wall. The windows were huge, six or eight huge panes, and opened both vertically and horizontally, as many European windows do. Some people may not like that view (the green wall) but we found it relaxing and peaceful.
The room was quite large and comfortable, with a coffee / tea maker, which we made good use of. The bathroom was sufficient and the plumbing worked well. We had a room safe that was well sized and welcome, bathrobes, a small fridge, and extra chairs. There was lots of space for our clothes as well as our shopping, in drawers and countertops. The only complaint was that the beds were quite low and soft – we’re used to firmer and higher mattresses. After a bit of effort from the hotel staff the air conditioning worked perfectly. There was a small collection of cats hanging out in the courtyard, and some slept on top of a little woodshed. They added a bit of home and character, and we sometimes threw bits of sausage down onto the woodshed roof (manna from heaven, from their point of view).
Breakfast was served in a lovely, sophisticated room in the lower level, also facing into that courtyard, with a glass roof. There was an abundance of food - proteins, fruits & veggies, and carbs. The cappuccinos were perfect and brought very promptly by the attentive, friendly staff; the pastries were fresh and superb. My only complaint is the choice of music – it was either Celine Dion or Bryan Adams, and sometimes played too loud. It would be better to have light jazz (especially given Krakow’s reputation for jazz, surely some local talent could be featured!!!) classical, or a light pop mix. Even though I’m Canadian, Sealion and Bryan are too much for me in the a.m.
The staff of the Donimirski chain are simply wonderful. Pan Stanislaus, a mature very dignified gentleman, was especially helpful and knowledgeable. He helped us with the AC, and when our room safe wouldn’t open. He also helped us book a tour to Zakopane, and spoke of the history and economy of Poland. Maciej recognized my sister’s accent as being from the northeast, which was really surprising as she left Poland as a preteen over 50 years ago. There were several beautiful young ladies who were also very friendly and helpful at the front desk.
The location is perfect, the facilities very comfortable, but even more, the hospitality and old world charm are impeccable. Thank you to all the staff (and to the Pugetow too!!) for making this visit so comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just spent 5 nights in the Grodek, which we booked on their own website which was a touch cheaper than all the price comparison sites and also booked a airport pick up and drop off through them which costs about £15 each way, you can get the bus for about £3 but it was a nice start with a chauffer Merc to whisk you straight from the airport. The Hotel is just a 200 yard walk to the main square and in a very quiet cul de sac next to a convent so very quiet. The staff were excellent very friendly and gave us some great advice, the gentleman on reception sorry didn't remember the name was exceptional and even put up with us late one evening after too many vodkas giving us great advice on trips, The breakfast was very good with bacon eggs and continental on offer. The only reason its not five stars was we had a basic room 104 which is a bit tight on space round the bed but still a great place. The Hotel recommended 6 restaurants of which we tried two Kogel Imogel which is only 50 yards away was our favourite. There's a small square just round the corner which has market stalls and open air seating which sells great food and beer at great value. Overall I would highly recommend the Hotel Grodek and thank them for a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the hotel Grodek and it more than lived up to the reviews left by others. The staff were without exception, warm, friendly and very very helpful. In particular the breakfast waitress was wonderful, remembering our preferences each morning.

The room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, full of choice and all fresh, just what was needed for the long days of exploring.

The location of this hotel was wonderful and I really couldn't recommend it highly enough. This was a small, well run hotel, that had the charm and warmth the big chains just miss.

We arranged a taxi to and from the airport directly with the hotel and for 90 zloty, each way, it was a great choice. They also arranged for a sports massage at the hotel, which was a great way to recover from all the walking. Finally, they arranged our trip to Auschwitz on our last day.

Krakow is a hidden gem in Europe, a fantastic city, with history, great food and wonderful people and the hotel Grodek is a wonderful place to enjoy every aspect of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I honestly can't find anything bad to say about this hotel. A wonderful place to see Krakow. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Location was just around the corner from the main square

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is delightful. Just 150m from the main square, this hotel is quiet but close enough to the action. The rooms were adequately sized, clean and well appointed. The staff were very helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#7 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#10 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#12 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Property: Hotel Grodek
Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing