We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, excellent standards of service and cleanliness, and really close to the centre.”
Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #15 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Just had four nights at Hotel Grodek, and was very impressed with the whole experience. The staff are all really helpful and efficient. Our room was immaculately clean and quirky with everything you would expect from a top rated hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripsteranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 702 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel from the 21st October 2012 until the 26th October 2012 and from the moment we arrived (at 0300 hours in the morning) until we left we experienced nothing but 5 star treatment. The single rooms we had were small but everything that we could require was there from an excellent refreshment tray, mini bar to lovely toiletries. Our rooms were serviced to the highest standards and cleanliness was paramount. All towels and bed linen was perfect and changed regularly.
We found the breakfast good with a good choice and the offer of freshly cooked eggs each morning, the young staff were quietly attentive.
All receptionists and especially Diana, were helpful, friendly and seemed to genuinely want to help their guests and also for their guests to have only good experiences whilst visiting. Any request for information was dealt with promptly and nothing was too much trouble.
We were sad to leave such a lovely comfortable Hotel.
I have already planned in my mind my next visit taking my husband to visit Hotel Grodek and Krackow.
Thank you to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GUADAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in Krakow for 3 days with the main purpose of visiting Auschwitz. I went to Krakow from Prague by night train and it was about 8am when I arrived at the hotel. I was so pleased that the hotel staff told me that my room was ready and I could check in right away (I was expecting that I had to leave my bags and check in later).

The hotel is located just 3 minutes walk from the famous town square Rynek Glowny. You can walk from the train station through the planty to the hotel in 10 minutes. And it is close to all the tourist spots in town. At the same time the hotel is situated in a cul-de-sec so it is very quiet.

The hotel is small but beautiful. The room is very spacious. There is a walk-in closet in my room. The toilet is clean and well equipped. Breakfast is continental but they also prepare eggs or omelettes. The variety is fine given the size of this hotel.

Staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely , stylish hotel. Charming, friendly, sweet staff. Great position. Nice rooms with lots of shower gels, shampoos.
Hospitality trays with kettle , tea, coffee etc in every room makes it very Brit friendly.
Huge umbrellas for guests to borrow - a very nice touch in a city that snows in October.
Lovely staff couldn't have been nicer, jollier or more obliging.
Amazing breakfasts - tons of fab food.
The only snag was there was NO dressing table mirror or full length mirror in the bedroom.
Our room was a bit small. Even so ... putting a mirror inside a wardrobe would have been easy and pretty cheap to do.
And just by removing some of the fancy pictures from the wall in front of a tiny table and replacing them with a mirror - would have made it easier to get ready in the morning. This really needs putting right.
Our room was on two levels which was fine for us. But hotel really should warn people - in case they are old, cripped, disabled, ill , or have kids that fall out of bed.
It was fun for us but having a bed four or five steps above the rest of the room wouldn't work for everyone!
This hotel was brill for a weekend. But with no-where to spread papers and no table or desk for a laptop, it wouldn't be right for business people.
It was still a really fab hotel which I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Ask about mirrors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CousinHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night only. We got a room on the ground floor. The room itself was spacious, clean, decorated in an old-fashioned style. The bathroom was also huge and well-equiped. However, the room was very dark - we had to keep the light on for the whole day. Also, as the view on the hotel patio provided little privacy, we needed to keep the curtains shut.
Apart from the room, we enjoyed facilites of the hotel - the decor of the hotel was nice, breakfast was tasty and good choice and the service was very professional. Further, location of the hotel was great - in a quiet street only a few minutes walk to the main square. Overall, we had a nice stay in the hotel, and although it did not feel like a 5-star hotel, we would stay there again, but definately in another room.

Room Tip: Try to opt for the rooms n higher floors, avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

There is nothing bad to say about this place.
The location is perfect - a 5 minute walk to the main square but situated down a leafy no-through road near a park, which makes it very tranquil.
Excellent service from friendly, smiling staff.
Comfortable and clean rooms. We were a group, so I saw 5 different rooms and they were all good.
Stylish, tasty dinner in the restaurant and full buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order.
Lovely atmospheric building with delightful little rooftop terrace for (our own) pre-dinner drinks.
Top marks in every aspect and I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM&RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really loved our stays at the Grodek -- four nights on the front end of our trip and two nights on the back end.

A big reason why we liked the hotel so much was its location, right next to the Planty on a quiet, dead-end street (patrolled discreetly at night, but not at all dicey) and barely a four- or five-minute walk from the Rynek Glowny on the edge of the pedestrian-only zone. That seemed like an ideal spot to us -- close to many restaurants and attractions, but definitely out of the hubbub (also, Kazimierz was an easy 15-minute walk away).

Upon arrival, the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly, and throughout our visits, everyone at the front desk was professional, courteous, and extremely helpful. When we returned for the back-end of our stay, we felt like we were being welcomed back home with a very warm greeting and lots of thoughtful questions about our travels.

We stayed in two different rooms (305 on the front end and 301 on the back end) and enjoyed both of them -- they were spacious, simply appointed (with old world furnishings), and (especially 305) quiet.

We also made use of the small rooftop terrace (a few seats beneath an awning), the free computer on the second floor, and the handsome old fashioned library on the basement level.

The breakfast buffet was more than ample, and there usually was plenty of seating available in the long, narrow, light-filled atrium that served as the breakfast room. Our only minor quibbles with that were the so-so service (the servers were much more junior and much less friendly than the front desk staff) and the odd sound of American pop and disco music from the 70s and 80s playing (sometimes intrusively) in the background (classical or even Polish music from another era might have been more in keeping with the old world ambience of the hotel).

Again, these were very minor quibbles in the context of what was for us an excellent choice. The Grodek is a great place with nice, comfortable rooms and common spaces. We'd gladly return there on another trip to Krakow!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 262 in Krakow
1,937 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 262 in Krakow
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#49 of 262 in Krakow
517 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#88 of 262 in Krakow
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $92 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing