We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful exhibition”

Galicia Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.65*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Official Pass
Ranked #30 of 282 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Galicia Jewish Museum exists to commemorate the victims of the Holocaust and to celebrate the Jewish culture of Polish Galicia, presenting Jewish history from a new perspective.
Bristol,England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibition”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Brilliant evocative photos of the pain the Jews suffered in Gallicia with detailed descriptions. Excellent value for money

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    128
    40
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

One of the best museums about Eastern European Jews. I visited expecting a thirty minute visit and instead stayed for nearly two hours. Granted that my family is from Eastern Europe but nonetheless, the exhibits and the historic representation at the Galicia Jewish Museum is riveting. Don't miss this gem

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RPG625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to this museum, especially because it contained information on Jewish culture in Poland before the War, something often ignored and resulting in equating Eastern European Jewry with the Holocaust. This is actually a photo exhibition that comes with accompanying text and is divided into 4 sections. It also shows the Holocaust from a different perspective that was useful to me, since I could not stomach a visit to KL Auschwitz. Going through the exhibition and reading all the texts may end up a bit physically trying, but never mentally. At times I wished that I could enjoy this out of a book whilst sat in a comfy chair. You should visit anyway.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ComdtNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“another view of jewish life”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

this museum aims via photos at showing what has remained in Galicia of the Jewish life, and the struggle for Kazimierz in particular not to become a sort of Disneyland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lukefr965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating Museum”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I really enjoyed visiting this small museum in the Jewish section of Krakow. It has beautiful large photographs depicting different aspects of Jewish life in Poland with accompanying explanations. It also has a nice book/gift shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galicia Jewish Museum also viewed

 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Galicia Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing